Thursday, 31 December 2015

Flick Review: My Bebe Love #KiligPaMore

12/29/2015 11:41:46 PM

Photo credit: Wikipedia
Perhaps of all the movies who made noise for 2015 Metro Manila Film Festival, it was the current most popular fanbase who stood out the most. And who else can forget about Eat Bulaga’s prized kalyeserye duo of AlDub when GMA Films along with M-ZET Productions, APT Entertainment, Octo Arts Films and MEDA Productions teamed up to produce My Bebe Love #KiligPaMore through the direction of Jose Javier Reyes?

Somehow, it turned out to be very unusual as a lot of people bashed the movie for being too superficial and trashy for the country’s premier movie festival.

And one certain blog made a hint about doing a movie review about My Bebe Love: lower your expectations as this film was made solely for entertaining purposes.

Turns out she’s right. Aside from a breakout acting role for Maine Mendoza, it really sucked. Yes, big time (or let’s say 2016 times). The plot was quite ill-planned, perhaps due to time constraints. Here’s a bigger problem: it appeared the picture was made because of the popularity of AlDub. In short, joining the bandwagon that’s more evident on the trending list of Twitter.

I get it: sure the commercial films have a lot of ad placements somewhere in the movie. And the more popular the actor/s, the more endorsement they will be placed. The downside was barely evident when the commercials were seen on almost every scene of the movie.

And perhaps another bad blow when you see the technicality was the scene at the convenient store where Maine and Alden had met. If you noticed, the clip was inverted. And that’s not aesthetically appealing at all.

Well, give Mendoza a credit for doing so good in doing her roe as Anna. Though if you asked me, other actresses deserved the Best Supporting Actress than her. But nevertheless, I think it’s still a good one. She deserved to act more in comedy programs soon.

And in all fairness, Ai-ai delas Alas and Vic Sotto proved they can have he chemistry on-screen. Well, for some of their scenes they aren’t off-tangent.

Overall, My Bebe Love was a feel-good movie though we wish it wasn’t shown at the festivals like MMFF. I get it, it’s all business for the past years, but again MMFF needs to straighten up their priorities in life -- that is to uplift quality movies here. This shouldn’t have been a cartel market in the first place.

If you want to be entertained, go ahead. But if you’re a movie goer who thinks deeper a lot, the better spend your money somewhere else.


Verdict: 3.5



Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions

2016 Na! E Ano Ngayon?

12/13/2015 3:28:23 PM

Bagong taon na, ano magbabago ka pa ba?

Naku, huwag na. Ano namang babaguhin mo? Ano naman ang bago kung magbabagong taon na? Ano naman ang mga mangyayari ngayong 2016? Maliban sa mga hula na sinesensationalized ng mass media at ginagawang panakot sa madla?

2016 na! E ano ngayon? 

Malapit na ang halalan. Asahan mo na ang pagiging mapapel ng ilan sa radio, TV at internet. Pero siyempre, gawin mo ang parte mo no. Hindi yung dada ka naman nang dada pero hindi ka naman pumunta sa presinto ay nilagay ang mga pangalang nais mong ihalal sa balota. Tapos ang masaklap pa nito ay nagtatapon ka pa ng basura sa hindi naman basurahan. 

Tapos pagkatapos ng lahat ay sisisihin mo pa ang gobyerno? Aba’y gago ka pala e no?

2016 na! E ano ngayon?

Yung WrestleMania sa Texas. Kaso ang boring. Hindi pa rin champion si Roman Reigns. Bwakananginangyan. Naolat sa Royal Rumble nung 2014, nanalo noong 2015, pero naolats lang ng si Seth Rollins ay nag-cash in. Tapos nanalo nga noong Survivor Series, kaso ang tinagal lang ng reign nya ay five minutes.

Tanginang yan. 

2016 na! E ano ngayon?

Uy, summer Olympics na ulit! Makapasok kaya ang Azkals at Gilas sa at least isang laro sa Rio de Janiero? Puso! Pero hoy, gamitin din ng utak. Hindi lahat ng silakbo ng emosyon ay tama. Wag kang gago’t gaga. Ang sports ay hindi lang ginagamitan ng katawan. Stretehiya din. Isipan.

2016 Na! E ano ngayon?

May madidisband na naman ba? Balita raw wala nang Kamikaee saka Urbandub? Huwag naman sana. 

Kayo kasi: tangkilikin niyo naman yung mga musikero na talagang magbibigay ng halaga sa buhay, hindi yung punyetang kababawan gaya ng mga artistang pinilit lang maging singer. Pinapatay niyo yung industriya na nagbibigay ng aliw sa inyo e. Puro kayo teleserye kaya araw-araw na lang ay nagkakandaleche-leche.

2016 na! E ano ngayon?

Ay, AlDub pa rin? Lumipas na yata ang Tamang Panahon, yan pa rin? 

Magbago ka kayo hoy! Trabaho at pagkain ang inaatupag pag tanghali.

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions

Thank You, 2015. Hello, 2016!

12/31/2015 11:57:01 PM

So another year is now recorded at the history books. We all have our own share of stories. Some of us said 2015 was a good one for them, while others have stated otherwise.

If you asked me though, I had lots of ups and downs to the extreme level. There were times when I felt totally devastated or depressed; where I thought I suck in life big time; or maybe for a second I was a disappointment, or a failure.

Some people may actually point you to that direction with concern in their minds that you can do better. And that is something I am really thankful for.

It’s no secret that 2015 fled me to another place, and it’s a very interesting one: music. For almost the entire year, the country’s independent music scene became my venue. I ended up writing more blog posts about what’s happening on the side of nightlife where bands were the recognizable figures.

And through this, my eyes became wide open as opportunities arose the same as criticism. And there’s nothing wrong on the latter. I guess it paved way for me to take another path in my blogging and writing career as soon as 2016.

With that being said, I am dedicating this article to people whom I met for this year. Big “Thank you” shoutouts for these folks who appreciated my craft, nit-picked on it, helped me realized my mistakes and moreover, believed that I can do it more and better. Or at least, my personality.

First, to JB of Docdef Productions. This guy took me under his wing despite me having an inner reluctance on my soul. He made me realized I can do a lot. The group Docdef Productions became my home by night, whenever I want to listen to good music, socialize with other people, and everything in between.

Lihterature, the bonnet-wearing guy who has his camera and taking motion pictures on his SLR for most of the time. I never even thought he would notice a novice like me who also dwells in videography. Thanks, man!

Glen. I remember him as the first guy who I personally met at the indie scene. Yes, my college friend Ridge introduced me to him. I admit, at first I thought this guy was quite hard to deal with. But good thing the next few encounters proved me otherwise. I saw a very passionate entrepreneur. A smart guy who told me a variety of things, including his dream project called Groundswell. Brother, let’s make it happen soon.

Ian. The head curator of Vandals on the Wall. The man whose also responsible for The Rest is Noise. I didn’t expect this guy will know I have a huge heart for music, too (as a supporter). Thank you, brother!

Rarely would I introduce myself to a musician, or the other way around. With that being said, I’m quite thankful these people made me feel like I belonged in this setting: Guido, EJ, Gino, Jack, Mic, Deng, and their bandmates from MilesExperience, Autotelic, Ube, Alasmedya, Farewell Fair Weather, and Flying Ipis. It’s been a privilege that even for a short while, I managed to be with these people. And that goes to the other bands I haave met later on.

Also, shoutouts to the people of Docdef Productions, Gabi Na Naman Productions, Mr. Cris Ramos of Pulp Magazine, Mika, Janina, MaskeRider Kenneth, Imee, Jermaine, Gabba, and every single person (though I failed to mention here) I have met at the indie scene.

In addition, to Kerstin of Para Sa Sining Productions, Gerard, Boco, Myrel, and Abby. Well, I just remembered you guys while I’m writing this! As well as to my blogkada Cristal, Ivan, Ron, Axl, Guia, and MJ.

Shoutouts to Martin Andanar and the team of Podcast.PH, Mr. Andre Urbina, Ms. Janette Toral, Alphonse, Anthea, Herald, Justin, and Gab.

It’s been a very great run so far! As we gear up for next year (which is technically in a few minutes as of writing time) we are about to create another chapter called 2016 in our personal biographies. Let’s make the most out of it!

So, with that being said, HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE! May we all hope to have a very prosperous year ahead of us. Meantime, CHEERS!

Author: slickmaster | © 2015 september twenty-eight productions

The Scene Around: WOWOWOWS SANTA KLAUS

12/27/2015 4:57:24 AM

I remember: going to SaGuijo with barely less than 30 minutes before the show rolls, a taxi wanted to make a one-time flag down fare going there, and it was priced 400 pesos. I kindly refused, though on my mind utters such harsh words: Hey, I don't even spend 200 whenever I go from here to Ayala. Lakas mong manlamang ha?

But anyway, I got a more friendly (and a fair-pricey) one going there at Makati for this heck-of-a-gig-slash-Christmas Party,

Play 4 Serve and Locked Down Entertainment’s Group Study had its one last run for 2015, and it’s not a school tour this time around as SaGuijo was the place for be on that evening of Saturday, 26 December 2015. And it’s called WOWOWOWS SANTA KLAUS.

Ten bands performed during the evening on perhaps one of the wildest yearend gigs to stage by 2015. Us 2 Evil 0 graced the stage, then followed by Squid9 and Flying Ipis--with guitarist Ymi Sy making it to the venue just in the nick of time (well, after coming off from an important gathering).

Assembly Generals also hit SaGuijo despite missing the services of their MPC guy as Raymund Punzalan was attending the soon-to-be-parent duties (Congrats, Mon!). 

The next sequence featured notable names at the local music industry as Chicosci, Imago, Twisted Halo, Sandwich and Pedicab rocked the venue. 

It’s kinda nice when you hear Mayumi doing the vocal chores for what has been a signature song not just from Imago, but also from Aia De Leon too--and I’m talking about Akap. And at the same night, Raiumund sang 2 Trick Pony, Marc Abaya’s last single with the band in mid-2000s from the album Thanks to the Moon’s Gravitational Pull.

Chicosci, Sandwich, and Pedicab turned the bar into a full-house one during their sets, with the heat scorching the audience despite on a cold climate we are having right now. But I must say Pedicab and the last band Cheats tore the house down; making everyone to move with their set of tunes. Damn nice, and damn wild!

Perhaps, another addition to my wildest gigs I have been with for this year! Yeah, kinda late addition, but better be late than never though.













Author: slickmaster | © 2015 september twenty-eight productions

Wednesday, 30 December 2015

Upcoming: World Poker Tour Manila 2016

12/30/2015 12:28:46 PM

If you’re a huge fan of poker, or moreover if you’re a gamer, here’s something to kick start the year with a bang. A week-long festival where there four poker tournaments will be slated at the Solaire Resort Grand Ballroom starting at the second day of 2016.

More details here:


Photo credit: www.pokertourbookings.com

WORLD POKER TOUR NATIONAL PHILIPPINES 2016 FESTIVAL OF POKER

Mark your Calendars! From January 2 to 8, the Festival of Poker will be the greatest kickoff for  2016. Book your tickets and hotel accomodations now, and be part of the much awaited tournament. 

The Festival of Poker will be the greatest kickoff for 2016. As Season 9 starts in Manila, the World Poker Tour (WPT) National Philippines will commence on the 4th of January till the 8th. A massive following of players both here and in the international scene are expected to join in this grandest WPT event in Manila, all vying for the prestige of becoming the WPT National Philippines 2016 
champion.

POKER KING CUP

Poker King Cup kickstarts the festivities on January 2nd, with a prize pot of 50,000 USD guaranteed - that's a whopping PHP2,350,000, making the champ an instant multimillionaire overnight! PKC is headed by Winfred Yu, a poker player, a visionary and an entrepreneur. He brought the big games in Macau and he now bringing it to Manila. Winfred has once again prove that his vision in making Manila one of the future gem in poker. 

TRITON CUP SUPER HIGH ROLLER SERIES - CALI CUP

Banging the new year with the Triton Cup Super High Roller Series - Cali Cup with a $200,000 BuyIn. Triton Super High Roller (SHR) Series - Cali Cup begins from January 3 - 4. The much-awaited SHR is jampacked with the best of the best from the professional poker sphere mixed with some of the most powerful and influential businessmen around the world. With a USD 200,000 buy-in, we are sure to see live poker action of epic proportions here in Manila like we've never seen before.

WORLD POKER TOUR NATIONAL PHILIPPINES

The WPT National Philippines will commence on the 4th of January till the 8th. A massive following of players both here and in the international scene are expected to join in this grandest WPT event in Manila, all vying for the prestige of becoming the WPT National Philippines 2016 champion.

Event Date: January 2 – 8, 2016 
Time: 1PM onwards
Venue: Solaire Resort - Grand Ballroom
Main Event Buy-In: $1,500 + $150

Last year, Tetsuya Tsuchikawa , the CardFather of Japan, won the first ever WPT National Philippines 2014 Championship title. Calm and strong, like his victorious hand. He knows when to call from a strong contender like Kevin Ang from Malaysia. As the skill comes handy in every decision to make. 

