Showing posts with label wrestling. Show all posts
Showing posts with label wrestling. Show all posts

Tuesday, 8 March 2016

RoadBlock Ahead?!

03/08/2016 03:31:06 PM

http://wrestlingnews.co/
The World Wrestling Entertainment (WWE) is on the verge of staging their build-ups for WrestleMania. This past Royal Rumble, we had the second edition of WWE Fast Lane. In six weeks time, the question: is it really a quicker route for the Show of Shows?

And just when we thought we will never have a special event before Mania, there goes WWE waging their offering called March to WrestleMania: Live from Toronto. But then it was changed, and instead got a RoadBlock as their title.

Really? So are we on an expressway? On a freeway bridging the major pay-per-views Rumble and Mania?

Funny. Looks like tons of constructing infrastructure's ahead of us; with three confirmed matches on April—and tons to twists and turns in between.

I mean, let's face it: Roman Reigns was supposed to be an all-out groomed as the WWE's present top guy. But he wasn't showing the exact portrayal of one. Or in the other side, he was hampered by poor booking and illogical storywriting by the creatives. Wait, was it really creatives fault? Or is Vince kinda stubborn enough to not letting his pool experiment on what should happen at the ir product?

Ridiculous, right?

Heck, just when I thought there will a Daniel Bryan-esque Mania moment for Dean Ambrose, I was wrong. I even thought it will be a fatal-four-way match. But fuck this shit; those ain't gonna happen. It will be a tune-up game like for Hunter when he faced the Lunatic Fringe this Saturday.

However, if there will bew an upset in favor of DA, let's see how things will fare up. I wish Roman shows up and screws everyone like more than how he did to everyone at TLC.

And because there will be carnage at Dallas, Texas, it's quite unfortunate for us to witness a clash of the forces. Instead of having a physique-versus-mentality clash of the beasts, we end up having a street fight between Ambrose and Brock Lesnar.

And that leaves Bray Wyatt and his cult of buzzards lying somewhere else. Their loss at Fastlane made them literlaly lost their way back; as they were supposedly a faction of destructors in the E right now, something that unfortunately, got derailed by Chris Jericho, and the creatives en route to Survivor Series last year.


Now, he's back to face Paul Heyman's advocate, this should hype the event enough. Imagine if they were thinking twice of subscribing to the WWE NETWORK, they may not have a five-star championship match, but definitely numerous of present bigwigs: one's a super-athletic guy whose heelish tactics weren't able to overthrow the crowd appreciation for “Suplex City,” one of the best talkers in the scene, and a bunch of creepy phenomenal who not just had a mind-encrypting ideas, but physiques that could even intimidate fellow giants. Wow.
One problem, though: Braun Strowman and Erick Rowan was booked for another WWE Live Event during the same evening at Atlantic City. This seems confusing with Luke Harper as Bray's confidante.
This should better be well. They had a chance to steal the spotlight and tagged as “match of the night.”

Other than these two scuffles, there will be a tag team match for the NXT Tag Team Championship, something I hope will not end on a disqualification. But it would still be possible; thus setting up for another battle at NXT Takeover: Dallas. Or perhaps the same result but a different one come April Fools Day.

If speculations will be true that Sami Zayn will be around RoadBlock—and will set a feud with Kevin Owens for WrestleMania—how will that happen? The current IC champ was also advertised for NJ event.
And if there will be Roman Reigns vs. Sheamus during the evening, I don't think it will make sense the most. These two has been slugging each other that their story was nothing but a pointless, futile one, thanks to the League of Nations and their supposedly alliance to the Authority. And things aren't connecting well, to be exact.

Besides, these two are reportedly at sick bay. If that's the case, better keep them at bay.
Perhaps the planning for WWE RoadBlock will not be final yet. But we hope that in five days time, things will go as planned. And hope this road block ain't really a road block for WWE's development as they head on to their biggest spectacle at Texas.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Monday, 29 February 2016

Quick Fix?

03/01/2016 12:01:28 PM

Twist and turns for over the past few episodes of Monday Night RAW since WWE Fastlane.

We get it. Roman Reigns won, but the crowd could not hold their displeasure of their own. And perhaps, that shows the audience have this kind of power, especially at the height of the Yes! Movement.

Last year's buildup perhaps gave the worst storyttelling prior to the show of shows. As far as even Daniel Bryan shared the ring with Reigns and was defeated along the way, seems members of the universe were turning away from the main event. And in case they are watching the contest itself, people would have thought Brock Lesnar would just whip Roman's ass, but not for long until Roman got what, at least, some of the crowd's expectations.

Well, that until Seth Rollins cashed in and snatch the title away.

Perhaps, Triple H held its beatdown on Roman Reigns served as a challenge not just for RR himself, but to everyone – and that includes Hunter's father-in-law Vincent Kennedy McMahon. We both knew what reaction did they got at the ending of RAW episode last week; and we also know that this is something they shouldn't been getting. I mean, HHH brutalized Roman to the extent where things go bloody as fuck (something VKM would think barbaric). Heck, maybe even he himself who raised his arms with the title, would deep inside think, something's wrong with our product right now.

And that's the hardest part. He's the EVP of Talents and Events alone; and while on his off-the-office setup, he is the top bad guy; the corrupted one-slash-a bit of under de saya to Stephanie (and why not? He's just a son-in-law for that matter). But other than that, he can sense something's wrong, and bringing up his prized NXT talents to WWE's biggest stages would not be enough to compliment what Vinny Mac wants.

Going back, how do you fix this shit, aside from having strong bookings and more interesting storylines for Mania? I honestly don't know. We even get Shane O Mac vs. Taker in a Hell In A cell match, wherein if the former loses, then he can't have the control of RAW.

And we all wanted Taker getting a win. Why? He's not The Undertaker for nothing! He's not a prized WrestleMania figure for nothing. His loss on 2014 may have tarnished his legacy for a bit; but heck, with a potential upset – plus the turnout of the segment this week – things might go different, but uninteresting. Well, at least, for now.

But with barely six weeks, after a brutal assault—and perhaps a twist-making Dean Ambrose —how do WWE need to groom Roman Reigns and appease everyone? Make him act like the aftermath of TLC? Maybe. But could we get something more vicious than that? I get it: Royal Rumble was supposed to make him bigger even if he lost at the end. But if that means one versus all, then why do the locker room peeps—except his best friend and cousins—are not doing anything to conspire him? Oh, the last four buildups made up for it? Wasn't even close.

I think he needs to be Roman Reigns. Simple as that, like the way he rocked and rolled WWE from 2012, and made his series of breakout performances from Survivor Series 2013 'til Royal Rumble 2014; during the buildup for Money In The Bank and Battleground of that year.

If that can't help, how about a confronting segment between Roman and The Rock? As similar to Edge on Cena during the buildup of the latter's short rivalry with Brock Lesnar. Maybe that can help either,

Heck, if not for Daniel Bryan, Reigns would have been the top guy for that stretch despite Batista's return. And, that, by the way, is affecting Roman. Yes, the same treatment the audience have been shitting on The Animal. As far as the tales are concerned, it seems the Ambrose Asylum has been getting that Yes! Treatment already, which may be good for business.

Perhaps, on the other side, could we blame the Internet Wrestling Community for that matter? They might have been covering the majority (if not entire) members of the WWE universe, but some of them tended to be a bunch of self-righteous wannabe geeks whose fandom inside has been eaten already by a zombies of the WWE?

As far as some of the wrestling podcasts who ranted their displeasure, maybe. Maybe we forget to notice the bigger picture. Maybe we are being spoonfed by instant gratification theory. And even if we barked about VKM shoving his alpha males on our throats, we might not have been fully comprehending them at all.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Just My Opinion: WWE Fastlane 2016

2/29/2016 7:35:15 PM

dailyddt.com
It;s the last pay-per-view event before WrestleMania. A pit stop bridging the Royal Rumble and the Show of Shows. However, this are speeding up as stories went full-throttle as we approach the first Sunday of April. 

The stage is set on downtown Cleveland, but this ain’t the LeBron James show where he will take flight on the fastbreak. 

What a way to kick off this pay-per-view with a divas match. At least, they are now getting a chance (pertaining to the hashtag which ignited the Divas Revolution last year)? Perhaps, more than that. It’s more than just a typical card where everyone will hype up the crowd. While Tamina and Naomi proved you can’t mess with the bad-ass chicks, Sahsa Banks and Becky Lynch had made it clear that they had the “unity.”

Yes, All that despite having indifference on their egos prior to this match.

Will this culminate already? Perhaps. We all know where the Boss is heading for in the first place... WrestleMania, with a Divas Championship match against Charlotte!

Verdict: 8.4

Dolph Ziggler has this kind of rep that kicks off a PPV as a performer. He’s really as awesome as fuck, win or lose.

Now he moved a rank higher, his IC title match with Kevin Owens was as exceptionally-fucking good as it gets. Mind you, if not for AJ vs. Y2J, it would have been the match of the evening.

However, as much as this technical brawl is concerned, DZ was not introduced properly. He’s a hometown kid in the first place. Why, Lilian Garcia, for damn sakes, did you forgot he hailed from Cleveland, Ohio? And heck, why is the champion introduced first? This is my problem with title matches that aren’t intended for either Divas or WWE World Heavyweight. They appeared secondary or a class inferior.

Give KO a deserving credit. He improvised his finisher, proving that he doesn’t need to push his opponent to the top rope for a very emphatic ending.

Verdict: 8.7

Six man tag team match showed how the old schoolers can school the new grads like The Wyatt Family. Certainly, Ryback seemed to regain his old sheer self when he was a power (not just big) guy against John Cena.

But quite far to notice, how’s Luke harper after that shell-shocked? Looks like he’s legitimately hurt.

However, I have to agree with Stan Sy for this. Where they will go? We thought they are gunning after Brock Lesnar? This faction, previously feared sans Brawn Strowman, turned out worse as if they hit the proverbial wall. They even looked much powerful than the 2014 Authority when they vent their frustrations on the Beast Incarnate.

Well, we could only hope they could get a win on WrestleMania; but don’t tell me they will act like jobbers when they faced off the Social Outcast (oh, no!). Please, let them have a shoving contest against the League of Nations!

Verdict: 6.7

Brie Bella had a Cinderella-like story only have an abrupt ending out of nowhere. Perhaps, a very emotional fight as she might retire soon. That way, she might have been stepping down for contention on the Divas championship.

As much as I liked how she gave tribute to Daniel Bryan and Nikki Bella on her moves and apparrel, this has been one of the best and toughest fights she had executed with. But injury really killed two things: her chances of snatching the title, and her overall performance (specifically, on how she would tell the story of being the ‘yes’ woman of DB).

As for Charlotte, her gimmick is getting stale. I get it: she’s a Flair, which means she dispatches dirty tactics along the way. But isn’t it time to send the elder Ric backstage? There isnt’ really much significant on his presence right there. Well, unless he leveled himself to the likes of Paul Heyman or Tamina Snuka.

Verdict: 7.5

AJ vs Y2J is definitely one for the books. This should fall as one of the best matches in the E for 2016 Their rubber match appeared like what has been a typical old school feud for wrestling. All that despite having no total-clear distinction of roles. At some point, both people acted like those athletes displaying their “sportsmanship”; and somewhere along the way, they exhibited heelish tactics. 

Though, it was quite obvious that for a certain time, Chris Jericho displayed villainous actions while AJ Styles made it clear that he was a babyface who never backs (and cries) down like a drama actor.

With the Styles Clash losing its effectiveness, I think AJ shouldn’t had pin Jericho. The next question: is the international superstar/former hottest free agent about to unleash another curtain-caller? Something that fans from the other leagues might not even noticed closely.

We can only find out soon. He looks like he was groomed to be a submission player than a typical wrestler.

Verdict: 9.1

The Cutting Edge Peep show turned out to be a heck nostalgic act at all. Right, they had a good start, but the finish seemed flat. We knew for a moment, The New Day acted like faces. But then, it really appeared like remained to be seen as these two did not even crossed paths with each other again after that segment. Well, I wonder.

Verdict: 6.1

R-Truth vs. Curtis Axel was like a hype-killer for the main event. Something that tells you like, “Chill. We got you covered.” 

But fuck this shit, that looked like a more of a bathroom break either. You barely wish this match happened earlier, right? It’s not kinda fair to put earlier in place of the US title because that’s actually a strategy for people to patronize the program itself. Imagine if all title matches were putted out there. That might make the pre-show nothing but garbage.

And, that, by the way served as a prelude to a minor story soon!

Verdict: 3.9

The main event proved something, like how Roman Reigns, though poised to win the game and take away the title from Triple H, was not the same Roman Reigns we knew from early 2014 and late 2015. Heck, even Dean Ambrose showed how things should be done against Brock Lesnar. That looked like a higher and honorable prize than clashing with Hunter for Mania.

Quite funny how Ambrose wanted to hit Lesnar with a German suplex. A comical twist on how their feud unfolds during the match.

But puns aside, this should have been Roman’s first breakout game, but with the two scuffling their shits on each other, it’s like he was literally taken out of equation.

Oh, I get it. He and Ambrose displayed shades of The SHIELD when they double powerbombed Lesnar to announce tables. Not one, but two announce tables! But that’s teamwork. Aside from that, the juggernaut was neturalized by Dean most of the time.

And as for the finish, I would understand if he chased off Lesnar and pin him at the end. That will prove hos Roman can beat -- and had beaten Brock Lesnar. Maybe because the Beast Incarnate was totally tamed by those chair shots by Dean; thus, a complimenting account on setting up a chapter for Mania.

Verdict: 6.5

Roman might have won the game. And that exhibited what Fastlane was all about. The problem, for the next six weeks (or shorter, as of writing time), he has to be likened to that kind of image when he and HHH squared off come WrestleMania time.

Somehow, the event ran well, especially at the first two hours. Maybe, the imbalance of the cards have screwed the evening. But on a bigger picture, WWE Fastlane was on its second installment. Give them a break.

And also, Roman.

The Verdict: 7.3

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Tuesday, 9 February 2016

No! No! No!!!

2/9/2016 7:44:34 PM

I first saw him at the very first show by the time I get back to the profession wrestling scene, WrestleMania 28. He was then the World Heavyweight Champion and acting as AJ Lee’s girlfriend. And after a sealed kiss, and 18 seconds, he lost his gold to the brogue kick of the Celtic Warrior named Sheamus.

And just like that, it was the shortest wrestling match I had ever seen. Holy... Oh, wait. It was Holy Tuesday evening when I watched WM28 on Studio 23, so I should shut my mouth.

Look, I am not a fan of this guy. But I can’t help but to share my sentiment (at least, a bit) upon his sudden decision to hang up sneakers and not take part of the squared circle anymore. 

Is this an angle, as The Fanboy SEO sees it? We wish. But the fact that everyone in the roster gave their short tributes to Bryan Danielson seems very serious. (Yes, kayfabe was officially stripped at this point.)

Look, I only managed to catch Daniel Bryan’s last few years with the WWE. And even if I started my not give me new religion habit of following WWE stories -- (the Authority era), it did not give me a guarantee spot that I knew everything. Heck, I didn’t even know he teamed up with Kane until I watched The SHIELD’s debut match in TLC event on 2012.

The only thing I knew about this guy is that from “Hell No,” he transformed the WWE into another landscape, and wrote another chapter for the Authority -- that is the “YES!” movement. 

All I also knew is that SummerSlam 2013 was supposed to be his highlight reel when he defeated John Cena at the evening’s main event to win the WWE championship. That until Randy Orton stole the belt from him in an instant. Somehow, looking at one side, face-vs.-face at the main event? Come on! Sure, people may hate WWE for doing a screwjob there; but looking at the bigger picture, this is just the beginning of Daniel Bryans rocky road to supremacy.

His rivalry with Orton went on for months, until thee product hit a sudden swerve -- unifying the WWE and World Heavyweight titles, and The Wyatt Family’s emergence as one of the heel factions. Bryan’s feud with Bray Wyatt worked so well, that it was perhaps an almost perfect timing to put him back at the title picture (while obviously, carrying the much-younger Wyatt over).

It appeared another botch as Batista thwarted an emerging Roman Reigns out of the way to become the winner of the 2014 Royal Rumble. Perhaps, unconsciously hitting a proverbial wall on how do they put Bryan as what he was supposed to.

But along the way, the then-upcoming turn of events became an interesting pieces of the picture on how DB got back into the frame. Certainly, it looked like the finished didn’t turned well in favor of the people at the Royal Rumble and Elimination Chamber; but WrestleMania XXX became his pinnacle of success. 


Imagine this guy wrestled on two matches -- and not just against two, but three guys -- in a single evening? Perhaps the timing gave both Bryan and Triple H a much needed breather, fatigue-wise speaking considering WrestleMania runs or four hours annually. 

That being said, I picked his PPV participation as my favorite Daniel Bryan moment. Imagine turning the Super Bowl of sports entertainment into his own Yes-tlemania for that fateful evening of 6 April 2014, at the 75,167-attended Mercedes Benz Superdowme in New Orleans.



However, it was quite unfortunate that his post-WM XXX era was not the fitting sequel to everything he had fought for. Sure, he won the Intercontinental championship the next year. But it’s quite obvious of a sign of aging. 

Perhaps, 16 years at the business was a very long run. And to think that this sport -- though may have its planned plot -- is still a dangerous one in anyone’s eyes. It’s no joke to jump high, do those action star-like stunts, and take massive bumps; while getting injuries along your body in the process.

Sadly, the Yes! Movement may have come to an end, but definitely it and served well in every recent wrestling fan’s memory. It left a mark to everyone whose been following WWE during those years. I don’t think Vince McMahon is to blame here. Nobody wants to get hurt but also having his show screwed. Give him a break, people.

That being said, I am raising my two pointing fingers as my salute. YES! YES! YES!

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Tuesday, 26 January 2016

Just My Opinion: WWE Royal Rumble 2016

1/25/2016 12:08:17 PM
Photo credits: Wrestlezone
The 2016 WWE Royal Rumble has just got more royalty with its new logo and presentation, though of course the stage set-up still sucks since Payback 2014. But hey, I think we are about to be treated in a special storyline presenting the current poster boy Roman Reigns.

Well, I kinda wonder: this should have been made earlier since WrestleMania 2015. But anyway...

Last Man Standing appeared to be a catastrophic match to kick off Royal Rumble. And it delievred though of course, it’s not as perfect as it is. Hardcore duel between Dean Ambrose and Kevin Owens proved to be not a bad thing to kick off a pay-per-view event though it can’t topped how The Usos and Dolph Ziggler performed against their adversaries in the previous WWE PPV events.

That perhaps the way to serve an ending to this brutal feud. And who knows? Dean might have another IC feud and with a potential guy to pass the torch on; like a heel turn for Dolph Ziggler.

As for Owens, another story at works; like his dream match with Brock Lesnar soon. Or maybe, a Sheamus route.

The Verdict: 7.9

The New Day has successfully defended their tag team championships, and a new trombone in addition. Perhaps their match with the Usos has been at the least predictable by plot. I mean, sure, The Usos can have their golds for the third time; but maybe it’s another young-vs.-elder type of match.

But you have to love how Big E end this battle.

With that being said, I think The New Day will lose the titles by WrestleMania. Yeah, looks like I figured out where this one will go; the only problem: they have where will be the next tag team champs with Sin Cara of the Lucha Dragons out in sick bay?

Well, we’ll never know.

The Verdict: 8.1

Kalisto had a very brief turnaround to snatch the United States Championship from Alberto Del Rio. Though it doesn’t sounds really convincing; considering the former has taken tons of punishment from the latter.

But hey, this might do something good for both men; Kalisto as a singles competitor who can be a standout luchador in WWE since Rey Mysterio and Los Matadores, and Del Rio as part of the heel (the ally of the Authority) faction League of Nations.

The Verdict: 7.3

Charlotte retains her Diva’s championship in perhaps a clearer vision: a devilish fashion. More evil than ever.  

Okay, you might argue: we have seen a lot of that recently. But this showed more darkness this time with Becky Lynch almost taking home the precarious victory until Ric Flair threw his blazer; an obvious sign of a flamboyant name with a dirty game on it.

Hey, the Boss is in the house! Sasha Banks is perhaps presenting herself for a title picture. And eliminating Becky Lynch out of it. I thought I was partially wrong on one second as they were appearing to rehash their BFF tales on NXT.

But god, no. Ugly match, but a more dirtier-yet-prettier aftermath.

Verdict: 6.9

And so was the biggest battle of WWE so far this year. And perhaps, the biggest one should WrestleMania and SummerSlam matches went into fluke soon.

Now, were talking Royal Rumble match in some kind of different manner. For the first time, since 1992, the WWE title will be at stake. And it’s literally a Roman Reigns story: one versus all. At least this didn’t happen at the battle royale at WrestleMania.

But fuck it, can he really handle it all with six former world champions -- and some of them were Royal Rumble winners (Sheamus, Brock Lesnar, Alberto Del Rio) -- also joining the frey?

He has to win his second straight RR match, something we haven’t seen since Stone Cold Steve Austin in 1998. That could be really a daunting task on being an underdog (a big top dwag) against the Authority, with a bunch of international villains (League of Nations), a bizzarre buzzards (The Wyatt Family), and a beast incarnate (Brock Lesnar). And the fact that he’s the first man to enter the contest itself.

Can he really deliver without any unconvincing manner? Consdiering he’s on his home turf at Florida, and the fact that his WWE career started here at NXT (also, at Florida).

Now talk about conspiracy theories, let’s get on the match itself. Here are the sidenotes that I should have been made on a liveblog basis.


So, Rusev became the second competitor. Interesting, since he’s the last one eliminated last year. And just like that he’s eliminated again after a second-rope-and-drive by surprise..

AJ Style returns! Jesus Christ! The wrestling’s hottest free agent made it to WWE! Imagine the 18-year veteran whose been an international name tussling with the top dog! This is hard to deal with considering WWE has been planning to build Reigns as their top man. Now he’s earning jeers again. Shades of 2015.

Tyler Breeze enters the picture. But it doesn’t really seems impressive. How on earth?!

Wait, the Social Outcast is here. And Curtis Axel finally enters the Royal Rumble! But it all boils down to Styles and Reigns again as he was formally eliminated. Save your Axlemania to Recycle Bin. Hahaha!

Chris Jericho has done it again, His ninth. What else is new, actually? I think these two veterans could school Roman!

And here enters the legendary Kane. And not a corporate guy but a devil Kane. Another Royal Rumble class is at works, and a fatal-four is at set-up.

Okay, I might be wrong: four teachers are ganging up for the title, and for the young champ, with Goldust entering the picture; his 11th participation. However, if there’s one thing that’s lacking it’s the fact that they’re not really aiming for Roman, the title.

Did recess came early? Ryback enters the Royal Rumble, and it’s feeding time. Perhaps, a should’ve WWE champ, and considering a young gun too.

And another Royal Rumble favorite, Kofi Kingston. Favorite in a sense that he has done extraordinary moments. He should have earned the title Mr. Royal Rumble but unfortunately he hadn’t even won a single Royal Rumble match. How tough is that?

Titus O Neil, and another homecourt advantage. But uhm, let’s see how it goes, with Roman and Styles at stake again.

And another comic guy in R-Truth. What’s he’s doing? This ain’t a ladder match, pal! This ain’t WWE Money in the Bank 2014? Now that gives Kane another addition to his records; but hey, Kofi Kingston had his “saving grave” moment again with the New Day at his side. Talk about unifying the unicorns right there!

So, the bizzarre moment has entered the atmosphere with Luke Harper being the 13th entrant for the Royal Rumble. But, with League of Nations -- plus Mr. McMahon pulling Reigns from the bottom rope. Another twist in the conspiracy theories. But save the guy, he’s not technically eliminated from the match!

Stardust is entering the match, but seems the stage is not out there at the squared circle, with Rusev avenging the loss by splashing Reigns at the table. And there’s paramedics.

The Big Show. Another veteran at the Royal Rumble; and always a bridesmaid -- no gender pun intended.

And Neville on the halfway. And we’re on the roll again; while Reigns refused to be stretched out immediately. I guess he’s not formally eliminated as LoN pulled him from the bottom. Another flaw to this story, and are we seeing another botching end? Hopefully not.

Especially with the Brawn Strowman entering the picture. I wonder for a second: we might have seen a scuffle against each member sometime? We never know. But one thing for sure: this brute just eliminated two men. Can he reached Reigns number, or even Kane’s? We’ll never know.

Uh, oh! Just I have thought. Kevin Owens with a limping leg, but he’s still barely walking and it’s Fight Owens Fight time. And talk about reuniting with Styles, and eliminating him in the process! Yes, after 28 minutes! Now talk about being heel! Funny, how Luke even bade goodbye to AJ! Hey, you’re not on backstage, guy!

Ambrose is back and it’s revenge time anew! Hardcore time! 

Oh, brother! Number 20 is Sami Zayn! And looks like we have the clash of the former best friend and eliminated him right there and then. We wish we could have seen more of this soon as the NXT chants roll. The only not fair in this cameo is his entrance screen. Crap!

Two thirds in the RR match, and nearly all the members of the Wyatt Family are complete with Erick Rowan. Now talk about domination like a 3-on-3 tag team tussle!

But just when you thought this match will be over, here comes another heavyweight shit in Mark Henry. But with his age? I doubt he will be winning at all, with all the Wyatt Family members eliminating him. Good luck to the rest!

Ohhhhh!!!! Brace Yourselves! The Beast is the Royal Rumble for the first time since 2003 and we’re on detour to Suplex City! And this seems a clash of the gigantic brutes like a 3-on-1 handicap match! 

Now Jack Swagger enters the match, But too bad, his chance of making it was nothing but a fluke! Poor kid after winning the pre-show. While the carnage continues and changing the complexion of the match in the process; though it appears like off-timing. This is the physically challenging one I have seen in Lesnar.

While the Miz became the 25th entrant, it appeared he’s a cowardice by taking the headset and make it like he’s on another RAW episode. Does it appear special? Maybe. But heck, fuck it! This subplot is getting colorless.

And Del Rio goes back, and it’s a man-for-himself time! But is is just me or this match gets a little bit boring if we’re talking about numbers here! And Lesnar just took down the buzzards! But where’s Bray Wyatt?!

Speaking of the devil: and it appears he’s after the beast this time around! Good luck with that, boy! And just like that, another prelude to a potential rivalry is at works! Expect this one come Fastlane or WrestleMania! This sequence keeps me exciting, but not for long. A screwjob and again?! I need to see Lesnar explode like how Roman Reigns took Triple H out during TLC!

As Dolph Ziggler enters the stage; but the quality’s been already lost! How crap is that?! Miz enters and appears to be the smartest guy but only temporarily either!

Sheamus on his third RR match, and can he also pull off a victory? Hey, Reigns is back, with a Superman Punch! Shades of Axle-Rowan ‘15! And I am sensing another screwjob at works!

Oh, shit! Triple H! Just as I expected! Now I’m clapping out loud! Hey I saw it coming, guys! It may not be a total screwjob, but certainly he’s sending a message with a pedigree on DZ and a spear by Roman to Wyatt! Talk about prof-vs.-student! I think that salvaged this match for a bit.

And things are going heels vs babyface clearcut versions: Jericho, Ambrose, Sheamus, Hunter, and Reigns! And Jericho was the last man timed standing so far with 50 minutes! It’s kinda awry to see brothers trun soon!

And just like that: Reigns is eliminated! There’s a newwwwww champ at works! HHH at Ambrose remains last men standing! I’m sensing something new here, like passing a torch to his brother! New tale at hand, and perhaps a new swerve to Reigns story!

And for the 14th time, the WWE World Heavyweight champion is back at the hands of the Authority! Talk about revenge, and talk about showing domination. Like what they say, the Authority always wins!


The Verdict: 8.1

With that being said, we have seen a Roman empire crumble! And the King of Kings rose above them all. But I think the overall match fell flat for quite some time. But I know for a fact, this will build up something good for WrestleMania. It’s not that bad to hear Ro Moran’s words on his The SGP podcast! It may sound unpopular, but when you think about it, it’s better to see Reigns win the title again come WM32, something he failed to do so last year.

The Verdict (Overall): 7.5

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Friday, 8 January 2016

One vs. All

1/5/2016 12:56:59 PM

As far as the live tweets of WWE Monday Night RAW is concerned, Roman Reigns faced Sheamus with Mr. Vince McMahon as the match referee. Obviously this created buzzing stirs among wrestling fans, even if we all know it’s scripted as fuck.

Of course, we can’t help but to think of various results along the way. And that’s one reason why I love professional wrestling as an entertainment tool.

So, at the end Roman defeated Sheamus with three referees declaring the match. Obviously, conspiracy theories made by the Authority was made somewhere, with McMahon returning to the scene as the heelest of them all. 

And to think of it, the elder McMahon wanted Reigns to be the top face of this WWE generation right now and sadly creative people had done a lot of over-experiments leading to screwjobs along the way.


And at the end of the night, Vinny Mac declared Reigns will be defending the WWE World Heavyweight Championship... In a Royal Rumble Match; the first since 1992. 

So is this another conspiracy theory planted by the authority on the juggernaut? I’ll say “Now we’re talking!” You know, Reigns has had this gimmick called ONE VS. ALL and proved it most of the times even since his days with The SHIELD. 

I just wish he could do more than just five moves, remain on his “man of few words” persona and once he snapped, he’s totally on his vicious self.

Now that’s a more exciting Royal Rumble to watch out for.


Author: slickmaster | © 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Wednesday, 23 December 2015

Needing a "Quick Fix"

12/19/2015 12:28:25 PM

The turnaround from TLC to RAW became a very improbable in the recent months. Yes, from a screwjob to a la make up class. It revolved even more than a double-cross. Say, what quite happened?

Before that, hearing people’s reaction of dismay over the past PPV events became a force to reckon when they made their rantings on Twitter. For over the course of time, it’s been cynical like the three-word phrase “same old shit.” And who’s not to get sick of seeing that at all? It’s not just about “the Authority always wins” thing at all, but about the stories they are making with. If not an illogical booking, ill-timed. Those suck either way.

I have heard several podcasts regarding the topics from The Ross Report to It’s Real To Me. From Mat Men even to the locally-produced Smark Gilas Pilipinas.

Daniel Bryan was even right when he said WWE should not rely on its part-timers. Sure, they’re quite special basing on their raring appearances. But somewhere along the way, new guys should also be given a break, too.

And heck, even Mark De Joya will explain to you more about the losses and gains of the pro wrestling as a business (I mean, literally) when you check out Smark Henry. Meantime, I could only give my takes after gaining some insights from these stuff.

How do you fix the WWE? How do you regain what has been lost? Or if you lose something on your TV ratings, what should you do?
A.) Bring Vincent Kenndy McMahonB.) Let Triple H take over?C.) Don’t over-experiment?D.) Do an organic push? OrE.) Don’t screw up at all?
Let’s face it. Vince’s return to the WWE helm may be a desperate attempt (though of course, the creative people will deny it). But hearing “No Chance In Hell” entrance and let the 70-year old mogul do the talking was really special. However, setting his character, I think its about time for the Vinny Mac to let his daughter Stephanie and son-in-law Paul Levesque do the manning.

But if Hunter will take over the main programming, chances are things might roll great; especially the fact that NXT was on a roll even before he create several special NXT TakeOver specials. Well, lets’ just hope NXT will not be neglected in the process. And I mean by leveling the stuff he does on both; because the line will be blurred enough. Still, I believe as a businessman, Levesque is smart and he so far, he makes smart decision that leads to the success of WWE’s developmental firm. Sometimes, I can even say NXT is much bigger than the WWE itself.

Yes, take Roman Reigns for example. It’s not just as saying he’s finally got the hump. Kayfabe aside, Roman Reigns was groomed to be the WWE’s next big man. And I’m not saying that he’s not acting like one, but the creative and booking pool has been doing not-so-well in letting him grow for such. If things were done properly and as early as January 2014, Roman Reigns should have been already a notable figure in piloting the sports-entertainment world. But no, they have a lot of mash-ups with Batista headlining WrestleMania 30, as well as the Daniel Bryan vs. The Authority tale, and even John Cena in the mix, seems like there’s an “idea overload” backstage.

I think I just said enough.


Author: slickmaster | © 2015 september twenty-eight productions

Monday, 30 November 2015

Just My Opinion: WWE Survivor Series 2015

11/30/2015 6:20:35 PM


Screengrab from YouTube
This year’s Survivor Series, according to many, was so lame. Yeah, like the way I wrote my first statement there.

But kidding aside, why a lot of people were disappointed in the product after watching the pay-per-view event last two Sundays ago? I mean, what went wrong aside from the book booking and feud build-up?

We got a traditional survivor series tag-team elimination match in the kickoff show. I guess some stories were forced to fold as the WWE World Heavyweight champion Seth Rollins was put out by an injury; prompting the WWE to hold a tournament in search for a new title-holder (in short, his replacement).

And in the process, a return of the elder Rhosed named Goldust became a hot talk among smarks. So, is the rivalry between him and Star Dust resumes? We hope so.

I get it: some people are complaining about Roman Reigns not being able to sell an injury despite several shoulder attacks from his previous opponents in the WWE title tournament. I guess he was mold in a form of almost a restless juggernaut. But the way he executes himself in pain wasn’t really shown well. Why did I say so? He’s been somewhat inconsistent on exhibiting them.

Still, the first match was the best one of the evening.

Verdict: 8.5

Dean Ambrose and Kevin Owens got entangled in a brawl that should have been in the finals of this tourney. Unfortunately, we all get the predictable result. However, I can sense Ambrose-Owens feud will be a big one in the next PPVs to come.

Verdict: 8.2

The traditional survivor series match appeared like it was inserted for the event’s namesake. And here’s another thing: of all the buildup, it looked like everything was made due to the previous bouts on SmackDown where after Kalisto defeated Ryback, the Lucha Dragons became allies with The Big Guy. On the other end, Sheamus and King Barrett were just dancing with The New Day only to have few seconds of mental-shovedown affair afterwards.

For a second, I thought Sheamus will turn face should he clash with the current tag team champions soon. And his loss here made him a strong-underrated character underneath a mediocre-superficial outlook. So don’t fret when he had done something shocking later on.

Verdict: 7.3

Charlotte exhibited her very physical match so far in her WWE career with Paige. However, I think of two botches: either their chemistry didn’t convince me well or it’s just almost 15,000 members of the WWE universe inside Philips arena were boring as fuck.

Verdict: 6.9

Tyler Breeze and Dolph Ziggler battled for a good short while (in sexual terminologies, that’s how you call a “quickie”) but this one’s another buster. I get it; they resumed their rivalry after the WWE world heavyweight championship tournament. But other than that? NAAAAH. Trousers aside, Breeze got a win he badly needed on his PPV debut. His gimmick still suck for me.

Verdict: 3.9

I still think the Brothers of Destruction should’ve hook Goldust and Sting; and instead of having an at least 8-man survivor series match, it ended on a 2-on-2 scuffle. Screw the fuck out of you, WWE creative people. Forget the fact he had a grandeur entrance (much special than the two WrestleMania cameos). I kinda wonder if Erick Rowan sent himself out of arena; is it because he have something to burst out of his stomach, or perhaps an implosion of the cults soon?

But hey, the promo video was awesome as fuck!

Verdict: 7.7

Still, you can’t discount the implosion of the Spanish announce table as the Holy Shit of the moment. Perhaps, that’s how you send a badass giant named Braun Strowman “good night.” And for good 10-minute match long between these four? Well, it’s considerable with Taker already been close to 50s.

Roman Reigns and Deam Ambrose squared off in a final match that seemed very short and predictable. Though it appeared they could really give it all, physically-speaking. At the end of what should have been longer match, Reigns was the winner and champion while Dean still lauds him as his brother.

Verdict: 6.0

However, a spear on Triple H defies his short title reign when a “brogue kick outta nowhere” happened. Too much for a 5:15 reign and another 34 second square-off. 

Verdict: 6.0

The ending seemed not in our favor at all. But this is how a juggernaut like Roman Reigns should do to rebuild himself even more. Forget the fact he has lost a numerous championship opportunities dating back to Battleground last year. He has to be more credible to earn people’s trust (take Daniel Bryan for example).

Overall verdict: 7.3

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions

Friday, 20 November 2015

Survival for the Championship

11/19/2015 7:00:12 PM

Seth Rollins was perhaps on his path to overthrow CM Punk’s championship tenure until an injury prevented the WWE to do so. He blew his knees as he tried to do a powerbomb during a house show in Dublin, Ireland and will be missing in action for 6-9 months.

Sad, right? But that’s life. That’s the harshest aspect in the world of sports. You might not lose a game to your opponent. But if bad luck strikes, injuries can make you feel a sore loser. And even if you unstrap the kayfabe logic here, no one wants to suffer an injury that way. Why? Because that’s not even part of the plan.

With that being said, it’s quite unfortunate for Roman Reigns to also lose his contention slot for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. Yes, just like that. He had to undergo a 16-man tournament, but heck, he chose to take the path anyway—right after shoving Triple H’s offer to be a “sellout.”

As much as I wanna dig down to every contender, I’m afraid I will not do so because the WWE title tournament already reached semi-finals. And that—along with the finals—will take place at Survivor Series. Besides, I couldn’t agree more on what Stan Sy had written on his RAW Report on Smark Henry.

So if we want to still divulge into the match-ups, let’s go first with Dean Ambrose and Kevin Owens. Seeing his promo on YouTube, Ambrose has already notched a step closer to the title. The OPLAN Ambrose Asylum is now at works. And with two WWE championship matches against Rollins; it’s not that really hard to see why.

It’s quite clear to me Ambrose will take home the W here (but a KO victory will be an upset). Should the latter take place soon; he might go on Roman Reigns’ side and build a feud with Owens in the process. Distraction, you know.

But if otherwise… well, let me talk about this first.

Roman Reigns vs. Alberto del Rio; now it looks like a big young dog versus the returning veteran. It appears that Del Rio will take Roman to school first before losing. I don’t see him winning this one at all; and in case he does, somebody will just cash-in.

And that—is a more possible scenario either!

Going back, if Ambrose and Reigns win their respective bouts, I’m expecting a double cross here. Or most likely (and we wish!), Dean will turn on Roman but not necessarily will align at the Authority unless Sheamus will not crash the party.

Still, there’s a high possibility that Roman’s time is now. And come on, it’s been seven years. Storlyine-wise, the Samoan badass might have been deprived of the title thrice: first on WrestleMania; second on Seth’s injury; and third… might come soon. Unless Mr. Superman Punch managed to neturalize the jinx.

Author: slickmaster | ©2015 september twenty-eight productions