Monday, 29 February 2016

Quick Fix?

03/01/2016 12:01:28 PM

Twist and turns for over the past few episodes of Monday Night RAW since WWE Fastlane.

We get it. Roman Reigns won, but the crowd could not hold their displeasure of their own. And perhaps, that shows the audience have this kind of power, especially at the height of the Yes! Movement.

Last year's buildup perhaps gave the worst storyttelling prior to the show of shows. As far as even Daniel Bryan shared the ring with Reigns and was defeated along the way, seems members of the universe were turning away from the main event. And in case they are watching the contest itself, people would have thought Brock Lesnar would just whip Roman's ass, but not for long until Roman got what, at least, some of the crowd's expectations.

Well, that until Seth Rollins cashed in and snatch the title away.

Perhaps, Triple H held its beatdown on Roman Reigns served as a challenge not just for RR himself, but to everyone – and that includes Hunter's father-in-law Vincent Kennedy McMahon. We both knew what reaction did they got at the ending of RAW episode last week; and we also know that this is something they shouldn't been getting. I mean, HHH brutalized Roman to the extent where things go bloody as fuck (something VKM would think barbaric). Heck, maybe even he himself who raised his arms with the title, would deep inside think, something's wrong with our product right now.

And that's the hardest part. He's the EVP of Talents and Events alone; and while on his off-the-office setup, he is the top bad guy; the corrupted one-slash-a bit of under de saya to Stephanie (and why not? He's just a son-in-law for that matter). But other than that, he can sense something's wrong, and bringing up his prized NXT talents to WWE's biggest stages would not be enough to compliment what Vinny Mac wants.

Going back, how do you fix this shit, aside from having strong bookings and more interesting storylines for Mania? I honestly don't know. We even get Shane O Mac vs. Taker in a Hell In A cell match, wherein if the former loses, then he can't have the control of RAW.

And we all wanted Taker getting a win. Why? He's not The Undertaker for nothing! He's not a prized WrestleMania figure for nothing. His loss on 2014 may have tarnished his legacy for a bit; but heck, with a potential upset – plus the turnout of the segment this week – things might go different, but uninteresting. Well, at least, for now.

But with barely six weeks, after a brutal assault—and perhaps a twist-making Dean Ambrose —how do WWE need to groom Roman Reigns and appease everyone? Make him act like the aftermath of TLC? Maybe. But could we get something more vicious than that? I get it: Royal Rumble was supposed to make him bigger even if he lost at the end. But if that means one versus all, then why do the locker room peeps—except his best friend and cousins—are not doing anything to conspire him? Oh, the last four buildups made up for it? Wasn't even close.

I think he needs to be Roman Reigns. Simple as that, like the way he rocked and rolled WWE from 2012, and made his series of breakout performances from Survivor Series 2013 'til Royal Rumble 2014; during the buildup for Money In The Bank and Battleground of that year.

If that can't help, how about a confronting segment between Roman and The Rock? As similar to Edge on Cena during the buildup of the latter's short rivalry with Brock Lesnar. Maybe that can help either,

Heck, if not for Daniel Bryan, Reigns would have been the top guy for that stretch despite Batista's return. And, that, by the way, is affecting Roman. Yes, the same treatment the audience have been shitting on The Animal. As far as the tales are concerned, it seems the Ambrose Asylum has been getting that Yes! Treatment already, which may be good for business.

Perhaps, on the other side, could we blame the Internet Wrestling Community for that matter? They might have been covering the majority (if not entire) members of the WWE universe, but some of them tended to be a bunch of self-righteous wannabe geeks whose fandom inside has been eaten already by a zombies of the WWE?

As far as some of the wrestling podcasts who ranted their displeasure, maybe. Maybe we forget to notice the bigger picture. Maybe we are being spoonfed by instant gratification theory. And even if we barked about VKM shoving his alpha males on our throats, we might not have been fully comprehending them at all.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Just My Opinion: WWE Fastlane 2016

2/29/2016 7:35:15 PM

dailyddt.com
It;s the last pay-per-view event before WrestleMania. A pit stop bridging the Royal Rumble and the Show of Shows. However, this are speeding up as stories went full-throttle as we approach the first Sunday of April. 

The stage is set on downtown Cleveland, but this ain’t the LeBron James show where he will take flight on the fastbreak. 

What a way to kick off this pay-per-view with a divas match. At least, they are now getting a chance (pertaining to the hashtag which ignited the Divas Revolution last year)? Perhaps, more than that. It’s more than just a typical card where everyone will hype up the crowd. While Tamina and Naomi proved you can’t mess with the bad-ass chicks, Sahsa Banks and Becky Lynch had made it clear that they had the “unity.”

Yes, All that despite having indifference on their egos prior to this match.

Will this culminate already? Perhaps. We all know where the Boss is heading for in the first place... WrestleMania, with a Divas Championship match against Charlotte!

Verdict: 8.4

Dolph Ziggler has this kind of rep that kicks off a PPV as a performer. He’s really as awesome as fuck, win or lose.

Now he moved a rank higher, his IC title match with Kevin Owens was as exceptionally-fucking good as it gets. Mind you, if not for AJ vs. Y2J, it would have been the match of the evening.

However, as much as this technical brawl is concerned, DZ was not introduced properly. He’s a hometown kid in the first place. Why, Lilian Garcia, for damn sakes, did you forgot he hailed from Cleveland, Ohio? And heck, why is the champion introduced first? This is my problem with title matches that aren’t intended for either Divas or WWE World Heavyweight. They appeared secondary or a class inferior.

Give KO a deserving credit. He improvised his finisher, proving that he doesn’t need to push his opponent to the top rope for a very emphatic ending.

Verdict: 8.7

Six man tag team match showed how the old schoolers can school the new grads like The Wyatt Family. Certainly, Ryback seemed to regain his old sheer self when he was a power (not just big) guy against John Cena.

But quite far to notice, how’s Luke harper after that shell-shocked? Looks like he’s legitimately hurt.

However, I have to agree with Stan Sy for this. Where they will go? We thought they are gunning after Brock Lesnar? This faction, previously feared sans Brawn Strowman, turned out worse as if they hit the proverbial wall. They even looked much powerful than the 2014 Authority when they vent their frustrations on the Beast Incarnate.

Well, we could only hope they could get a win on WrestleMania; but don’t tell me they will act like jobbers when they faced off the Social Outcast (oh, no!). Please, let them have a shoving contest against the League of Nations!

Verdict: 6.7

Brie Bella had a Cinderella-like story only have an abrupt ending out of nowhere. Perhaps, a very emotional fight as she might retire soon. That way, she might have been stepping down for contention on the Divas championship.

As much as I liked how she gave tribute to Daniel Bryan and Nikki Bella on her moves and apparrel, this has been one of the best and toughest fights she had executed with. But injury really killed two things: her chances of snatching the title, and her overall performance (specifically, on how she would tell the story of being the ‘yes’ woman of DB).

As for Charlotte, her gimmick is getting stale. I get it: she’s a Flair, which means she dispatches dirty tactics along the way. But isn’t it time to send the elder Ric backstage? There isnt’ really much significant on his presence right there. Well, unless he leveled himself to the likes of Paul Heyman or Tamina Snuka.

Verdict: 7.5

AJ vs Y2J is definitely one for the books. This should fall as one of the best matches in the E for 2016 Their rubber match appeared like what has been a typical old school feud for wrestling. All that despite having no total-clear distinction of roles. At some point, both people acted like those athletes displaying their “sportsmanship”; and somewhere along the way, they exhibited heelish tactics. 

Though, it was quite obvious that for a certain time, Chris Jericho displayed villainous actions while AJ Styles made it clear that he was a babyface who never backs (and cries) down like a drama actor.

With the Styles Clash losing its effectiveness, I think AJ shouldn’t had pin Jericho. The next question: is the international superstar/former hottest free agent about to unleash another curtain-caller? Something that fans from the other leagues might not even noticed closely.

We can only find out soon. He looks like he was groomed to be a submission player than a typical wrestler.

Verdict: 9.1

The Cutting Edge Peep show turned out to be a heck nostalgic act at all. Right, they had a good start, but the finish seemed flat. We knew for a moment, The New Day acted like faces. But then, it really appeared like remained to be seen as these two did not even crossed paths with each other again after that segment. Well, I wonder.

Verdict: 6.1

R-Truth vs. Curtis Axel was like a hype-killer for the main event. Something that tells you like, “Chill. We got you covered.” 

But fuck this shit, that looked like a more of a bathroom break either. You barely wish this match happened earlier, right? It’s not kinda fair to put earlier in place of the US title because that’s actually a strategy for people to patronize the program itself. Imagine if all title matches were putted out there. That might make the pre-show nothing but garbage.

And, that, by the way served as a prelude to a minor story soon!

Verdict: 3.9

The main event proved something, like how Roman Reigns, though poised to win the game and take away the title from Triple H, was not the same Roman Reigns we knew from early 2014 and late 2015. Heck, even Dean Ambrose showed how things should be done against Brock Lesnar. That looked like a higher and honorable prize than clashing with Hunter for Mania.

Quite funny how Ambrose wanted to hit Lesnar with a German suplex. A comical twist on how their feud unfolds during the match.

But puns aside, this should have been Roman’s first breakout game, but with the two scuffling their shits on each other, it’s like he was literally taken out of equation.

Oh, I get it. He and Ambrose displayed shades of The SHIELD when they double powerbombed Lesnar to announce tables. Not one, but two announce tables! But that’s teamwork. Aside from that, the juggernaut was neturalized by Dean most of the time.

And as for the finish, I would understand if he chased off Lesnar and pin him at the end. That will prove hos Roman can beat -- and had beaten Brock Lesnar. Maybe because the Beast Incarnate was totally tamed by those chair shots by Dean; thus, a complimenting account on setting up a chapter for Mania.

Verdict: 6.5

Roman might have won the game. And that exhibited what Fastlane was all about. The problem, for the next six weeks (or shorter, as of writing time), he has to be likened to that kind of image when he and HHH squared off come WrestleMania time.

Somehow, the event ran well, especially at the first two hours. Maybe, the imbalance of the cards have screwed the evening. But on a bigger picture, WWE Fastlane was on its second installment. Give them a break.

And also, Roman.

The Verdict: 7.3

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

The Scene Around: Racc!oon

2/27/2016 7:39:47 PM

After a successful charity nightout four months ago, Mika Ordonez and her friends is back for another gig; with a bigger venue, heavier lineup, and a legitimate identity.

They are now called Raccoon Productions, and they debuted with formality and emphasis as they called their first gig RACC!OON!: A Charity Gig for Kythe Foundation.

Held on a Friday night (22 January 2016) at Route 196 in Quezon City, Racc!oon drew a typical soldout outing as they were able to raise funds enough to cover the expenses for their sponsored child named Ariana Soriano.

The four-year old beneficiary, whom hailed from Tarlac, is suffering from Acute Lymphocytic Leukemia; but already had been undergoing her main chemotherapy cycles and will be on the verge of having two maintenance cycles which will run for two years.

Eight bands graced the evening: M.I.C., Indigo Sweep, Ang Bandang Shirley, Lions and Acrobats, Odayo, Jensen and The Flips, Tom’s Story and Flying Ipis. 

In all the acts I have heard before, a debuting M.I.C. actually sounded new to me; as well as Odayo and Indigo Sweep. While the rest were instant crowd-drawers, specifically the math rock band whose then-about to launch their album in three years of existence. 

Yes, Tom’s Story literally rocked the house down. Who am I not to remember that after seeing almost all spaces of the indoor Route being occupied? Damn good!

The night turned out so well for the debuting production firm as they had 300 paying customers and collated a total of Php 83,000 on donation, enough to cover the needed expenditures on Ariana’s way to recovery. 

To read more about the Racc!oon Productions, check out the article by Radio Republic. Also the ways to donate will be also seen there.

Indigo Sweep 
M.I.C.
Tom's Story 
Odayo
Lions and Acrobats 
Ang Bandang Shirley 
Flying Ipis 
Jensen and The Flips
Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Friday, 26 February 2016

The Scene Around: Pour Out What’s Special

2/25/2016 4:58:58 PM



It’s been an evening comprised of sweetening taste buds, eargasm, and beautiful aesthetics as Novellino Wines, together with Docdef Productions and Fringe MNL brought you Pour Out What’s Special.

Fourteen musicians rocked the house down with delectable tunes to spice up the evening as Valentine’s Day approached by. Along the way, various visual artists flaunted their precious masterpieces on a gallery inside the winery; plus photography exhibits from young photographers Gab Pili and Darzi Pinga and live mural art made by Cinos and Doom.





Also, people were treated at the acoustic set outside where several balladeers serenade away on a breezy, lovely atmospheric night.



The Modern Playground jazzed up the stage as they kicked off Pour Out What’s Special. Coeli San Luis and The Benjamins followed suit with a sultry mixture of strings. Perhaps a refreshing start as the sun goes down.

The Modern Playground
Coeli San Luis X The Benjamins 
TheSunManager, Alasmedya, and Reese Lansangan graced the evening with bunch of their indie-pop acoustics; thus, setting a different vibrant inside the venue: slow and chill. 

Alasmedya

TheSunManager (Photograph taken by Jemaima Robles)
Reese Lansangan (Photograph taken by Jemaima Robles)
As we hit midway through the evening, things are gradually rising as Fools and Foes, Banna Harbera MilesExperience, Tom’s Story, and Farewell Fair Weather spiced them up further with their delectable tunes of indie folk, pop alternative, math rock, and various combinations of genres and angst-defiant lyrical work.

Banna Harbera
MilesExperience
Tom's Story
Farewell Fair Weather
While the night’s getting late, The Ransom Collective just get this party started as they play their high-vibrant kind of indie folk pop. Sud, on the other hand, jazzed up the sexy way with live tracks of their own; and Jensen and The Flips served the hottest music to date as they delivered various kinds of pop alternative, sending the audience into an instant moshpit session.


The Ransom Collective
SUD
Jensen and The Flips... with the big bang ending called 'confetti.'


With the turnout of the event, Pour Out What’s Special proved that art forms and social drinking can sit well with each other as the Philippine-made wide and the Philippine local indie scene have one thing in common: made out of great quality.

And with the advent of the demographics a the indie scene where the younger generation are quite indulged with it’s not that hard to see the convergence of wine, arts and music having a beautiful outcome; thus, resulting into a unique-but-great event.




Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

West (and Kobe) FTW For the Nth Time!

2/27/2016 1:35:12 AM

Will not do some sort of game review for the 2016 NBA All Star Game. Well, I just been catching up with that thanks to an episode of NBA Action aired on Basketball TV. At least, for all we know, this will be a farewell mid-season exhibition for the Lakers superstar Kobe Bryant. In fact, the guard-forward did the jumpball as opposed to his levelled counterpart LeBron James of the Cleveland Cavaliers.

And as far as the recap is concerned, this clearly a take-over for the young uprisers. Oh, you’re gonna argue that Russell Westbrook was already way past mid-decade in the league? Hey, give the guy a break. He has the shades (even a bit) of the veteran’s explosiveness. 

But perhaps save the first quarter bucket to be a classical finish. Yes, with a friendly roll.

Now, they shattered records on scoring; just like any other past All Star games. Imagine the winning team scoring the highest ever with 196. Paul George came close to at east level himself with the late Wilt Chamberlain with a game-high 41. Perhaps, Coach Gregg Popovich checked him on defense to at least save the record from falling apart. (Why, Pop?!)

But nonetheless, All-Star Game won’t be the same for Bryant, who made 18 ASG appearances in over 20-year career. Indeed, a celebrated one for the Black Mamba.

Other than that, that shows which continent is the most dominant. All that despite having more number, and an even more evident of player changes among the entire roster. At the end, the Western conference is still at the top of the NBA. 

No doubt about it.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

EDSA After 30 Years... Anyare?

2/25/2016 1:29:55 PM

Tatlong dekada na mula noong nangyari ang isa sa mga malalaking kaganapan sa ika-20 siglo, ang people power revolution na naganap sa EDSA, o ang tinatawag na Epifanio Delos Santos Avenue. Imagine mo na nagmartsa ang mararaming tao mula sa magkakaibang sektor ng lipunan, upang ipaglaban ang demokrasya ng bansa laban sa diktadurya ng yumaong dating Pangulo Ferdinand Marcos.

Pero naupo na si Corazon Aquino mula noong Pebrero 25, 1986. Sinundan ito ng mga administrasyon nila Ramos (1992), Estrada (1998), Arroyo (2001), at ang kayang anak na si Benigno Noynoy Aquino III.

At thirty years na mula noong EDSA People Power revolution. Ano na nga ba ang nangyari?

May mga mall na. Halos kada major area pa nga e, hindi nasususnod sa bisyon ng isang tycoon na halos apat na kilometro kada mall. Maliban dun, may mga kaliwa’t kanang mga gusali rin. Kaya nga naman nuknukan na rin ng traffic lalo na pag may sale.

Thirty years after EDSA Revolution. Anyare na?

Dahil traffic sa mga kalsada, traffic rin sa mga daan. Kung hindi makipot ang mga sidewalk, pila naman ang naabot sa mga istayson. May MRT ka nga, pero ang dami ng mga sumasakay rito, tumataas to the extend na inaabot na hanggang sa mga sidewalk minsan ang mga pila.

At aanhin mo ang MRT kung mataapos ang isa’t kalahating dekada ay para na ring isang uri ng basura na rin naman ito.... Nabubulok?

Thirty years after EDSA. Anyare?

Traffic na sa sasakyan, traffic pa sa pasahero. Ano pang aasahan mo? Namumura lang ang EDSA. Nagiging isa sa mga pangunahing kinaiinisan ng mga mananakay ang EDSA. “Tangina mo, EDSA!” daw. Ang traffic mo daw kasi.

Teka. Kawawa naman si Mang Panyong, ano? Ano bang kasalanan ng dakilang histoiran na naging direktor ng National Library at gobernador ng Nueva Ecija sa inyo?

Matraffic ba? Bakit hindi mo isisi sa mga bwakananginang mga tsuper na walang disiplina sa kalye? Hindi lang bus ang may hanay ng mga tarantado, pati mga nasa private vehicle driver din. Akala mong nagmamalinis e ungas lang din naman pala. Mahilig mag-cut sa mga linyang hindi dapat tine-take. Oo, pati yellow lang, sasakupin mo. Siraulo pala to e.

Tas may balak pa kayong ipangalan ito sa Cory Aquino Ave.? Mahiya naman kayo ‘oy. Siguro kung 19 de Hunio pa ang pamagat ng kalsadang ito, baka nanggagaliti ka pa kay Rizal (siyempre, birhtday nya yan e). O pag Highway 54, baka mapataka ka kung asaaan ang 1-53 and 55-beyond.

Thirty years after people power revolution. Anyare??

Imagine mo ang kaburatan ng mga tao noon at ngayon. Oo, nakipaglaban ka nga para maiwaksi ang karahasan ng rehimeng Marcos. Pero matapos ang limang administrasyon, nasaan na nga ba tayo? Nasaan na ba ang diwa na minan nating pinaglaban?

Ayun, sa sobrang laya natin, wala na tayong kinikilalalng pamahalaan. Weh, ang nakaupo sa atin? Pucha, tiwali rin e. Bagamat masasabing hindi gaya ng kahasulan ng pamahalaan noon, e hindi naman lahat ng batas ay sinusunod natin e.

Nanantili na lang bang highway ang lahat ng bagay na ni-revolt natin noon? Huwag naman sana, ano. Saka isa pa: kung alam mong maraming dadaaan, huwag naman sanang isinasara ang kalsada.

Ah, dahil minsan lang sa isang taon i-celebrate? Pucha, mahalaga nga ang pag-alala sa ganyan. Pero alin ang mas mahalaga? Yung kalsandang madadaan na walang inconvenience sa mayorya, o yung kaganapan na minsan ay ipinagdiriwang na may halong pulitika, sa halip na maging isang kultural na kaganapan.

Yan napapala ng kasaysayan e. Mga nagwawagi lang ang nagsusulat, kaya nababahiran rin ito ng pamumulitika.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Tuesday, 23 February 2016

Give Ipis A Chance to Fly High at SXSW 2016!

02/24/2016 01:01:59 PM

Photo from their Facebook page

For once, I heard their name as a plain innocent soul who knew nothing yet. And at the time I hit the music on the bar scene, I realized it's no surprise they literally rock everyone. Why did I say so?

'Cause I'm a fan. All that despite having a name which neutralizes every single “tunay na lalake.” (pun intended though)

Barely two months ago, this band of femme fatale-swaggin' punk rockers named Flying Ipis announced on their Facebook page about earning a slot to perform at South by Southwest Festival 2016 (SXSW), one of the biggest festivals in the US featuring music, film, and interactive media. It will be held at Austin, Texas on 11-20 March 2016.

Perhaps all their hardwork, from their all-girl Catholic school roots to the biggest stage, paid off big time. Imagine how the music of this all-girl quartet of Deng Garcia (vocals), Ymi Castel (lead guitars), Gaki Azurin (drums), and Tanya Singh (bass guitar) earned them two records (The Flying EP in 2009 and Give Ipis A Chance, in 2011), acclaimed singles (Ssikreto, Past is Past, Bitch!, Lundagin Mo, Beybi!, and This Song Is Not About You), and massive respect from the peers and fans.

They fronted for several international acts Japandroids and Metric; as well as sharing the stage with other music-makers on the grandest gigs like Fete Dela Musique, Oktoberfest, JACK TV Mad Fest, and Jack Daniel's Indie Fest; and emerging as the runner-up to the JD On Stage Indie Music Awards on 17 April 2015.

That being said, they are needing funds—approximately four hundred thousand pesos—to get them there at Texas; that's in addition to their needed visa and related paper works! And they are doing it on a series of gigs for this stretch here at the metro.

As of this writing, Flying Ipis launched their campaign via “Pledge Night” at 12 Monkeys Music Hall and Pub in Makati City. Along the way, Read Between The Lions, The Buildings, Squid 9, and Slow Hello shared the evening to provide good music and much-needed support.

And by tonight, they will rock Makati once again as they staged B-Side for the fund-raising gig organized by Locked Down Entertainment, Vandals on the Wall, and Jack Daniel's Philippines; with a lot of acts to keep the night (and kickstart the Holiday Thursday) away such as Farewell Fair Weather, RJay Ty and Abra, Imago, Cheats, Assembly Generals, Peryodiko, We Are Imaginary, and Paranoid City joining them.

And just before they cross coast, there will be a send-off gig at SaGuijo by early March. (lineup to be announced.)

For more information, check out the crowdfunding site artisteconnect.com and see how you can help the quartet reach US and rock the SXSW stage. Aside from corporate sponsorships, there are also Flying Ipis merchandise available at a very affordable pirce, including a shirt designed by Rob Cham!

For other updates, check out their Tumblr page!

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Chismax Overload (v. 2016)

2/23/2016 9:05:57 PM

Tama na. Sobra na. Oo, alam ko, tunog-pakikibaka lang. 

Pero tangina naman oh. Isang linggo na ang nakalilipas, di pa rin kayo makaget over sa usapan? Ano ba meron sa opinyon ni Pacquiao at ganun na lang kayo nanggagagaliti sa galit?

Ah, masahol daw kasi sa hayop. Ikaw naman kasi e. Nakakaloka ka, kuya. Bakit mo naman ikukumpara kasi ang kahasolan ng tao sa hayop padating sa usapang same sex marriage? Mali nga naman yun kahit sabihin mo pa na nagsasabi ka lang nga totoo ayon sa mga nababasa mo sa Bibliya. (Baka nga kwestiyunable pa yan sa mata ng ilan, teolohista man o kontra.)

Ah, di naman yun daw ang eksaktong sinabi e, Putol lang daw yung video. Hindi raw yan yung kabuuang interview kay Manny Paccquiao sa usaping same sex marriage. Ahh sa madaling sabi, ang gago din ng media no? Pinapalki ang isang isyu, ke malalim man o mababaw; basta kilala sa lipunan ang nagsasalita.

Pero ano nga bang kinagagalit ng mga ito? E di ba nanghingi na ng tawad si Pacquiao, di ba? Bakit may mga nagagalit pa rin? Hindi makaget-over? Nasaktan ng sobra-sobra?

Well, of course lahat naman kasi ng tao ay may kanya-kanyang tolerance pagdating sa mga sakit na nadarama, pisikal man o emosyonal. At sa usapin ng same sex marriage, gender equality, at lalo na sa pagtingin sa LGBT bilang mga kapwa tao gaya ng mga straight na male at female na specie, wala na kasi tayo sa medeival ages na kung saan ay napakalupit ng lipunan sa mga tao; kung saan dapat ay naayon ka sa antas ng mga kabao mo. Sa madaling sabi, panahon rin para sa karamihan na ng mga OC, perfectionist, o sa pinakarealistikong termino, conservative. 

Saka isa pa, masyadong nakakalokang argumento ang mga scripture ng relihiyon. Kung ganun, lalo na sa Lumang Tipan, baka magulat ka na lahat (kung hindi man lahat) ng mga kilos na taliwas sa pananampalataya ng Kristiyanismo ay may kaakibat na kaparusahan na maglalagay sa iyo sa kamatayan. At naiba lamang yata ito sa Bagong Tipan.

Kitam mo, mas barbaro pa nga ang mga tao noon. Oo, noong panahon na nagsisimula pa lang mapalaganap ang pinakapopuladong relihiyon sa mundo. Kaya noon pa lang, uso na ang hipokrasiya.

At hindi malabong sa panahon ngayon ay naririyan pa rin ang mga ganyang tao. Makikita mo na lang yan sa Internet, lalo na sa mga gaya ng Facebook. Mga banal na aso, santong kabayo, ika nga ng bandang Yano. Tangina, nakikipagtalo, nanunumbat sa ibang mga ordinaryo’t troll na user sa sikat na social networing site. Tas sasamahan pa kayo ng mga berso sa banal na aklat.

Kaya nga mula kila Ira Panganiban hanggang ay Jessica Zafra, ay kanya-kanyang kuro-kuro na ang mga tao, na nauuwi sa matindi’t nakakalokang gulo sa cyberspace.

Hoy! Huwag niyo ngang haluan ng relihiyon ang usapin na yan. Ang problema kasi dito ay ang same sex marriage ay hindi nga tanggap ng simbahan; pero ang pakikibaka naman nila ay wala naman kinalaman sa relihiyon kung tutuusin. Para ito sa legalidad. Para matanggap din sila gaya ng mga paobirot niyong love team sa primetime tv. At hindi para i-diskrimina ng mga mapaghusgang tanga na gaya niyo.

At yan ang problema kung imbinsibol ang tinatawag na separation of church and state. Kalokohan ang pag-isahin sila na ayon sa pahayag ni Pacquiao. Dahil nga may alintuntunin na dapat nagsasaad sa ganyan. Kung tutuusin, parang relihiyon ang gobyerno ng estad at para ding gobyerno ang relihiyon. At sa konteksto ng mga paksyon sa Pilipinas, may pagkakapareho sila: nagiging negosyo sila..

Pero mukhang tapos na rin dapat ang isyu na ito e. Nagsorry na ang mama. May ilang grupo naman na nappektuhan ang tinanggap ang kanyang pagkakamali.

Sana nga lang, tayo ay makamove on na rin. Kasi sa panahon na nagaaksya ka ng laway at brain cells kakadada sa isyu na yan, marami ang nangangamba sa digmaan sa gitnang silangan. At andun rin ang ilang kababayan mo. Nakakasira na nang bait ang nangyayari sa sarili mong bansa, what more pa kaya ang planetang kinasasadlakan mo ngayon?

Sa panahon na nakikipag-talastasan ka sa mga idiota sa social media, marami naman ang nagiging usapin sa eleksyon, bagay na dapat mas pakialaman mo dahil ang boto mo ang posibleng makatulong sa isang pagbabago.

Sa panahon na nakikipagduelo ka ng salita ukol sa isang malamyang pagputak ng pambansang kamao, marami ang nagugutom, humuhugot at nababagot sa internet connection. Hoy, maliban sa pangalawa basic right ng tao ang tinutukoy ko riyan no.

Ay, Jadine, sila na?

E pucha, ano naman ngayon?!

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Tuesday, 16 February 2016

Hayop!

02/17/2016 02:37:43 PM

bbci.co.uk
Parang kahayupan lang ang nangyaring usapan kahapon ah.

Masahol raw sa hayop ang sinumang nakikipagrelasyon sa isang tao na kapareho nila ng kasarian, ayon yan kay Manny Pacquiao. At sino nga ba ulit siya? Isang kilalang boksingero na naging isang host sa telebisyon, pastor at pulitiko.

Alam ko: napakasolido ang pananaw ni Pacquiao sa usapang same-sex marriage: ayaw. Hindi gusto.

Pero kailangan ba itong ikumpara sa isang asal ng masahol at sa isang nilalang na gaya ng hayop? Oo, mas masahol daw ba kesa sa mga hayop?

Sablay na analohiya dala ng maling pagpili ng mga sasabihin na salita. At higit sa lahat, patunay kung ano ang kulang kay Pacquiao: hindi lang karanasan, kundi rinutak. Hindi kasi lahat ng bagay ay nadadaan sa popularidad at pera para magtagumpay. Mayaman na pulitko ka nga. Sikat ka. Ayos, binoto ka ng marami. Ngunit sapat nga ba ang basehan na yan? Baka ng basic o common sense (at least) sa ganyan ay medyo kinulang pa ata. Yan ay kung ite-trace pa ang mga nadokumentong panayam sa kanya.

At hindi rin pala siya umaattend ng sesyon? Dahil ba sa training? Pero sapat bang dahilan yun para umattend ka lang sa 16th congress nang apat na beses (oo, 4 na beses lang!) tas mantakin mong vice chairman ka pa ng isang kumite at maraming nakaatas na responsibilidad na nasa'yo na pinasa sa kapwa kongresista mo? Tsk, tsk.

Ay, dahil blinded siya by faith? Ganun ba? Patay tayo dyan. Ang hirap pa naman kapag ang combo na 'to ang nagiging laman ng usapan. As in mahirap makipagtalo sa tao pag ang usapan ay relihiyon o moralidad. Tas mahirap din makipagtalo sa kanila kung madaldal (bagamat hindi naman lahat ng tao—lalo na sa myembro ng third sex—ay magkakauri at all pagdating sa asta at ugali).

Kaya masisisi mo ba kung hindi sila mabadtrip, hindi lang dahil sa kabilang sila sa 3rd sex o LGBT community na nasaktan, kundi dahil para mo na ring piansaringan ang sangkatauhan.

Teka, kung blinded by faith, siguro naman natuto na siya sa kanyang kamalian noon: ang pakikiapid. Oo, yan ay kung pagiging imoral at masahol-pa-sa-hayop ang usapan. So, quits lang pala tayong mga tao kung ganun, ano po, Manny?

Well, turns out na naging one-day riot ang lahat. Humingi ng paumanhin si Pacman sa lahat ng nasaktan.

Kahit na natapyasan ng matindi ang mga follower niya sa Twitter (oo, mula dalawang milyon ay 9 na libo na lamang sila). Sana nga lang hindi siya matanggalan ng husto ng endorsement, ano po? Mula sa mga brand na nagpe-premium sa kanyang mga laban hanggangsa apparel na kanyang sinusuot. Tingin ko hindi naman baba ang sales ng NIKE e no, lalo na sa Zalora?

Ngunit ang epekto nito ay mukhang mahaba-habang panahon na pag-uusapan, unless gumawa ulit ng isang matimbang na ambush interview ang media na mageexpose na naman sa mga nakakalokang statement ng sinumang tatakbo ngayong eleksyon.

Maaring sensationalized ang isyu. Given. Maaring ginawa nating national item ang kapalpakan ni Manny sa pagbibitaw ng salita. Given. At alam rin natin na kikita ang media sa pagpuna ng mga mali sa lipunan—malaki man o maliit na bagay.

Given.
Pero patunay lamang yan na kung gaano rin tayo katanga pagdating sa pagpili ng iboboto natin. See what happens when you vote a popular but no-brainer in the government? Ngayon ba ay alam mo na kung anong klaseng pamahalaan ang mabubuo natin kapag sikat lang—kahit walang laman, at mapera lang—ang mga andyan sa iyong harapan at nanliligaw sa iyong matamis na pag-itim ng bilog/pagsulat ng kaniulang pangalan sa balota? 

Hayop sa astig, di ba?

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Monday, 15 February 2016

You're banned!

02/15/2016 04:44:18 PM 
Interaksyon
See what happens when you mess with a wrong guy? Ask him.
Imagine a sudden decision called out by a top sports official on one of its employee. It's like watching at a scene where one gets fired in such a humiliating manner. Or at the context of sports — with a flavor of entertainment — it's like Vincent Kennedy McMahon or her daughter Stephanie going irate and shouting “YOU'RE FIIIIIRRREEEEDD!” to anyone who dared to stand on their way (but of course, professional wrestling way too different from professional basketball).

It looked like a simple highlight clip on YouTube; for over two minutes, it appeared like a normal temperamental moment on the court. But not until the commissioner has stepped on the court and confronted Ivan Johnson, an reinforcement player for the Talk 'N Text Tropang Texters last Saturday afternoon at the PhilSports Arena in Pasig City.

And that resulted into the most harshest penalty ever set by the sports league executive — a lifetime band plus a hefty fine of Php 250,000.

So it's like you lost already a lot of money because you haven't even finished a single regular conference game at the country. Not even you reached halftime right there.

Spur-of-the-moment are the best worst words to describe this shenanigan at all. Who in the right frame of mind would do that at all? This republic's ain't Martial Law or an on-the-spot crime scene where citizen arrest is an applicable neutralizer.

Okay, I get it. He had done it a lot of times. From a basketball league in Korea in 2007, to the NBA 2008 (Atlanta Hawks, to be exact). But heck, as much as he garnered accolades, he's still human after all. Perhaps, he may be an underrated version of what has been a guy known as Renaldo Balkman.

And maybe, on his recent bye-bye stint with the Philippines, the import who powered TNT to the '15 Commisioner's Cup title, was figured out onto array of mishaps. He was part of a brawl in a pre-season game at Moro Lorenzo Gym and fined Php 50,000 plus a one-game suspension as a result.

And after years of having series of unbecoming actions towards a player, game official, and even a fan, looks like he messed up big time with a sports executive. No wonder why PBA commissioner Chito Narvasa turned on his “trigger-happy” self by firing him out of the league. Yes, both literally and figuratively.

That's what you get, Ivan. Well, as Kume said (though of course, not by any literal means). Though it may appear like he got entangled on two flagrant fouls—which automatically merits technical fouls at all and contesting them—sent him packing out of sight... and even out of mind.

But the question: is there really a due process about this incident? Not even count as a tough love, brother. Some would even tell the guy should enroll himself on anger management classes.

Perhaps, a 'fuck' word, in his eyes, was barely enough to merit a hellish-slash-just punishment, whatever you believe in.

Though honestly, he deserved the punishment. That was a huge disrespect to the authority, no matter how we think of the current cheiftain.

But certainly, due process wasn't there. It's like an instant basic principle of Newton's Law of Motion but was driven at the fast lane. Like an instant suspension ala special delivery. And to think that Narvasa was involved into array of 'popular and unpopular' decisions to run the PBA, including the banning the notable sports beat journalist Snow Badua out of the league—and even warned all personalities involved that there will be consequences should they talk to the blacklisted reporter.

Also, the sudden confrontation incident with Dondon Hontiveros. How crap is that?

Yes, just like that.

Ain't those impulsive calls an enough basis for him to earn some massive calls on his resignation from the post? 

Saturday, 13 February 2016

Valentine’s Day Na! E Ano Ngayon?! (v. 2016)

2/11/2016 10:22:32 PM

For the nth time, Valentine’s Day na naman. Araw ng mga puson, este, puso. Araw ng mga nagmamahalan. Araw ng mga naglalandian -- ay, nagmamahalan ba? Sorry -- na mga magsyota; habang araw naman ng kabitteran ito sa mga single. Oo, Single Awareness Day daw sa kanila. Ang SAD no?

Eh ano naman ngayon? 2016 na, hindi ka pa rin nagsasawa na magrant bout Valentines Day?! Bitter O’Tampo ka talaga e no? 

Mali, mga tanga lang talaga kayo para manghusga kagad.

Oo, Valentine’s Day na nga. 2016 na nga! E panay kalandian/”pagmamahal” pa rin yang inaatupag mo samantalang nananatiling wapakels ka pa rin sa mga nangyayari sa bansa. Hindi mo ba napapansin na baka nililigawan na rin yang jowa mo ng pulitikong tumatakbo ngayong eleksyon? Aba, kung gusto niyong bumuo ng future ng jowa niyo, aba magseryoso din kayo sa pagmamahal sa bayan, ano po?!

Valentine’s Day Na! E Ano Ngayon?

Maliban sa talamak ang bentahan ng mga bulaklak, tsokolate at ultimo ang condom at pills, good luck na lang kasi sigurado -- kung bihira -- na walang bagsakang presyo ang magaganap dyan. Malamang, dyan papasok ang komersyalismo. 

At yan ang problema sa araw na yan. Nadadala ang iba sa ganyang klaseng konsepto. Hindi ka ba nagtataka kung bakit kadalasan ay puno ang mga lugar gaya ng magagarang hotel, motel, restaurant, at ultimong mga sinehan, bar at mall? 

Pero espesyal ang valentine’s day e. Talaga lang ha? Para sa mga taong nagmamahalan, bawat araw ay espesyal. Punyeta. Kalokohan. Ginawan niyo lang ng titulo ang araw na parang ang dating ay pag ordinaryong araw ay ang hindi niyo tinatrato ang mga syota/asawa niyo ng mas espesyal? E paano yung mga minanamahal nilang anak, o magulang, o kaibigan, o dili naman kaya’s malalapit na kamag-anak?

Parang unfair naman ata. Hindi yata kayo nanood ng mga gaya ng All You Need is Pag-ibig eh. Hindi lang naman romatiko ang iisang kahulugan ng pagmamahal at relasyon.

Besides, kung para sa ilan ay Valentine’s Day ang panahon para makipagtalik sa kanilang iniirog, ‘nyeta. Parang hindi niyo ginagawa yan sa panahong nag-iinit kayo ah, o noong nagha-noneymoon kayo. Ahh, dahil espesyal daw. Asus, mas espesyal pa nga yata yung panahon na nakabuo kayo sa isang random steamy night kesa naman sa V-day mismo na kaya niyo lang ginagawa yan dahil uso. At baka nga nase-stress pa kayo dahil sa pilang naghihintay na makapag-check in.

Umayos nga kayo, ‘oy.

Maiintindihan ko pa kung ang espesyal na kaganapan sa araw na ito ay yug mga konsyerto e. Lalo na kung isang metal na banda na tutugtog ng mga love songs na para bang hindi nila yun istilo ng tunog. E kung panay mga balladero at balladera lang naman ang kakanta na para bang nililigawan kayo. 

Hindi na bago yan e. Maiba naman, please? 

Besides, ang Valentine’s Day ngayon ay papatak ng araw ng linggo. Kaya kung relihiyoso ka, magsimba ka naman. Magdasal kahit saglit lang. Oo, unahin mo muna ang Dakilang Maylikha kesa sa makamundong pagnanasa mo sa kasintahan mo. Bawas-bawas din ng kasalanan pag may time.

At kung hindi ka naman relihiyoso, suhestiyon ko sa’yo ay wag kang magdrama kung single ka at dateless. Potek, sa isang araw lang ba tayo dapat makaranas ng feeling special? Na dapat ay maide-date tayo E pucha pwede mo naman gawin sa kahit anong araw yan e. Anak ng tipaklong naman oh.

At ang Valentine’s Day ay parang araw na ordinaryo man, ssadyang may titulo, o napaka-espesyal lang... Lilipas din yan. Kaya tangina, tigil-tigilan mo ang kadramahan na ganyan. 

Sa ikauunlad ng bayan, huwag mag-Valentine’s Day kung ikaw ay sadyang nakikiuso lang. Magkakalat lang ang basura sa paligid. Baka nga yang bulaklak na inalay mo sa kanya ay malalanta lang din kinabukasan na para bang bagong hain na pagkain -- napapanis din.

Valentine’s Day Na! E Ano Ngayon?!

Tangina. 

Tigil-tiglan mo nga pagiging Breezy. Mag-aral ka nga... Na umbig nang tama at hindi ang umibig nang tanga. Punyeta, kaya hindi umuunlad ang Pilipinas e!

Author: slickaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Wednesday, 10 February 2016

Upcoming: Pour Out What's Special

02/11/2016 12:37:51 PM

Author's note: From the small-scaled gigs to the big-time concerts, indie music firm Docdef Productions seemed they had done it all, (if not almost all) eh? Well, perhaps we should think again as the 2015 Jack Daniels On Stage Philippine Prod of the Year awardee is up for another night to remember—and a romantic one—as Valentines' Day approaches nearby. And it's not just a night of lovely music, but for wine and arts, too!

Attached in this post is the official press release of an event called Pour Out What's Special.

Love is in the air this February and it’s high time to find the perfect spot to celebrate. From the makers of the Philippine’s No. 1 wine, Novellino Wines, and the producers of Tagaytay Art Beat and In D’Flow, Docdef Productions, in cooperation with Fringe Manila, proudly brings you “Pour Out What’s Special”, a pre-Valentines experience, a perfect alternative date for couples and a hot spot for singles. Join us as we dress to impress for an evening of music, fine wines and tantalizing visual arts.

The stage will be set this February 13, 2016 in the beautiful Novellino winery, Bel Mondo Italia. At present, Novellino Wines has international reach, spanning from Northern California to Vietnam and Dubai, an instant hit anywhere there is a conglomeration of Filipinos. But nothing beats having success at home, where Novellino Wines is now actively taking part in supporting the local arts and music scene. No romantic night on the town would be complete without wine and good conversation. Novellino Wines will amp up the glitz with tastings of their entire lineup of wine. Music, art, a glorious ambiance and fine wine; a complete recipe for romance and enjoyment.

Pour Out What’s Special will have an array of musical performances for you to enjoy. On the main stage, you will be romanced by an amazing line up of Manila’s best Indie music acts: From headline-ready favorites (Farewell Fair Weather, The Ransom Collective) to sensual jazz-soul crooners (Jensen and the Flips, Sud, Miles Experience and Banna Harbera), from accomplished young singer-songwriters (Reese Lansangan, Coeli San Luis, The Benjamins TheSunManager and Alasmedya) to indie upstarts (Fools and Foes, Tom’s Story and The Modern Playground). Also gracing the intimate garden stage will be acoustic artists: Neala Medina, Paolo Mallari, MCO, Gideon, JR of Alasmedya, and more. Pour Out What’s Special gives you a full-fledged quality music experience that goes beyond form and style, completing the quota of a romantic serenade.

Pour Out What’s Special will also expose you to different genres of art ranging from Classical to Realism, Romanticism and Expressionism styles. What can be more romantic than experiencing bourgeoisie art as well as LIVE contemporary Graffiti by Cinos and Doom and chalk art by Kate Quebrar and Gnarly Dork!

DOCDEF Productions is known for its initiative to champion the diversity of independent local music. Pour Out What’s Special is their third out of town production, an experience you, your friends and your significant other wouldn’t want to miss. The Bel Mondo Italia Winery is one of the largest, if not the largest wine-producing facility in ASIA. It is located at Progress Avenue, Carmelray, Industrial Park 1, Canlubang, Calamba, Laguna.

Pour Out What’s Special starts at around 2:00 PM on February 13, 2016. Ticket prices are at Php 600 per piece but you can get a special discount if you get the couple-package for only Php 1000. Aside from getting access to the whole event, everyone will get 2 glass of wine for FREE as you enjoy the concert! TICKETS ARE LIMITED so we highly encourage everyone to buy tickets in advance to ensure entrance to the event.

For the latest updates visit Novellinowines.com. Tag us using #PourOutWhatsSpecial

---

Author's Note #2: In addition to this, the organizers Novellino Windes and Docdef Productions had a pre-show at the Brewery at the Palace three weeks ago. Coeli San Luis, The Benjamins, Dearest, , MCO, The Modern Playground and MilesExperience graced the night of what has been a teaser of what will be happening this coming Saturday.

And that being said, another one will be take place tonight at the same venue, with Banna Harbera, Jensen and The Flips, MCO, Reese Lansangan, SUD, and Tom's Story playing.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Tuesday, 9 February 2016

No! No! No!!!

2/9/2016 7:44:34 PM

I first saw him at the very first show by the time I get back to the profession wrestling scene, WrestleMania 28. He was then the World Heavyweight Champion and acting as AJ Lee’s girlfriend. And after a sealed kiss, and 18 seconds, he lost his gold to the brogue kick of the Celtic Warrior named Sheamus.

And just like that, it was the shortest wrestling match I had ever seen. Holy... Oh, wait. It was Holy Tuesday evening when I watched WM28 on Studio 23, so I should shut my mouth.

Look, I am not a fan of this guy. But I can’t help but to share my sentiment (at least, a bit) upon his sudden decision to hang up sneakers and not take part of the squared circle anymore. 

Is this an angle, as The Fanboy SEO sees it? We wish. But the fact that everyone in the roster gave their short tributes to Bryan Danielson seems very serious. (Yes, kayfabe was officially stripped at this point.)

Look, I only managed to catch Daniel Bryan’s last few years with the WWE. And even if I started my not give me new religion habit of following WWE stories -- (the Authority era), it did not give me a guarantee spot that I knew everything. Heck, I didn’t even know he teamed up with Kane until I watched The SHIELD’s debut match in TLC event on 2012.

The only thing I knew about this guy is that from “Hell No,” he transformed the WWE into another landscape, and wrote another chapter for the Authority -- that is the “YES!” movement. 

All I also knew is that SummerSlam 2013 was supposed to be his highlight reel when he defeated John Cena at the evening’s main event to win the WWE championship. That until Randy Orton stole the belt from him in an instant. Somehow, looking at one side, face-vs.-face at the main event? Come on! Sure, people may hate WWE for doing a screwjob there; but looking at the bigger picture, this is just the beginning of Daniel Bryans rocky road to supremacy.

His rivalry with Orton went on for months, until thee product hit a sudden swerve -- unifying the WWE and World Heavyweight titles, and The Wyatt Family’s emergence as one of the heel factions. Bryan’s feud with Bray Wyatt worked so well, that it was perhaps an almost perfect timing to put him back at the title picture (while obviously, carrying the much-younger Wyatt over).

It appeared another botch as Batista thwarted an emerging Roman Reigns out of the way to become the winner of the 2014 Royal Rumble. Perhaps, unconsciously hitting a proverbial wall on how do they put Bryan as what he was supposed to.

But along the way, the then-upcoming turn of events became an interesting pieces of the picture on how DB got back into the frame. Certainly, it looked like the finished didn’t turned well in favor of the people at the Royal Rumble and Elimination Chamber; but WrestleMania XXX became his pinnacle of success. 


Imagine this guy wrestled on two matches -- and not just against two, but three guys -- in a single evening? Perhaps the timing gave both Bryan and Triple H a much needed breather, fatigue-wise speaking considering WrestleMania runs or four hours annually. 

That being said, I picked his PPV participation as my favorite Daniel Bryan moment. Imagine turning the Super Bowl of sports entertainment into his own Yes-tlemania for that fateful evening of 6 April 2014, at the 75,167-attended Mercedes Benz Superdowme in New Orleans.



However, it was quite unfortunate that his post-WM XXX era was not the fitting sequel to everything he had fought for. Sure, he won the Intercontinental championship the next year. But it’s quite obvious of a sign of aging. 

Perhaps, 16 years at the business was a very long run. And to think that this sport -- though may have its planned plot -- is still a dangerous one in anyone’s eyes. It’s no joke to jump high, do those action star-like stunts, and take massive bumps; while getting injuries along your body in the process.

Sadly, the Yes! Movement may have come to an end, but definitely it and served well in every recent wrestling fan’s memory. It left a mark to everyone whose been following WWE during those years. I don’t think Vince McMahon is to blame here. Nobody wants to get hurt but also having his show screwed. Give him a break, people.

That being said, I am raising my two pointing fingers as my salute. YES! YES! YES!

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Friday, 5 February 2016

Weeknights to Remember: SlickMaster’s Memorable Gigs of 2015 (Part 4)

12/31/2015 3:00:36 PM


The post was supposed to be named Fridays and Saturday Nights to Remember only to realized a few things: first, gigs are happening every single weeknight; second, most of them aren’t even planned by yours truly to attend; and third, I have been to almost 70 gigs for 2015.

2015 has been a heck of a good year for me as I discovered Philippine music anew -- and it broods at the place where minority of people knows -- the independent scene. Over the course of time, I attended about 50 events starting from a random night out that happened 24 January 2015 at Route 196. I was then supposed to watch my college friend whose already a musician.

And since then, the Philippine independent music scene became another world conquered by yours truly. I became part of a production group; I was posting anything about gigs for most of the time; and indie music also served as a venue for me to grow as opportunities came from out of nowhere -- be it writing or anything else like photography and videography.

Fast-forward to the year-end, despite attending the last one or two music events of this year from small-time gigs to the big or concert-level ones, I can say I had a lot of memorable evenings. 

Between Archery and Olympics
Between Archery and Olympics Album Launch (24 June 2015 / Route 196 / Project Collab Manila)

My buddy Lih sent me to this gig to cover on his behalf. Yes, for an evening, all I did was taking videos of the event. Specifically, band shots. But moreover, I discovered more artists I shouldhave been listening right now. And BAO was one of them. It’s not surprising that their album launch proved their success at the scene so well.

Franco
Jacktember (5 September 2015 / Buddha Bar / Jack Daniel’s Philippines)

So, it was Jack Daniel’s birthday, and the top three bands from the recent JD On Stage stormed the stage as we joined the entire world in celebrating the success of the popular whiskey brand. Plus Franco also rocked the night away. It was the first I heard them live; and frankly that blew my mind away. 

SUD, on screen and on stage.
Tagaytay Art Beat Hangover (1 October 2015 / Brewery at the Palace / Docdef Productions, Museo Orlina, Brewery at the Palace) 

Fresh from the overwhelming success of Tagaytay Art Beat, Docdef Productions followed it up for everyone who still can’t get over from what has been the indie music’s outside-the-metro show of the year for 2015.

Nico and Vinz
Jack TV Mad Fest 2015 (7 November 2015 / Globe Circuit Events Center / SOLAR Entertainment)

Too bad, I missed the indie music part. But nevertheless, watching MAD FEST was another piece of memorable. Looks like they covered almost all sides from indie to mainstream, plus DJs setting the party vibe for the rest of the evening, especially after the main act Nico and Vinz graced the stage for an hour-long concert,

Paranoid City w/ their manager and Revolver Productions head Cris Ramos
The Last Revolver Gig (29 August 2015 / Saguijo /Revolver Productions)

I once attended a Revolver gig, and it was a tie-up with Docdef Productions last May. And upon researching I found out they are calling it an evening at SaGuijo last 29 August 2015. Never would I thought that after 11 years, Revolver will call it right there. Though I managed to catch few performers during the night, Paranoid City formally gave its curtain call. And for few minutes of my life, I was stunned with musicians from different bands joining the stage one motherfucking last time to make some noise. Perhaps, a farewell one.



The Rest is Noise Year-end (19 December 2015 / Route 196 / Vandals on the Wall)

Ian and MC’s success from Vandals on the Wall proved they are capable of organizing gigs too. They’re not just a media doing lots of reviews and interviews. And true enough, their ninth The Rest is Noise installment left me a mark on the nearend of 2015. Like from 7pm -4am they got 14 artists on the lineup. And despite a not-so-good weather, almost 300 people flocked Route 196. Damn.
Author: slickmaster | ©2015, 2016 september twenty-eight productions