SOLAIRE RESORT AND CASINO

Solaire Resort is the official residence of the World Poker Tour (WPT) National Philippines, on its 2nd year. The hotel prides itself as a premier gaming hub showcasing luxury and exquisite lifestyle amenities fit for a king. Enjoy their award winning cakes by their cascading waterfall at The Oasis Garden, or have a sunset dip at their majestic pool. Shop til you drop at their fine luxury boutique stores offering all the magnificence that you may want, from eyewear and watches down to the shoes. Feeling hungry? Grab a bite at any of their any restaurants offering a variety of cuisines, from authentic Asian to fresh vegetarian plates.

WPT PLAYER PARTY
The World Poker Tour (WPT) Players’ Party to be held at the Solaire Resort and Casino Manila will be the biggest, grandest and best ever poker party! 

Featuring these acts:
MOCHA GIRLS
Those Damn Nerds
DJ Ron Poe (Ronian Poe)
Boys Night Out's SAM YG
Aliya Parcs
Aerial silk
The Emerald Dancers
For queries and updates about the event, please feel free to visit our partner media sites:
https://www.facebook.com/PokerCastAsia/
https://www.facebook.com/pokerkingclubmanila/
#WPTNPH2016
#WPTNationalPH
#WPTMANILA


[END OF PRESS RELEASE]

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions

Tuesday, 29 December 2015

Playback: Riverbanks Fireworks Display 2014

12/30/2015 12:11:43 PM

Every December 30, Marikina Riverbanks celebrated their yearend party at the center’s amphitheater, with thousands of MarikeƱos and people from the nearby cities witnessing a night of music and the grand fireworks display every year and setting a fitting end to everyone with the very lively vibe even though it’s already past midnight.

And for the nth time, it will happen once again tonight.

In case you want to have a glimpse of what they had been offering, here’s a video from last year’s edition of Riverbanks Yearend Party.


Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions

National Heroic Amnesia


8/22/2015 1:03:26 PM

Sa panahon na inililimbag ko ito ay araw ng kamatayan ng pambansang bayani na si Gat Jose Rizal ngayon.

O tapos, ano naman kung ganun?

Wala lang. Pero aminin man natin o hindi, kahit sabihin pa nating bahagi ng pambasang sagisag ng ating bansa si Dr. Jose Protasio Rizal Mercado y Alonzo Realonza, hindi naman siya ganun karelevant sa panahon ngayon—na kung saan ang karamihan sa mga 'kabataan' na tinuturing niyang 'pag-asa ng bayan' ay nakikipagpatayan ukol sa paniniwala sa forever, Galawang Breeezy, PBB Teens, Cnady Crush, Clash of Clans, at kung anu-anong uri ng kababawan sa buhay.

Mas nagtetrend pa nga ang mga episode ng Nasaan Ka Nung Kailangan Kita (NKNKK) at Pangako Sa 'Yo kesa sa pangalan ni Rizal mismo eh. Araw-arae naman laman ng trending list to. Awat-awat din, panay bolas na lang ah.

Idamay mo na ang questionableng pananalita diumano ni Marlon Loonie Peroramas sa Showtime—teka, ano bang sinabi niya na inikagalit naman ng madlang pipol? Hay naku. Yan ang hirap 'pag mga igno ay nanunood e. Matuto kasi gumamit ng Google kesa sa Facebook. Tama si Duterte nung sinabi niya ito.

Pero balik sa usapan. Si Rizal? Relevant pa ba 'to sa panahon ngayon? Siguro sa Calamba, Laguna, oo. Hindi dahil sa wala silang pasok. Malamang, yun lang din ang pamamaraan para mabigyang-pugay ang araw na ito.

Buti pa ang taga-Calamba, ano? Wa pasok; samantalang tayo dito sa Kalakhang Maynila, meron. Sa petsa na namatay si Rizal, holiday rin naman. Pero keber lang. Mas okay na yung may pagkaabalahan ang bawat tao—partikular ang mga estudyante.

Ngunit bakit hindi natin magawang maalala masyado ang kanyang mga ambag sa kabihasnan sa kabila ng kanyang maraming okupasyon sa buhay? Gaya rin naman siya ng karamihan kung tutuusin e. Naging anak, estudyante, nagmahal, nasaktan, naging ama (kahit sa saglit lang), nanghamon sa kanyang mga kabaro, nanalo sa mga kalaban?

Dahil ba sa namatay siya sa pagiging “maraming alam”?


Yan ang problema sa atin e. Since the recent version ng time immemorial, mas napapansin pa natin ang mga bagay na nakapagpapaaliw sa atin kesa sa mga mahahalagang bagay na naging marka para maging malaya tayo bilang isang bansa. Kung maaalala, noong a-30 ng Disyembre, mas napansin pa ng karamihan sa atin ang kasalang DongYan kesa sa pag-gunita sa Rizal Day mismo; at noong ika-19 naman ng Hunyo ay kung ano-anong kababawan na lamang ang mas pinagtutuunan ng pansin. Mantakin mong wapakels nga tong mga to kahit may photobomb na sa likod ng Rizal Park e.

Kaya sa totoo lang, hindi na bago ang ganitong isyu.

Nakakasura, ano?

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions

Flick Review: Nilalang

12/29/2015 10:19:10 AM

Photo credits: cityonfire.com

Second stop in doing a review in all movies of the Metro Manila Film Festival is Nilalang, an action-suspense-horror flick starring Cesar Montano, Meg Imperial, Cholo Barretto and Maria Ozawa. 

Perhaps the latter seemed very familiar to the masculine race as the Japanese actress had done a crossover from doing adult films in Japan to a thriller here in the Philippines. All that despite a buzz somewhere before the production stage.

And somewhat, Nilalang delivered that craving for everyone who’s been looking for one; and we’re not just talking about quality alone, but bringing back the glory of doing more action movies, too. From the plot itself to technicalities, they had done it. The first minutes of the program was so impressive you would even think “Hey, is this one foreign?” especially Ozawa is at the picture?

It’s quite interesting Pedring Lopez combined two combustible elements: the contrasting world of fantasy and reality, and the antique Japanese and modern Manila setting--in just a one plot that should have been reserved for most of the superhero movies. To think he’s the writer, director and editor at all. 

It may sound like he belonged to the people whose similar to the work ethics of Jerrold Tarog (Heneral Luna) but that just shows he knows his craft very well and exerts his very best effort on it. And I mean very best because the quality of the product showed they paid dearly for it.

And it may have at least two major subplot but it’s not even that complicated to comprehend.

Frankly, Nilalang showed that along with other MMFF 2015 movies like Honor Thy Father and Walang Forever, the Philippine movie industry can do a lot better. They can make more movies which aren’t just aesthetically appealing, but also tells more sensible stories.

And mind you: even rocking music.

Verdict: 8.8

Author: slickmaster | © 2015 september twenty-eight productions

Monday, 28 December 2015

The Difference of 10 Years

06/23/14 12:25:53 PM

Times have changed. For over the past ten years, we witnessed Beyonce's music, as well as the Black Eyed Peas, Usher, Nelly and other rhythm and blues (RNB) musicians emerged even more. In fact, BEP's “Where Is The Love” was the very popular song in 2003. It was the top ranked song for almost all of the Contemporary Hit Radio (CHR) stations in the Metropolitan Manila area during the year.

Locally-wise speaking, the likes of Kitchie Nadal, Rivermaya (with Rico Blanco as their frontman), South Border (the post-Luke Mejares era), and even the reemerging Mojofly, were major household names in that type of dial.

Fast forward to 2014. The sound of Maroon 5 was never the same as they were before, specifically when they released the album Songs About Jane in circa 2002/2003. Who would've thought that after hearing the upbeat of This Love and the mellow She Will Be Loved, Adam Levine's crew's music nowadays has now have that experiment-liked mixed fusion of pop, soul and rock? Yours truly noticed that when they released Makes Me Wonder, their first single off the album “It Won't Be Soon Before Long” in 2007.

Same thing goes to other artists, from Alicia Keys, to Usher, to Beyonce, and even Eminem, Linkin Park, and Matchbox 20. But instead of throwing out criticism a la medieval way, some experts might have an answer for that: adaptation of change. As long as you make music, you experiment for other possible sounds, if they would blend in or not. Look at Paramore and Avril Lavigne, they were known for making punk rock music, like? Now, they sounded pop. And even if it sucks, it just shows how times have changed, especially when it comes on the audience's perception or so-called “taste buds.”

At least, in the world music scene, despite the super-country undergoing some kind of recession, they still made waves and make evident changes (minus the emerging pop stars who just got famous because of doing covers and auto-tuned beats).

How about here in the Republic of the Philippines? After hearing Rivermaya's “Liwanag Sa Dilim,”

That opinionated guy may be right, when he said this in 2012: OPM is dead. However, I digress either ('cause generalization , in my point of view, is one reason of us being “irresponsible” in using that freedom of speech). The problem here (music scene) in our country is the same way on how the media and government type we seemed to have right now–and it's not democratic, but instead, oligarchs. Meaning, overly-business-minded people who will just cashed in to their patrons in exchange for the air-headed programs which is more worst than being “nonsense” at all. Isn't that obvious nowadays, when actors became singers and those real singers turned out to have a busted showbiz careers.

I know, some may berate: that would just show their “versatility” in terms of talent. Alright, I understand. However, if we can only cashed in to these crappy ones instead of developing the “real deals,” it would just solidified the fact that “mainstream will always make us dumb.” Where are those real singers? Out there in the gigs. Yes, there's the real OPM music.

The problem though is that it in a shallow, mainstream POV, it remains to be seen whether our music, in general, have already grew to a different higher level, or the other way around.

And maybe the exception to this finding were Sarah Geronimo and Kyla, as the so-called Pop Princess, despite showcasing popular romantic ballads for over the years, seemed to have a different sound. Try comparing “Forever's Not Enough” to  “Ikot Ikot” (though, ugh. Parang nagkakabiyahilo ako sa pakikinig nito ah).

Kyla, for over a decade, after hearing her in her album Not your Ordinary Girl, came up with new record and still it clicked both niche and masa stations even if on a small-time recognition wise speaking.

With the sudden dip of rock music, the rapping counterpart emerged through the sky-rocketing recognition of rap battle leagues like FlipTop, which is good. Suddenly, new music labels came out of nowhere.

But even if both the rap and hip-hip tracks rose to the ranks, another genre suffered huge blow attack: rnb. Where's Thor, after having his own solo album in 2004/5, and even collaborating with fellow-but-then big time star Nina, and earning a four-year contract with a major recording label... anyare? Speaking of the angel, where's Nina, whose last seen as a cover girl in a men's magazine?

And the others too as well? Aside from being booked with gigs, the problem is that some of the outlets in the mainstream media tend to put up a different-yet-disrespectful flavor in these names.

One music writer was right when he said “kung banda (musician) lang magpe-perform, hayaan mo na. Wag mong haluan ng ibang mga artista.” I understand that some may berate that they just experiment if it will mix well. But the things is, it loses both the art's and the name's essence.

There's clearly a problem here: and it's not lack of experimentation (better leave it on the overall TV programming here in RP)—but the idea of shelling cash for worthless talents instead of paying the real ones.

And in a few years time, if things will get worse, I'm afraid... that guy may be right at all!

Author: slickmaster | ©2014 september twenty-eight productions

Flick Review: Honor Thy Father

12/27/2015 11:30:27 PM

Photo credit: Reality Entertainment

With the sudden rise of biopics at the recent Metro Manila Film Festival editions, some filmmakers are taking a different-but-similar approach: that is to bring back the pictures depicting reality in our lives regardless if it make everyone feel heavy about it.

Enter Honor Thy Father into the picture. A product by the same production that gave you On The Job, the current Reality Entertainment offering stars John Lloyd Cruz in another challenging role. Perhaps, topping the one he did on Star Cinema’s The Trial in 2014.

With the supporting cast such as Meryll Soriano, Lander Vera Perez, William Martinez, and Tirso Cruz III, Cruz portrayed Edgar, a family man who will do drastic decisions and desperate actions for the love of his family. And it doesn’t matter if there will be a divine intervention along the way. ‘Cause it’s quite obvious the firm is building stories which mirrors what has been real to us; and that’s not a bad thing at all. In fact, it’s very compelling. Very convincing that even in our tiniest cell of consciousness, things like that happen a lot. All that despite having several lacking scenes if we talked about continuity.

While I commend Michiko Yamamoto and Erik Matti for a great pull-off on the trick, sadly Honor Thy Father was pulled out from several movie houses after the Christmas Day showing. Rubbing salt to the cut was the MMFF committee decision to pull HTF out of contention for the Best Picture. Ouch. After being part of the Cinema One Originals opening ceremonies, MMFF ruled a DQ finish.

I hope these crappy peeps regret their decision soon. Even if Honor Thy Father couldn’t do what Heneral Luna once did of “demand via word of mouth,” hopefully it could still make an impact to everyone who watched that. Definitely there’s still hope for the Philippines to do more qualitative films.

The verdict: 9.3

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions 

Saturday, 26 December 2015

Tirada Ni SlickMaster: MMFF Edition

12/26/2015 5:56:57 PM

Photo credit: Inquirer Entertainment
So ayun na nga: Ika-41 na Metro Manila Film Festival na. Meaning, panahon na naman para mamayagpag ang mga Pinoy na pelikula sa ating bansa. At least, kahit sa dalawang linggo man lamang.

EH ANO NAMAN NGAYON?

Sa unang araw pa lamang kasi ay punutakte na ang sinehan. At sa parehong pagkakataon din ay pinuntirya ng samu’t saring kontrobersiya ang naturang patimpalak.

Ano namang bago dun? Eh parang since time immemorial naman ay uso na ang mga ito ah. Oo, mula sa panahon na ang a-artistic pa ng mga entry hanggang sa panahon na panay hanap-kita na lamang ang mga pelikula kahit basura ang nilalaman ula kwento hanggang sa teknikalidad gaya ng mga anggulo ng kamera, scoring sa musika, epektong biswal, atbp.

May ticket-swapping raw na nagaganap. Ganun? Oo ganun nga. Parang hindi na rin bago ito kung tutuusin. May mga pagkakataon kasi na hindi ka makakaknood ng sine pag di sapat ang tao sa loob ng sinehan. Kaya may mga tao na nanghihikayat na maood dun kasi nga flop ang showing.

Mariin naman itong tinaggi ng kumite ng MMFF. Yun lang.

At sa totoo lang, hindi naman ao magtataka kung ang maghahari sa talikya ng MMFF ngayon ay ang My Bebe Love #KiligPaMore na gawa ni Direk Joey Reyes at pinagbibidahan nila Alden Richards at Maine Mendoza. 

Sa malamang, dahil sikat ang AlDub, maraming pupuri dito. E mga tagahanga sila e; don’t take it away from them. Tingin ko sa pagkapull-out ng ilang pelikula ay hindi naman direkta kasalanan ng mga fans e. Well, of course, demands. Usapang economics yan. At dyan rin papasok ang corporate greed.

Ito lang nag problema. May double standard ang Pinoy. At hindi na bago ito sa ating buhay kung tutuusin. Halimbawa, kung sa 10 katao na nagreact, 9 dito ang nagsabing okay ang pelikula sa kanila, isa ang hindi. At ganun din naman sa kaso ng ibang kalahok sa Metro Manila Film Festival.

Ang pinagkaiba: pag ang mga gaya ng Honor Thy Father, Nilalang, at kung anong pelikula na kasama dun na ibang-iba sa tipikal na mga pinapalabas sa mainstream, wala namang papansin sa mga nagrereact ng negatibo.

Samantala, pag nagsalita ka ng disgusto sa mga gaya ng My Bebe Love, Beauty and the Bestie, atbp., ay tahasan kang mababash sa social media. Parang gusto kang sunugin nang buhay at mamatay nna lamang.

Ano pang silbi ng social media kung ganun?

Ay, tangina, ayos din kayo e no? Nakakalokang lipunang ito. Anong gusto niyo, kayo lang maususunod? Hindi naman yata lahatay gusto ng mga pelikula na sa tingin nila ay basura o pang kababawan lang. Siyempre, lahat tayo kanya-kanya ng taste. Kung gusto ng iba na malibang lang, syempre trip nila ang manood ng kung anong gusto nila. Subalit kung sa iba ay gusto nila ng dekalibreng palabas ay siyempre ganun din ang gagawin.

Wala sanang basagan ng trip pero kung babasagin niyo ang pananaw ng iba dahil sa pagsasabi niya ng hindi nya nagustuhan ang pelikulang hinahangaan mo, as long as hidi naman niya binash at sinabi na ang krrtisimo nang naayon sa antas na kaayusan naman, aba’y tanngina rumespeto ka. Basag-trip ka? Basagin ko bungo mo dyan e.

At bilang huli, how true na nadisqualify daw ang Honor Thy Father para sa Best Picture? Dahil pinalalabs sa ibang bansa? Dahil sa rating na masyadong hindi pabor sa nakararami? E “commercial exhibition” na nga lang eh. Hindi na nga pinapalabas sa ibang sinehan e. Award-winner na nga to e.

O baka takot lang sa posibilidad na humakot ito ng parangal sa awards night ng MMFF?

Naku ha? Umaariba na naman ang mga talangka. Sinusubuka na nga ng ilang filmmaker na iangat muli ang antsas ng kalidad ng pelikula sa Pinas, kayo naman ang regresibo na puro pera na lang ang nasa isip. 

Tama talaga si Direk Joey sa sinabi niya noong nakaraang taon. MMFF is a business. 

Bakit? Kasi it shows. Pelikula pa lang niya ngayon e halata na.

Author: slickmater | (c) 2015 september twenty-eight productions

Wednesday, 23 December 2015

Away Pa More!

12/23/2015 12:51:59 AM

Minsan, ang pulitika sa Pilipinas ay isang napakaboring na talakayan. Saka lamang ito napapansin ng madla kapag may mga mahalaganag pangyayari gaya ng eleksyon.

At para sa isang ordinaryong araw, isang elemento ang kailangan para maging laman ng mga tao ang usapang-pulitika: kontrobersiya. Mga bagay na hidi basta-basta nangyayari sa ganun-ganun na lamang. Yung mga tipong debate tapos Ingles pa ang dayalekto nila samahan pa ng samu’t saing terminolohiya na tanging mga dalubhasa at elitista lamang ang nakakaintindi? Masyado nang mainstream yan, allo na kung gusto mong gumawa ng ingay at baka sakaling makakuha ka ng boto.


Tignan mo ‘tong mga tangang ito. Ay, este, mga nag-aaway na pulitiko dito. Pasensya na, biglang nag-channer ang inner Heneral Luna sa isipan ko habang sinasabi ko ang naturang linya.

Photo credit: GMA NEWS
Myth daw ang “safest” city sa Pinas? Eh bakit hindi mo gawing reality yan... Kahit sa Cubao man lang? E sa labas nga ng Araneta ay pugad na ng samu’t saring kabalastugan na e. Aber?

Pero... Sampalan na lang? Sabay mamaya, sapakan na lang? Tangina, baka mamaya duelo o espadahan na yan ha? Bigla ko tuloy naalala ang koro ng kantang Tablahan mula sa bandang Grin Department.

Pero mas okay sa akin ang sampalan na lang. Dahil ang tunay na lalake, nananampal. Ay. Ayaw mo maniwala? Manood ka kasi ng wrestling para makakita ka ng mga lalakeng daig pa si Stephanie McMahon, Gladys Reyes o kung sinuman ang malulutong manampal sa mga palabas.

Sapakan, asus. Lagi namang duelo yan ng mga nagmamayabang e. Pag natamaan ego nila, “Tara, sapakan na lang.” Puta, kala mo naman papalag talaga sa mano-a-mano, yun pala either tatakbo lang palayo o may hawak na baril o balisong. Either way, duwag ka pa rin kung ganyan ka.

Subalit, tangina naman. Para namang bakla tong mga to ano? Kaya nagiging sarswela o moro-moro ang pulitika sa Pilipinas e. Parang Abangan ang Susunod na Kabanata lang. Parang isang malaking palabas na ginagawang patawa lamang ang pulitika sa ating bansa.

Okay sana e. Kaso the jokes are on us sa halip na halip na the joke is on them eh. Punyeta. Kala mo naman gagawin talaga ang sampal o sapak.

Isa pa: Magpa-Pasko na. Bakit di kaya tumutok sa mga isyu na may kinalaman sa Pasko? Gaya ng kung gaano kagrabe ang holiday rush o gaano kagrabe ang mga loko-loko sa lipunan? At wag na rin pala yung mga post-Miss Universe na balita. Tapos na ang patimpalak. Magmove-on na tayo ano po.

Parang epal-vs.-punisher na naman? Bwakanangina, pare-pareho naman tayong may mga baho e. Hindi lang ilang mga pulitiko, kundi bilang mga tao. Kaya ano bang punto para punahin natin ang awayan na to?

“Para kayong mga bata,” sabi nga naman ni Isabel kila Tomas Mascardo at Antonio Luna. At sa totoo lang, ganun din ‘tong mga ‘to. Oo, parang mga bata. Mga umiiyak sa natapon na gatas. Mga magpapatayan dahil sa panis na tinapay.

Tanginang yan.

Sa kakaaway ng dalawang ‘to, nanungusan na tuloy sila ni nognog. Oo, naungusna na na silang dalawa sa presidential survey ng Pulse Asia. (Anak ng pating, hindi talaga ako naniniwala sa mga survey na ‘to kahit nagiging laman sila ng sirkulasyon. Pero anyway...)

Sige, away pa more. Ganyan kung paano i-turn off ang mga botante. Parang reverse psychology lang sa advertising ah. Labasan ng baho. Nagpakita ng “tunay na kulay.” (Pero ang kupal pa rin ng sinumang nagpauso niyan dahil hindi naman lahat ng “tunay” ay negatibo.)

Yun nga lang huwag lang sana silang maging bobotante gaya ng tipikal at nakararami.


Author: slickmaster | © 2015 september twenty-eight productions

Needing a "Quick Fix"

12/19/2015 12:28:25 PM

The turnaround from TLC to RAW became a very improbable in the recent months. Yes, from a screwjob to a la make up class. It revolved even more than a double-cross. Say, what quite happened?

Before that, hearing people’s reaction of dismay over the past PPV events became a force to reckon when they made their rantings on Twitter. For over the course of time, it’s been cynical like the three-word phrase “same old shit.” And who’s not to get sick of seeing that at all? It’s not just about “the Authority always wins” thing at all, but about the stories they are making with. If not an illogical booking, ill-timed. Those suck either way.

I have heard several podcasts regarding the topics from The Ross Report to It’s Real To Me. From Mat Men even to the locally-produced Smark Gilas Pilipinas.

Daniel Bryan was even right when he said WWE should not rely on its part-timers. Sure, they’re quite special basing on their raring appearances. But somewhere along the way, new guys should also be given a break, too.

And heck, even Mark De Joya will explain to you more about the losses and gains of the pro wrestling as a business (I mean, literally) when you check out Smark Henry. Meantime, I could only give my takes after gaining some insights from these stuff.

How do you fix the WWE? How do you regain what has been lost? Or if you lose something on your TV ratings, what should you do?
A.) Bring Vincent Kenndy McMahonB.) Let Triple H take over?C.) Don’t over-experiment?D.) Do an organic push? OrE.) Don’t screw up at all?
Let’s face it. Vince’s return to the WWE helm may be a desperate attempt (though of course, the creative people will deny it). But hearing “No Chance In Hell” entrance and let the 70-year old mogul do the talking was really special. However, setting his character, I think its about time for the Vinny Mac to let his daughter Stephanie and son-in-law Paul Levesque do the manning.

But if Hunter will take over the main programming, chances are things might roll great; especially the fact that NXT was on a roll even before he create several special NXT TakeOver specials. Well, lets’ just hope NXT will not be neglected in the process. And I mean by leveling the stuff he does on both; because the line will be blurred enough. Still, I believe as a businessman, Levesque is smart and he so far, he makes smart decision that leads to the success of WWE’s developmental firm. Sometimes, I can even say NXT is much bigger than the WWE itself.

Yes, take Roman Reigns for example. It’s not just as saying he’s finally got the hump. Kayfabe aside, Roman Reigns was groomed to be the WWE’s next big man. And I’m not saying that he’s not acting like one, but the creative and booking pool has been doing not-so-well in letting him grow for such. If things were done properly and as early as January 2014, Roman Reigns should have been already a notable figure in piloting the sports-entertainment world. But no, they have a lot of mash-ups with Batista headlining WrestleMania 30, as well as the Daniel Bryan vs. The Authority tale, and even John Cena in the mix, seems like there’s an “idea overload” backstage.

I think I just said enough.


Author: slickmaster | © 2015 september twenty-eight productions

The Scene Around: Stripped X Docdef

12/23/2015 6:12:04 PM

Tuesday evening, I swung by Route 196 only to realized I was two hours earlier and they were still closed—and was on the process of unveiling their new signage. Few minutes came by and it was voila! Welcome to Route 196 indeed with a new logo and a help from Jack Daniels’ Philippines. 


First evening using that beautiful signage says STRIPPED x DOCDEF. And five musicians were slated to perform on that evening: Neala Medina, Graceson, Covert, Cara Decenteceo, and John Ray Reodique of Alasmedya. Also, Jai and Inky de Dios played in the bonus.

Ironically, it was the eve where Docdef Productions had their very first gig. Well, that’s if my research serves me right.

It was a total feel-good Tuesday night for Stripped, as performers go on stage doing selected original songs as well as performing their solo covers. And since it’s December, each performers did a cover of their preferred Christmas song.

It’s like baring the other side of a musician, as Ene Lagunzad once told yours truly. Knowing them and their craft up close. Though way back then, it was a bit different set-up where the performers were mostly band vocalists alone.

But during the revival of Stripped a few years ago, Route 196 has been partnering with various production firms in the independent music industry to establish the event every first Wednesday of the month. Also, Route 196 produces other original events called Play Tuesdays and Chooseday Tuesdays. 

Indeed, setting a standard where indeed the music lives here!







And since everyone needs to have that stripped-down vibe of music, here's JR with his rendition of Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas.

JR (Alasmedya) - Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas[excerpt] JR of Alasmedya performing a Christmas song at Stripped x Docdef Productions two weeks ago at Route 196 Bar.
Posted by Slick Master on Monday, December 21, 2015

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight produictions

Monday, 21 December 2015

Big-Time Blunder

12/21/2015 06:15:38 PM
 
Isang malaking pagkakamali. Maling-mali. Napakalaking pagkakamali.

As in walang #ParangMayMali sa mga naganap kanina dahil obvious na obvious ito kahit mahamog pa sa ilang bahagi ng lungsod kanina. Mas maliwanag pa sa sikat ng araw ang isang maling kaganapan nung inanunsyo ni Steve Harvey, host ng ika-64 na Miss Universe ang nagwagi.

Ayan nga. Si Miss Columbia nga ang natawag na Miss Universe Ariadna GutiƩrrez bago ito bawian ng korona at sa halip ay si Miss Philippines Pia Wurtzbach pala ang totoong nagwagi.

Sa una, alam ko na ang bibirahin ng ilan sa atin: pagkadismaya. Yung iba nga dyan, mang-aasar na ng “Luto yung laro! Sunog yung nanalo.” Parang yung senador lang nitong nakaraang eleksyon ah. (EASY TOL!)

Pero noong nanalo pala si Pia, siyempre maliban pa sa “Congratulations,” parang ang mga boses ay nagwiwika ng “Tangina naman nitong host na to e. Tatanga-tanga! Nakakahiya yung ginawa niya.”

Oo. Nakakahiya nga. Malaking pagkakamali. At ang mga ganyang bagay pa naman ang nag-iiwan ng marka sa mundo, lalo na sa mundo kung saan kahit hindi ka nanood ng naturang beauty pageant, as long as gumagamit ka ng Facebook at Twitter at lalo na kung mahilig ka pang gumamit ng Yahoo at Google, hindi ka mahuhuli sa mga pangyayari sa mundo.

Nakakahiya nga ang pagkakamali sa mga binanggit ni Harvey. Pero... ano naman? Putangina, parang hindi tayo nagkakamali ha? Perpektong nilalang ba tayo na ultimo ang isang katiting na typographical error sa isang babasahin ay gagawin nating big deal?

E di wow kung ganun. Ikaw na ang Diyos. At hindi kami santo. Mortal lang kami, ano po.

Parang hindi tayo nakaranas ng pagkahiya ah? Hindi sapat ang basehan kung gaano ito kalaki o kaliit as long as the bottom line ay na-humiliate ka pa rin. Nagkataon lamang na si Steve Harvey ay isang sa mga matutunog na personalidad pagdating sa paghohost; habang ikaw dyan either ay nanunood sa live stream at ginagamit ang internet ng kumpanya sa halip na nagtatrabaho ka dyan (dahil hindi pa holiday 'oy!), o baka naman isa kang hamak na batugan na inaatupag pa ang panunood ng telebisyon sa halip na gawin mo ang mga gawaing-bahay.

Tangina, buti nga siya e. Kayang aminin ang pagkakamali. Hinarap pa mismo ang nanalong si Pia para humingi ng paumanhin ukol dun. E tayo kaya dito sa Pilipinas… Pag nagkamali, isisi pa sa iba. Sa pakwa tambay sa kanto? Sa ermat at erpat na nagpalaki sa'yo? Sa mga tropa mong lasinggero? O baka naman sa gobyerno?

E kung nagkamali ba tayo, kaya ba nating aminin? O baka naman hanggang dahilan lamang tayo at paninisi?

Mga tukmol din tayo e no?

Ito lang kasi yan: hindi biro ang maging host sa kahit saang event. Akala mo magsasalita ka lang na nagmumukha kang isang sikat at may otoridad na personalidad? Kapag nagkaroon ng aberya sa isang programa—sa soundcheck man ng banda yan, sa pagiging late ng isang speaker/performer, o ultimo sa mga teknikalidad gaya ng paglalag ng computer na ginamit para sa teleprompter,g taphics, at iba pang larangan—kadalasan ang hbost ang humaharap. Nasa sa kanya man ang aksikatan, nasa sa kanya rin ang pressure. Siya ang numero unong nagiging tampulan ng kritisimo at ultimong biro kapag may sumablay sa programang hinahawakan niya. Sila yung nakasala sa entablado, kasama ang mga maiinit na sinag ng ilaw sa harap ng maraming tao at baka nga di pa sigurado kung hindi talaga palyado ang mikropono mo o speaker pag nagsalita ka.

At minsan, pa nga, utlimong mga boss mo ay nakararanas ng ganito.

Kung hindi mo naranasan ang mga ganung bagay, e bwakanangina, mag-isip ka muna bago mamuna. Nang-aano ka eh.

Author: slickmaster | © 2015 september twenty-eight productions

Sunday, 20 December 2015

Just My Opinion: WWE TLC 2015

12/19/2015 9:51:35 AM

http://www.livesportsreviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/WWE-TLC-2015.jpg

It's that time of the year again where the holidays at the world of
professional wrestling sports entertainment are served best with everyone’s favorite toys: tables, ladders, and chairs. It’s the WWE’s own version of “Demolition Derby,” and it’s not as tender loving care as it is.

WWE TLC was set at John Cena’s near-home turf TD Garden in Massachussets. Ironically, he wasn’t around even if speculations from the forums state he will appear again to challenge Alberto Del Rio, the man who defeated him at Hell in a Cell for the United States Championship.


For the second straight year, TLC started with a ladders match, and it’s not just an ordinary duel but a triple-threat for the WWE Tag Team Championships. The New Day faced The Usos and The Lucha Dragons for the tag golds where things turned out to be a spot fest.

I’ll say, New Day may have got away with the title, but there’s no question about The Lucha Dragons. It;s quite clear everyone had put on a great show, but Kalisto and Sin Cara were the top standouts for this one. Who can ever forget that Salina Del Sol on Jey Uso from the top of the ladder? Fuck damn it, man. That was awesome!

Verdict: 8.9

Rusev vs. Ryback in another match where everyone thought we have seen enough. Well, the Bulgarian Brute just had his character rejuvenated even more as a more romantic guy thanks to TMZ who just spoiled the goddamn storyline, we have seen Rusev as a lover boy but less of a fighter.

I get it: their past duels on RAW and SmackDown a week prior to TLC were counted as either a double countout or DQ, and the way to settle their issue was on TLC. But fuck it, man. Again, we have seen enough of these two, with obviously Rusev gaining the victory through his accolade. And if way back then, the Divas matches were considered a “bathroom break,” might as well say this will count albeit the gender issues.

Verdict: 4.4

The chairs match between Alberto Del Rio and Jack Swagger turned out to be another buster from WrestleMania 29. It just so happened that chairs was a man’s very favorite material. But that caught me like... Really? Is it worth the fighting for? Did these two deserved a lot of drama enough to do a chair slapping-on-their-back contest?

Frankly, I don’t think so, even if the finish was the obvious for the former Mex-American - a vicious double foot stop from the top rope, with Swagger landing on the bunch of chair.

Well, the Mex-America gig was a bust, and his transition from there to the Leaue of Nations wasn’t that clear enough. But del Rio need it. Too much for gimmick fails recently.

Verdict: 5.0

So, it’s that another “clash-of-the-generations” tables match between The Wyatt Family and Team ECW, eh? But hey, the outcome was actually good despite Rhyno, The Dudley Boys, and Tommy Dreamer losing to Bray’s buzzards.

Yes, you have to love how Brawn Strowman, Bray Wyatt and Luke Harper (and okay, we’ll include Erick Rowan here) performed with these guys who were known for being heck-of-a-reckless performers.

And now I understand how a Tables Match works with more understanding, and with ease, emphasis, and awesomeness as well.

Verdict: 9.1

Kevin Owens defended his Intercontinental Championship for one last time. Yes, despite the lack of balanced hype between him and Dean Ambrose. It’s quite obvious KO may be on his dominating self, but Dean Ambrose overpowered him in terms of building drama.

Perhaps Fight Owens Fight saved them all for the fight itself, like how a bully deal with a supposedly “unstable” guy like Ambrose. Quite lacking the convincing impact, but luckily Dean snatched the title away from Owens in such a witty fashion as he managed to maneuver a pop-up powerbomb into a roll-up. Yes, like it’s outtanowhere thing. Damn!

Verdict: 8.4

Charlotte defeated Paige in perhaps predictable-yet-still-unimpressive fashion to retain her Divas Championship. Yes, predictable, but still a very not impressive one especially with Ric Flair at helm. Like there should be a double-cross on their role identification for both of them as face and heel.

And I thought Paige was supposed to be the current badass villain for the Divas division. But... No, I mean not again, as Charlotte turned out to be another generation of dirty player with his father at ringside.

And just like that, Paige turned out to be sore loser again. Yes, all that despite portraying her vicious side for most of the time in this feud. That just sucks, pal.

Another thing: they didn’t even reach the level of their match at Survivor Series. So sorry it fell really flat.

Verdict: 5.0

And that’s it. Everyone thought Roman Reigns will score a steal against Sheamus for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship.

And turns out wrong either. It’s like more of brawl than a title-chase for both guys. They spent like almost two-thirds of the match beating the shit out of each other. Perhaps they’re trying to tell a one-time big-time beatdown first; where one has to brutalize another to the extent he will be totally incapacitated should climbing time comes.

Even if Roman actually managed to beat the hell out of Sheamus through chair shots and ladders, it’s quite funny to think the latter putted the former into the table for like 3 out of 4 times.

Well, I already foresaw the Celtic Warrior defending this one. And that gives a shame for Roman for being a sore loser either. They can’t copy what happened to those Cena-Edge pages.

But on the other side, I hate to think the WWE screwed Reigns either. Like you let this juggernaut chase his dream for almost two years, and yet after reigning for only five minutes and 15 seconds, you will prolong his agony again?

That perhaps triggered the massive meltdown by the former hound of justice. And frankly speaking, this is what the character of Roman Reigns should have been in the first place. Stan Sy was right: WWE has over-experimented him. Though I’m also trying to understand the point that the creative peeps were like grooming him on all possible ways and gimmicks. Too bad, Roman.

But with the outcome of the post-match, I’ll say too bad, WWE either. Your ratings were going down with this type of cookie-cutter thing you’re trying.

Verdict: 8.1

Well, some of the match really sucked at will. But with the last gasp I have seen for TLC, it’s like WWE was trying to regain what they’ve already lost. And good thing, Roman’s meltdown assault on Triple H and the League of Nations turned out so well that at least the remaining members of the WWE Universe (not just the almost 15K crowd inside the Garden) will have to look on.

Ironically, it’s like building a championship hype for the old Boston Celtics again.

Overall Verdict: 7.8

Author: slickmaster | © 2015 september twenty-eight productions

Saturday, 19 December 2015

Playback: A Perfect Christmas

12/13/2015 9:21:14 AM

I wouldn’t be surprised when Christmas was the season of romance. Well, with the advent of those holiday-timed love songs and several gimmicks (and that includes SMP right there), let’s face it: isn’t that lovely when you had your very “loved one” beside you during the time where you will be opening presents, gather together for Noche Buena or by just simply attending Misa De Gallo?


Of course since childhood days I heard a lot of this kind of anthems, both English and Filipino-written tracks. And I’ll say a Jose Mari Chan classic suited best.

Part of the 17-tracked Christmas In Our Hearts album, Jose Mari Chan describes A Perfect Christmas the literal way; the obvious lovely wish of being with someone else not just for Christmas, but for a lifetime. That being said, in a romantic’s eyes, is a perfect (not better) gift one can receive albeit Santa Claus or even the One up there.


This clip may look very old-fashioned by quality. But heck A Perfect Christmas has this kind of vibe which actually sounded not totally new, but not so very primitive either. I guess it’s just as timely as fuck.

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions

Playback: MilesExperience – Silakbo

12/12/2015 5:06:12 PM

A few months after reaching success in their Love Supreme music video launch, the boys of MilesExperience came up with another big thing, and it’s called Silakbo.

The single was formally launched 18 September 2015 at a Docdef Productions gig in Route 196, barely on target with the gig firm’s big thing of its own Tagaytay Art Beat. A few weeks later, they garnered a spot on Jam 88.3’s playlist after winning the Fresh Filter Chooseday poll and reached the eighth spot at Jam 88.3's yearend countdown called 88 Top Tracks of 2015.

Also, Vandals on the Wall recognized Silakbo as the 51st track of their 100 Essential Tracks of 2015.

And by 16 January 2015 at Mow’s bar, Silakbo (Outburst) will have a launch of their music video directed by Jiggy Gregorio. Also, Autotelic, December Avenue, Ourselves the Elves, Jensen and the Flips, Maude, and Tanya Markova will be performing.

Perhaps another packed night ahead to jumpstart the new year.

From MilesExperience Facebook page. Poster by Paulo Manalo

Four minutes and forty seconds of outburst, perhaps, is one thing I could say the most about this track. The heavy drubbing of drums serving as accompaniment to that sexual guitar and lyrical work (though not that perfectly poetic but still eargasmic) makes it a literal kink with a powerful kick to the head; something that has been penetrating beneath your buds and skin with intense passion.


Perhaps we could only hope the visual part will do their part well, just like Love Supreme.

Download the latest hit track from MilesExperience called Silakbo on AMPLIFY.PH

Official music video.


Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions