Showing posts with label Alberto Del Rio. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Alberto Del Rio. Show all posts

Sunday, 20 December 2015

Just My Opinion: WWE TLC 2015

12/19/2015 9:51:35 AM

http://www.livesportsreviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/12/WWE-TLC-2015.jpg

It's that time of the year again where the holidays at the world of
professional wrestling sports entertainment are served best with everyone’s favorite toys: tables, ladders, and chairs. It’s the WWE’s own version of “Demolition Derby,” and it’s not as tender loving care as it is.

WWE TLC was set at John Cena’s near-home turf TD Garden in Massachussets. Ironically, he wasn’t around even if speculations from the forums state he will appear again to challenge Alberto Del Rio, the man who defeated him at Hell in a Cell for the United States Championship.


For the second straight year, TLC started with a ladders match, and it’s not just an ordinary duel but a triple-threat for the WWE Tag Team Championships. The New Day faced The Usos and The Lucha Dragons for the tag golds where things turned out to be a spot fest.

I’ll say, New Day may have got away with the title, but there’s no question about The Lucha Dragons. It;s quite clear everyone had put on a great show, but Kalisto and Sin Cara were the top standouts for this one. Who can ever forget that Salina Del Sol on Jey Uso from the top of the ladder? Fuck damn it, man. That was awesome!

Verdict: 8.9

Rusev vs. Ryback in another match where everyone thought we have seen enough. Well, the Bulgarian Brute just had his character rejuvenated even more as a more romantic guy thanks to TMZ who just spoiled the goddamn storyline, we have seen Rusev as a lover boy but less of a fighter.

I get it: their past duels on RAW and SmackDown a week prior to TLC were counted as either a double countout or DQ, and the way to settle their issue was on TLC. But fuck it, man. Again, we have seen enough of these two, with obviously Rusev gaining the victory through his accolade. And if way back then, the Divas matches were considered a “bathroom break,” might as well say this will count albeit the gender issues.

Verdict: 4.4

The chairs match between Alberto Del Rio and Jack Swagger turned out to be another buster from WrestleMania 29. It just so happened that chairs was a man’s very favorite material. But that caught me like... Really? Is it worth the fighting for? Did these two deserved a lot of drama enough to do a chair slapping-on-their-back contest?

Frankly, I don’t think so, even if the finish was the obvious for the former Mex-American - a vicious double foot stop from the top rope, with Swagger landing on the bunch of chair.

Well, the Mex-America gig was a bust, and his transition from there to the Leaue of Nations wasn’t that clear enough. But del Rio need it. Too much for gimmick fails recently.

Verdict: 5.0

So, it’s that another “clash-of-the-generations” tables match between The Wyatt Family and Team ECW, eh? But hey, the outcome was actually good despite Rhyno, The Dudley Boys, and Tommy Dreamer losing to Bray’s buzzards.

Yes, you have to love how Brawn Strowman, Bray Wyatt and Luke Harper (and okay, we’ll include Erick Rowan here) performed with these guys who were known for being heck-of-a-reckless performers.

And now I understand how a Tables Match works with more understanding, and with ease, emphasis, and awesomeness as well.

Verdict: 9.1

Kevin Owens defended his Intercontinental Championship for one last time. Yes, despite the lack of balanced hype between him and Dean Ambrose. It’s quite obvious KO may be on his dominating self, but Dean Ambrose overpowered him in terms of building drama.

Perhaps Fight Owens Fight saved them all for the fight itself, like how a bully deal with a supposedly “unstable” guy like Ambrose. Quite lacking the convincing impact, but luckily Dean snatched the title away from Owens in such a witty fashion as he managed to maneuver a pop-up powerbomb into a roll-up. Yes, like it’s outtanowhere thing. Damn!

Verdict: 8.4

Charlotte defeated Paige in perhaps predictable-yet-still-unimpressive fashion to retain her Divas Championship. Yes, predictable, but still a very not impressive one especially with Ric Flair at helm. Like there should be a double-cross on their role identification for both of them as face and heel.

And I thought Paige was supposed to be the current badass villain for the Divas division. But... No, I mean not again, as Charlotte turned out to be another generation of dirty player with his father at ringside.

And just like that, Paige turned out to be sore loser again. Yes, all that despite portraying her vicious side for most of the time in this feud. That just sucks, pal.

Another thing: they didn’t even reach the level of their match at Survivor Series. So sorry it fell really flat.

Verdict: 5.0

And that’s it. Everyone thought Roman Reigns will score a steal against Sheamus for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship.

And turns out wrong either. It’s like more of brawl than a title-chase for both guys. They spent like almost two-thirds of the match beating the shit out of each other. Perhaps they’re trying to tell a one-time big-time beatdown first; where one has to brutalize another to the extent he will be totally incapacitated should climbing time comes.

Even if Roman actually managed to beat the hell out of Sheamus through chair shots and ladders, it’s quite funny to think the latter putted the former into the table for like 3 out of 4 times.

Well, I already foresaw the Celtic Warrior defending this one. And that gives a shame for Roman for being a sore loser either. They can’t copy what happened to those Cena-Edge pages.

But on the other side, I hate to think the WWE screwed Reigns either. Like you let this juggernaut chase his dream for almost two years, and yet after reigning for only five minutes and 15 seconds, you will prolong his agony again?

That perhaps triggered the massive meltdown by the former hound of justice. And frankly speaking, this is what the character of Roman Reigns should have been in the first place. Stan Sy was right: WWE has over-experimented him. Though I’m also trying to understand the point that the creative peeps were like grooming him on all possible ways and gimmicks. Too bad, Roman.

But with the outcome of the post-match, I’ll say too bad, WWE either. Your ratings were going down with this type of cookie-cutter thing you’re trying.

Verdict: 8.1

Well, some of the match really sucked at will. But with the last gasp I have seen for TLC, it’s like WWE was trying to regain what they’ve already lost. And good thing, Roman’s meltdown assault on Triple H and the League of Nations turned out so well that at least the remaining members of the WWE Universe (not just the almost 15K crowd inside the Garden) will have to look on.

Ironically, it’s like building a championship hype for the old Boston Celtics again.

Overall Verdict: 7.8

Author: slickmaster | © 2015 september twenty-eight productions

Friday, 20 November 2015

Survival for the Championship

11/19/2015 7:00:12 PM

Seth Rollins was perhaps on his path to overthrow CM Punk’s championship tenure until an injury prevented the WWE to do so. He blew his knees as he tried to do a powerbomb during a house show in Dublin, Ireland and will be missing in action for 6-9 months.

Sad, right? But that’s life. That’s the harshest aspect in the world of sports. You might not lose a game to your opponent. But if bad luck strikes, injuries can make you feel a sore loser. And even if you unstrap the kayfabe logic here, no one wants to suffer an injury that way. Why? Because that’s not even part of the plan.

With that being said, it’s quite unfortunate for Roman Reigns to also lose his contention slot for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. Yes, just like that. He had to undergo a 16-man tournament, but heck, he chose to take the path anyway—right after shoving Triple H’s offer to be a “sellout.”

As much as I wanna dig down to every contender, I’m afraid I will not do so because the WWE title tournament already reached semi-finals. And that—along with the finals—will take place at Survivor Series. Besides, I couldn’t agree more on what Stan Sy had written on his RAW Report on Smark Henry.

So if we want to still divulge into the match-ups, let’s go first with Dean Ambrose and Kevin Owens. Seeing his promo on YouTube, Ambrose has already notched a step closer to the title. The OPLAN Ambrose Asylum is now at works. And with two WWE championship matches against Rollins; it’s not that really hard to see why.

It’s quite clear to me Ambrose will take home the W here (but a KO victory will be an upset). Should the latter take place soon; he might go on Roman Reigns’ side and build a feud with Owens in the process. Distraction, you know.

But if otherwise… well, let me talk about this first.

Roman Reigns vs. Alberto del Rio; now it looks like a big young dog versus the returning veteran. It appears that Del Rio will take Roman to school first before losing. I don’t see him winning this one at all; and in case he does, somebody will just cash-in.

And that—is a more possible scenario either!

Going back, if Ambrose and Reigns win their respective bouts, I’m expecting a double cross here. Or most likely (and we wish!), Dean will turn on Roman but not necessarily will align at the Authority unless Sheamus will not crash the party.

Still, there’s a high possibility that Roman’s time is now. And come on, it’s been seven years. Storlyine-wise, the Samoan badass might have been deprived of the title thrice: first on WrestleMania; second on Seth’s injury; and third… might come soon. Unless Mr. Superman Punch managed to neturalize the jinx.

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions

Saturday, 7 November 2015

Just My Opinion: WWE Hell in a Cell 2015

11/7/2015 4:38:35 PM

Photo credits: www.smarkoutmoment.com; insidepulse.com

WWE's Hell In A Cell may not be scheduled in the exact Halloween evening, but certainly was a perfect treat for such.

What’s the reason to say not to? You got two cage fights, and a fitting character in The Undertaker? Plus, kinda ironic in the set-up... the city of Los Angeles (that's a good introduction, Michael Cole!).

Without any further ado, let’s get down to business.

Alberto del Rio’s return to WWE was definitely a shocker. Considering his off-stage scuffle against their former social media handler, the racism issues, and perhaps another ‘unhappy news’ on his participation with Lucha Underground (plus the fact that AAA had him as the Mega Champion prior to this WWE run), del Rio—known as Alberto El Patron oustisde the sports entertainment firm—became the man to put John Cena’s United States championship to and end (finally!).

Relax, no hate on Cena for the previous statement. But man, John got the ‘time off’ he requested recently. Perhaps without him on WWE TV, the US title needs a new title-holder. I wonder though: How does Mex-americans will fit into the picture soon?

Verdict: 8.1

But then, I wonder: isn’t it too early for the first Hell in a Cell match for the evening? Look: bray Wyatt aand roman Reigns had been telling a very great story despite some questionable angles in their feud (like where on earth did Roman’s daughter end up; and why is Chris Jericho inserted in their 3-on-3 feud?).

But they should earn the distincion for being the best rivalry of the year since both Wyatt and Reigns showcased total brawl actions during their culminating match. And I think Roman deserved the win (and why not?) since he was kinda lost from the inorganic push to WrestleMania. Besides, if WWE needs him to be their next top guy, he has to be exhibited in a very natural form.

However, it will be best if the presence of Bray’s family members were around the cell; as well as that of Dean Ambrose for Roman’s corner.

Verdict: 8.8

After few matches, The New Day finally had shown their toughness sans Xavier Woods. That’s the way it should be. They’re the tag team champions.

Though I doubt their feud will end soon. As long as there’s Tables, Ladders, and Chairs (TLC) event coming up!

Verdict: 6.4

I guess the Diva’s championship came too early, and Nikki Bella’s action were convincing enough to be the titlist once again. The problem is that Charlotte’s actions were not really convincing enough to compliment the chemistry with her opponent.

I hope sooner when these two clash once again (which I hope is merely impossible), Charloot would exhibit more of herself; showing off the entire reason why she is the Diva’s Chanpion right now.

Though it’s quite obvious that Paige and Becky Lynch will be feuding on each other soon. It shows during their celebration following Charlotte’s win against Nikki Bella.


Verdict: 4.5


Seth Rollins defeated Kane for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. I really had a strange feeling about this match. Yes, so strange that for over their airing on FOX, I ended up getting a short nap.
And th same way goes to Intercontinental Championship match. Ugh. Tough grind to create a review when you either missed two matches or at a glimpse on it.

But with the results of the champions retaining their title? I guess, Seth Rollins’ past opponents (which were veterans) only gave him experiences needed as a performer in the scene. Somewhat I still find it lacking despite the circumstances.

But perhaps Corporate Kane’s relief from duty as director of operations will serve him well for a “demon” turn.

As for the Kevin Owens-Ryback IC battle, the timing was kinda short. Though... hmmm, okay. Next, please?

There it is: the main event of the evening! Brock Lesnar versus The Undertaker. Despite the lack of hyoe, the match delivered. And the result, though some were saying it’s cheating, is actually a goddamn thing called PAYBACK. Yeah, low blow’s a bitch but so was “payback.”

They gave everything possible. Bloody, brutal, and even gore. Damn great way to end their rivalry in three stages of hell (literally). That is definitely another match of the night aside from Reigns VS. Wyatt.

Verdict: 8.6

Now The New Face of Fear and his buzzards showed up for Taker, I wonder: Survivor Series is just around the corner, would it be fitting if the Undertaker will have a team to face The Wyatts?

Yes, please?

The Overall Verdict: 7.3
They say it was a night of final chapters? I guess so. Some feuds are expected to culminate right there, while some were born from the down fiery under.

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions