Monday, 28 March 2016

The Rundown Slam: WWE Roadblock

3/27/2016 4:59:00 PM


It was nothing but a disappointment on Toronto as WWE waged RoadBlock as part of their buildup for the show of shows, WrestleMania.

Look, the New Day may have been dropping the golds to the League of Nations, but turns out it wasn’t a really good mix at all, considering the absence of Alberto Del Rio and Rusev not just on the Roadblock storyline, but at the venue too! It could have been better if a title switching hands took place.

Verdict: 6

Chris Jericho defeating Jack Swagger may have got the best heel in him at his hometown Toronto. I have to admire his work from there, but don’t take away the effort by Jack Swagger for pushing him to the limit. I guess, Y2J is one of the best performers at his age.

Verdict: 7.9

The Revival may have retained their NXT tag team titles against Enzo Amore and Colin Cassidy but the latter gave me more impressive performance than them. Seems like, Big C and Enzo gave us more than what we paid on them at all. Still the very worth championship match of the evening aside from the main event.

Verdict: 9

Charlotte may have retained the title, but that proved how the WrestleMania landscape can never be derailed at all. Not even a road block called Natalya, whom may have been seen less regularly recently, but she’s been really a superb diva at all.

Verdict: 7.1

Sad to say, Brock Lesnar vs. Bray Wyatt was nothing but a disappointment. Maybe, a disappointing turnout because we are dying to see these two mammoths collide, but instead we got his wingman Luke Harper in what could have thought a handicap match. Perhaps it was due to their other WWE Live event during the same date, on other term, an ill-timed booking. Or may be because he is injured.

Maybe, this served as a tune-up game between Wyatt and Lesnar soon. We could only wish by the upcoming weeks because turns out, this was literally a road block for every wrestling fan whose been dying to see these bigwigs collide. (I want my money back!)
Verdict: 6.3

Sami Zayn defeated Stardust on what has been the former’s tuneup game en route to his rivalry with Kevin Owens. Sadly, Cody was another jobber right now wherein waiting for another rival to propel with him -- aside from Stephen Amell.

Verdict: 5.4

The WWE World Heavyweight Championship match could have been the only reason why RoadBlock was a significant event one must watch. But with the result -- the eventual retaining the belt by Triple H -- proved they all overcame the obstacles, but at a same time, left no other sensible happening that put WrestleMania into disarray. Not even a bit.

Dean Ambrose showed why he’s a goddamn main event material ever since their split with the SHIELD. He previously wrecked roofs with Seth Rollins, be it a championship match or not. And on RoadBlock, he almost snatched the title away from Triple H. That story was almost believable as fuck.

We could only hope Roman Reigns would be joining their level because he has that freaking superiority aura when they are still together. And when he got that push as a singles competitor, it just didn’t click well with the majority.

Verdict: 8

Overall, RoadBlock was a specialty at its own right. It just didn’t made a solid swerve come WrestleMania.

Overall Verdict: 7.0

Author: slickmaster | ©2016 september twenty-eight productions

Upcoming: 5th Philippine National Fireworks Festival

03/28/2016 03:25:19 PM

In case you are a huge fan of seeing the art of lighting skies, here's something you might want to get on as Riverbanks Center will be holding their annual fireworks show this coming April!

Everyone is invited at the Riverbanks Center's 5th Philippine National Fireworks Festival (PNFF) to be held Saturdays of April 2016 at the Riverbanks Amphitheatre in Marikina City.

The elimination stages will take place on these dates, with participants as follows:

9 April – Ding Fireworks (Tiaong, Quezon), Global Foxes Fireworks (Silang, Cavie), Emperor Fireworks (Batangas City)
16 April – Wow Mamatid Fireworks (Cabuyao City, Laguna), JNM Pyrothecnics (Lemery, Batngas), Pyromount Fireworks (Bocaue, Bulacan)
23 April – JCA Fireworks (Puerto Princesa, Palawan), Anisan Fireworks (Sibulan, Negros Oriental), Skyglitters Fireworks (Valenzuela City)


And it's free admission, by the way.

Then, the Grand Finals will be staged at the very same venue on 30 April. Tickets are available at the Riverbanks Mall Customer Service Counter for the price of Php100. Show stars at 7pm.

For inquiries and ticket reservations, please contact Mr. Jeph Ramos (Ad & PR officer) at telephone numbers 570-0701 to 06 loc 333 or 451. Other information about this event can be on their official website www.riverbankscenter.com or via their Facebook page facebook.com/pages/Riverbanks-Center.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Sunday, 27 March 2016

Snapshot!

03/28/2016 10:06:22 AM 

Ito ang isa sa mga umaribang balita noong Semana Santa.

PINOY TRENDING NEWS
Oo, ang litratong 'yan kung saan ay nilarawan si Grace Poe na isa siyang madasalin at Maka-Diyos, mga bagay na hinahanap natins a isang kakandidato sa pagkapangulo.

Okay naman sana eh. As in wala naman sanang masama kung ipakita ang ganitong gawi. Ito ang problema: bakit niya hinayaan na pati pa naman sa isang sagradong pook na ang tawag ay simbahan ay sundan siya ng mala-paparazzi na media?

Na-bash tuloy siya sa social media. So, ano 'to, taktika para makakuha ng simpatiya sa mga nambubully na netizens? Necropolitics at its finest kung ganun—buma-bank ka sa emosyon ng tao eh.

Oo, sabihin man natin na hindi ito kagustuhan ng naturang presidentiable, na pinukulan na nga ng samu't saring putik gaya ng isyu sa kanyang citizenship at karanasan sa pagtatrabaho, pero pati pa naman ito? Hinayaan na lamang ilabas ng team niya?

Kung tutuusin nga, hindi dapat tayo masyadong nagre-rely sa mga katangian na may kinalaman sa relihiyon e. May takot sa Diyos? Okay. Pero may tinatawag tayong “separation of church and state.” Bagay na dapat ay huwag nang mag-meddle ang relihiyon sa mga paksang gaya ng eleksyon.

Ahh, kasi nga naman, nasa malayang bansa tayo? Ganun? Kahit sino, pwede mag-voice. May punto nga naman. Ngunit hindi naman ata sapat ang ganung argumento.

Kung madasalin nga siya, eh ano naman? Kahit sino namang pulitiko yata ay nagdarasal din naman e. Hindi nga lang nila pinili na kunan sila ng lente. At nawika pa nga yung ganung gawain sa Bibliya, na kung magdarasal ka, gawin ito sa panahon na ikaw ay hindi nakikita ng marami, at baka pa nga ya maluwag sa iyong kalooban. Meaning, huwag mong ipakita na nagdarasal ka para lang makakuha ka ng boto. Hindi naman block voting ang mga Katoliko sa Pinas eh, kaya hindi rin tatalab yun.

Siraulo rin kasi paminsan-minsan ang media e. At yung PR nila.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

More "Hele Challenge," Please?

3/27/2016 8:14:39 PM

Photo from INQUIRER
Yesterday, me and my girlfriend was supposed to take on “the Hele challenge” -- that is to watch an eight-hour movie called Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis

Initially having real, myth and fiction characters, Hele sa Hiwagang Hapis (A Lullaby to the Sorrowful Mystery) spots on a different formula by filmmaker Lav Diaz -- that is to mix these three different kinds of story-telling; with portrayal by some of the best actors of this generation. And we’re not talking about age, looks or sex appeal here, but rather the delivery of their craft or their performance. Imagine John Lloyd Cruz and Piolo Pascual starring on this one gigantic flick with its length spanning more than the entire primetime programming or even two WrestleMania events.

But unfortunately, as we approached Robinsons Metro East by around 1:00pm, they announced the seat slots for Cinema 7 (which then shows Hele) were already sold out; thus, closing the doors for many of us whom planned to spend Black Saturday on the challenge.

Minutes later, I read announcement that Galleria had opened a cinema for Hele by around 3pm. On top of that, screenings for Trinoma and other malls were also fully-booked.

That being said might poise another “challenge” for the movie managers. That is to satisfy customers who prefer to see the locally-made product than the most-anticipated Superman VS. Batman. It’s always been a recent custom for them to do such -- putting up a big-time Hollywood film on almost all of their available moviehouses. (i.e. Letting Superman vs. Batman show on 6 of their 8 cinemas)

I hope the power of users who posts about the movie might give the demanding power that was similar to what a lot of us had done for Heneral Luna, Nilalang, and Honor Thy Father.

With more people seeking for quality media, it could be possible. I could only hope they will add more cinemas for Hele by the upcoming weekend, since in reality everyone will be going back to their respective offices by Monday ‘til Friday. Besides, who will dare to dig an 8-hour film -- with two 30-minute intervals -- on a weekday, especially if a lot of us just came from Holy Week vacation? It might sound appalling to take a leave from work.school just for such, right?

Yeah. We need a demand for more Hele challenges. For the sake of more moviegoers who prefer to see something different from what the mainstream has been offering us.

Oh wait, Star Cinema was their distributor, right? They deserved a nod for that!

Author: slickmaster | ©2016 september twenty-eight productions

Thursday, 24 March 2016

Same Feud, New Chapter

3/25/2016 6:20:23 AM

This is one of the rivalries I am definitely looking up to this year. Yes, it’s a rekindled one from their pre-WWE eras. And we’re talking about Sami Zayn and Kevin Owens. 

Much to the knowledge of my geeky fans from the Internet wrestling community, these two have squared off during their days at the independent circuit and the highly notable Ring of Honor. It’s like the life and times of El Generico and Kevin Steen.

And as far as the days of my being wrestling follower is concerned, I only noticed Sami Zayn (Arab translation for his former ring name) as one of the upstarts in WWE’s developmental firm NXT. In fact, his emergence from being nobody into somebody was a very evident during the year 2014 where he feuded with one of his friends Adrian Neville for the NXT Championship. All that despite key losses to the upstarts Cesaro and Tyler Breeze.

And upon the arrival of NXT: TakeOver Revolution, his rival/tag team partner Steen -- now renamed Owens -- made his debut. And just when you thought these two buddies are teaming up for congratulatory remarks, we’re wrong. It’s just the first page of their new chapter.

Few months later, another NXT TakeOver special took place at Full Sail University, a title switched hands in a very most unconventional decision -- a referee’s stoppage dictated the result of the NXT Championship. Perhaps after numerous powerbomb attempts. It’s clearly telling a story whom seemed resemblance of John Cena vs. Brock Lesnar on WWE SummerSlam 2014.

From there, Owens went on the roll en route to his debut at the main roster. And from there, he pulled off an impressive upset over John Cena. Quite impressive that even if Cena won over their succeeding duels on Money in the Bank and Battleground, Owens showed why he is the Steen that’s worth the wait. All that despite backstage politics that surrounds his development and eventually dropping the title to Finn Balor.

He then went on to win the Intercontinental Championship twice in over nine months since his WWE debut.

As for Zayn, he looked like he paved way for the upcoming NXT stars. But I have lost in touch on following that lately. Plus, he had a shoulder injury even before he went on a seven-month hiatus.

A month after returning to competition, Zayn entered the Royal Rumble and eliminate Kevin Owens in the match itself. Thus, the first step on getting back on the latter.

Five weeks before WrestleMania, it appeared the chapter was then followed with another stunner. A rekindled rivalry is at works again.


But then, I think we could only wait til after WrestleMania as Kevin Owens will defend his IC title in a ladder match. Yes, we are going to witness another ladder match at the Show of Shows for the second straight year. 

While Sami Zayn is a journeyman that everyone loves -- especially when his entrance music airs around the venue, Kevin Owens exemplifies the best heel the WWE have right now. Yes, right after Seth Rollins and Triple H. And even if he switch roles and align himself as the face, there’s no doubt people will love (and even love to hate) him more as a heel. 

I wonder, though. Could Sami Zayn be the underdog the WWE wants? Is the pitting rivalry fit enough to topple the current storylines the Connecticut-based promotion is currently offering to us?

We wish. Maybe, that could happen after Mania.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Monday, 21 March 2016

Tirada Ni SlickMaster: Inglis Bersyon

03/21/2016 04:49:55 PM

So politics is “so elite,” eh? Just like the world of sophistication such as higher-taste of media, fashion, and even arts.

That would be believable if Mr. Teddy Boy Locsin's tweets were right. Recently, he expressed disdain on the usage of Tagalog dialect (not language) by certain candidates Mar Roxas and Grace Poe at the second edition of the 2016 PiliPinas Presidential Debates held at the University of the Philippines in Cebu City.


Photo credit: INQUIRER.net
So, what the fuck is wrong if both presidential candidates—as well as the entire personnel involved in this debate—uses Tagalog more than English? Isn't that sound elitism at will? Fuck, we're not even living at the dark ages where language barriers seemed to determine who's rich and poor in this country.

Okay. Because English is more spoken (or generally, used) at the areas outside Metro Manila, right? Because apart from the popular language, various folks could only converse via their respective dialogs, such as Hiligaynon, Cebuano, Waray, Kapampangan, Ilocano, and even Pangasinense (or Pangalatok); all but Tagalog. So that speaks for the reason why we looked diverse as fuck. Talk about regionalism.

Are we supposed to reach the masses, right? After all, we need to educate them on picking the right guy to represent our power. And moreover, we need to make them aware of what's happening in our country instead of focusing on our favorite entertainment demigods.

Besides, PiliPinas Debates 2016 airs LIVE primarily on four major television networks in this country—with three of them using Filipino as their main speaking medium. So letting use English would only lure potential—and needed viewers away.

Another thing: does speaking English makes us smarter human beings? More intellectual than our indio or masa-looking counterparts? I don't think so at all. While it may be our second national language—plus the objective that would make us more “globally competitive”—I'm afraid that belittling our native tongue would only make us colonial crabs-slash-wannabe elites-slash-social climbers.

And that sparks discrimination either. It's like saying those who uses Tagalog are masses; just like how Locsin described English as the language of men. Really? How about the women, the gay guys, the other members of LGBT? Are they pretentious when they speak of such?

Bullshit.

Plus, it's not Tagalog anymore. It's Filipino, okay? Tagalog is a major dialect. And it may be the previous name of our national language, but during the reformation of New Society, it was now known as Pilipino—or Filipino. The label change fully took place during the Aquino presidency.

That being said.... putanginang elitstang 'to! Nasa Pilipinas tayo. Filipino ang ginagamit ng mga nagdedebate. Pinoy din ang manunood. Kaya sino ka para sabihan na dapat ginagamit ang lengwaheng Ingles at insultuhin ang wikang Filipino?

Ah. Porket inapproriate o hindi akma, kailangan i-discourage o limitahan sa paggamit? Dahil ba nagmumukhang katarantaduhan ang debateng ito? Porket sibilisadong disiplina sa lingwistika ang Ingles?

Eh tangina, yan ang gusto nila Mar at Poe eh. Para maintindihan sila ng masa.


At take note, hindi Tagalog ang wika. Punyeta, Filipino! Mula pa noong dekada '80 pa 'to napagdesisyunang pangalan, Tagalog pa rin kayo nang Tagalog?! 

Kaya huwag mo kong Iinglesin sa sarili kong lupain, ika nga ni Luna.


And to quote my favorite humorist Stanley Chi, “Pa-English English ka pa. Sipain kita d'yan eh!”

REFERENCES:
http://www.csun.edu/~lan56728/majorlanguages.htm
http://tagaloglang.com/filipino-tagalog-pilipino/
http://grpshorts.blogspot.com/2011/08/is-tagalog-dialect-or-language.html

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Sunday, 20 March 2016

PiliPinas Delayed!

03/21/2016 02:12:35 PM

Photo credit: Rappler
Grabe ang inabot ng tao kahapon. Grabe ang init ng ulo nila. Ang pagkabadtrip; pagkadismaya; galit na bigla na lamang pumutok sa kani-kanilang mga account sa Twitter at Facebook. Ikaw ba naman eh, ang maghintay sa kawalan eh. Kala tuloy nila, may forever nga...sa paghihintay umere ang PiliPinas Debates.

Dahil sa isang matinding hindi pagkakaunawaan sa pagitan ng mga partidong sangkot, ito ay naantala nang mahigit nobenta minutos mula sa orihinal na nakatakdang oras. Ang pinakamainit na debate na nagsimula sana noong alas-5 ng hapon, ay halos 6:30 na ng gabi pormal nag-umpisa.

Hindi lamang ito usapin kung bakit naging impatient na ang tao. Kasi nga naman, sinong hindi mauurat kung mag-aalas-5:30 na ng hapon ay hindi pa umeere ang PiliPinas Debates.

Pero saan nga ba nagkamali? Bakit humantong sa isang malaking delay ang mga pangyayari? Oo, sa kabila man ng mainit na patutsadahan na kala mo ay nanuod ka ng sabong ay isa pa ring pinakamalaking pagkakamali ang pagka-antala ng isa't kalahating oras?

May last-minute kasi na argumento. Last-minute na clarification ang kinailangan para rito. Ay mali, hindi na pala last yun.... late na pala.

Sinasabi na ang isa sa mga presidentiable ang “cause of delay” nito. Bagamat pinakauna siyang dumating sa apat na lumahok sa Visayas leg ng PiliPinas Debates 2016 na ginanap sa Cebu campus ng Unibersidad ng Pilipinas, aniya ang kanyang pagdala ng kodigo (o dokumento, ayon sa kine-claim nila) sa stage ay ipinagbabawal alinsunod sa pamantayan ng Commission of Elections (COMELEC).

At may miscommunocation pa palang naganap sa pagitan ng mga partido. Kasi si Luchi Cruz-Valdes mismo, na kinontak ng kampo ni VP, ay umamin sa pagkakamali.

Subalit, kung tutuusin, parang kahit sa unang PliPiinas Debates na ginanap sa Cagayan De Oro noong nakaraang buwan at sumahimpapawid sa GMA 7, ay may ganitong alintuntunin na, 'di ba? Kung ganun, ito ang tanong: nakikinig ba ang kampo niya, aber? Na bawal ang notes o 'kodigo' sa entablado mismo? Maari lamang kapag nasa backstage ka?

Halatang hindi yata nagrereview ah. O halatang hindi nakikipagcooperate sa COMELEC at bagkus, dumeretso sa media; na para bang bina-bypass na lamang ang ahensya ng pamahalaan na namuno mismo sa pag-oorganisa nito. Kaya ang dating tuloy ay sira na kagad ang Singko sa insidenteng ito.

Unang pagputok pa lamang ng balitang to sa YouTube, halata na nga na yun ang ugat ng lahat: miscommunication; the same problem sa mga relasyong bigla na lamang nasisira at mga taong nag-aaway. Oo, hindi pagkakaintindihan nang dahil sa magpinsan na dalaga na ang mga pangalan ay MISS-COMMUNICATION at MISS-UNDERSTANDING (of course, pun intended ito).

Sa isang anggulo naman ng pangyayari, sinabi naman na kinontra ito diumano ng karibal ni Jejomar Binay na si Mar Roxas. Dahil siya mismo nakapansin sa galawang iyun.

Aba, kaya pala eh. May umalma kung ganun. Lakas maka-expose ah. So, may pogi points ka na ba niyan? Kaya siguro mula simula pa lang ng programa ay mukhang naurat na husto si Koyang Jojo, ano po?

Pero sa totoo lang, pareho lang naman sila may mali eh. May bayag nga lang ang panig nt TV5 para umamin sa kanilang malaking on-the-spot na blunder. Ultimong ang lamang ng pagbabanter na nila Cheryl Cosim, Roby Alampay, Atty. Mel Sta. Maria at Atty. Harry Roque ay mga mensahe ukol sa pagkadelay ng nasabing debate. 
Buti pa yung dalawa eh, si Grace Poe saka si Mayor Rodrigo Duterte, kalmado lang. Para pang mga komedyante.

At least, may balls si Luchi na humingi ng paumanhin sa buong publiko – manunood man sa venue mismo, sa telebisyon sa buong kapuluan at mapahanggang sa buong mundo.

Yun nga lang, dito nakita ang “Filipino Time” at ang mga huling hirit bago magsimula. Yung huling hirit na nauwi sa isang malaking kabadtripan sa mata ng marami. Mabuti na lamang ay hindi naubusan ng brain cells ang mga nagsilbing pre-show analyst sa kakatalakay ng mga mangyayari sa debate, sa resume ng mga kakandidato, at ano ang maari mong gawin bilang Pilipino.

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Tirada Ni SlickMaster: PiliPinas Debates 2016 Part 1

3/20/2016 3:16:51 PM

Ngayong hapon gaganapain ang ikalawang edisyon ng PiliPinas Deabtes 2016, at gaganapain naman ito sa Cebu at mapapanood sa TV5.

Pero bago ang lahat, alin ang mga tumatak sa isaipan mo noong unang sumahimpapawid ang #PiliPinasDeabtes2016 sa GMA-7 na live na live din noon sa Cagayan De Oro? Maliban pa sa mga sandamakmak na commerical at pagiging kabado ni Mike Enriquez (Excuse me po!)?

#PiliPinasDebates2016 First leg. (screengrab from YouTube)
Yung tila palitan ng papuri nila Miriam Defensor-Santiago at Rodrigo Duterte. Wow, sweet. Bagong loveteam itetch?! Mukhang may naamoy akong alyansa ah. 

Ang kanyang pagkastigo sa mga kumekwestiyun sa kanyang kalusugan. Aba, matibay ang lola mo, Kunsabagay, wala namang nagbabawal sa sinumang may karamdaman na tumakbo eh. 

“I am decisive. I am effective leader.” Wow, confident si Jejomar Binay ah. Talaga lang ah. Bakit hindi mapatunayan ito sa korte tutal may mga asuntong ipinupukol sa’yo?

Minana lamang daw nya ang ilan sa mga real estate. Kung hindi man, nabili. Peor hindi nadeklara sa SALN? Labing-isang property yun sa loob ng tatlong dekada. Hmmm, talaga lang ha?

At bakit nga naman taliwas siya sa ideya ng pagwaksi sa political dynasty? So, dalawang bagay lang: either nakikita niya ang tiwala ng tao sa sinuman na magagaling mamuno, o nakikita rin niya ang pagiging gahaman sa kapangyarihan nito.

Si Duterte at ang kanyang pagdepensa sa machismo. Isa sa mga bagay na sa totoo lang, kahit mali sa mata ng moralidad, ay hinahangaan ko. Oo, mali ang mambabae. Tila maling halimbawa ang kanyang ipinapakita sa mga nakababata. Sabagay, patunay lamang na gaya ng ibang pulitiko, hindi siya perpektong nilalang. At least, nagpapakatotoo siya. May bayag para aminin ang mga bagay-bagay.

Ang tahasang pag-kwestiyon ni Mar Roxas sa kwalpikasyon ni Grace Poe. Sabagay, lamang nga naman si Roxas kay Poe; manipis ang kanyang resume, at marami namang butas nang napansin kay Poe dala ng samu’t sariling black ops sa pulitika (bagay na of course, masyadong kumpliakdong usapin dahil madedeceive ka ng “katotohanan” at “kasinungalingan”). At hoy, hindi lang simpleng pagiging “ina” to.

Pero, para solusyunan ang isang problema sa agrikultura ay murang pautang? Kunsabagay, mas lesser nga naman ang presyo, pero hindi kaya napo-prolong lang nito ang agony sa usapang pinansyal? Ang kailangan nila ay programang magbibigay ng “kita” sa kanila, ginhawa mula sa problema. Utang na naman? Parang lalo lang mababaon sila e.

Usapang kriminalidad. Sa Davao may drugs? Sa Makati may drugs? NAku, sinabi mo yan on-air? Patay kang bata ka. Alam kong pabiro yan, pero para mo na ring sinabi nang tahasan ang pagiging kapalpakan para masupil ang droga. Dahil may mga pulitikong nagpo-protekta sa kanila.

Sa totoo lang, kahit ang isang safest city ay hindi perpekto. Pero at least, nagawa ni Duterte na at least kontrolin yan.

Eh sa Makati, na dalawa ang mukha? Pati na rin sa ibang lugar sa Pilipinas? Aba, lakas maka-doble kara ah. 

Ang feeding program twing tanghalian. Mukhang kakaiba rin ang datingan. Siguro mas feasible kasi sa usapin ng klase, kadalasa’y merong pang-umaga at panghapon, kaya yun ang nakikitang viable time. Yun nga lang, akala ko ba ay breakfast ang important meal of the day? 

Usapang Mindanao. Kailangan ba ang isyu ng Bangsamoro basic Law o dapat bang maipatupad ang pamahalaang pederalismo? Kung kaya lang masiantabi ang mga interes sa liuran ng mga salita, siguro naman ay magkakaroon ng kapayapaan sa mga lugar na apektado. Medyo malalimang usapin to no.

So mula sa pagtalakay sa isyu ng Mindanao, kahirapan, at pagpapakilala sa sarili sa pamamagitan ng track record, ano nga ba ang napala natin sa kauna-unahang PilPpinas Debates 2016?

Pwede pala tayong makialam bilang isang bansa eh. Maliban sa mga nakatutok sa TV, naging tredning ang usapan sa social media. At hinighlight din ng GMA kung saang lugar aktibo ang mga user ng Facebook at Twitter. Patunay lamang siguro na maliban sa viewing public sa venue at nationwide TV ay maari pala nating mahipo ang kamalayan ng mga netizens (in general).

At hindi lang pala AlDub ang kayang ipa-trend ng Siyete. Hahaha!

Kaya pala nating ipagkaisa ang nationwide media eh. Ganun sana no? Kung umeere sa isang network, ieere naman ito muli sa iba. Kaya pala nating gawin to eh. Yun nga lang, sana sa susunod ay wala na kaming mabalitaan na may pagiging selective sa sinumang pwedeng magcover nito at sa kung saan lamang sila pwede. Maging patas naman. Tanggalin ang “exclusivity” sa Manila media. 

At isa pa, huwag naman masyadong marami sa commercial. Ang kabuuang debate ay tumagal ng 87 minuto (Isang oras at 27 minuto), pero halos isang oras naman (48 to be exact) ang nalaan sa komersyal. Kahit dalawang oras at labing-limang minuto tumagal ang debate, parang nainip lamang ang ilang mga nakatutok para rito.

Kabado si Mike. Teka, kailangan pa ba anting pansinin ‘to? Siyempre, kasi news personality siya na umeere palagi ng live, hindi lamang sa radyo, kundi sa telebisyon. At halos gabi-gabi pa nga ito ginagawa kung tutuusin.

Baka naman may jetlag o last minute na pangyayari kaya nagmukha siyang hindi ganun kalisto. Pero pagbigyan niyo na. Kayo kaya maghost ng ganyan, no. Tapos matitimbang na mga pangalan pa ang kaharap mo. Siyempre pulitika eh.

Mas nagpatutsadahan lamang naman sila nang personalan eh. Sus ginoo. Anong bago? 

Si Duterte, ayaw mag-rebut. Mukhang playing safe ang bet? Tingin ko, hindi naman siguro sa lahat ng oras. Masyado lamang siyang realist sumagot.

Si Binay, masyadong pabida. Really? Decisive? Effective talaga? Bakit hindi mo magawa sa Makati ang mga nagaawa ng Davao? To think na mas progresibo nga ang Makati, kung tutuusin. Mas maliit pa nga kaya madali pang pamunuan yun kesa naman sa pinakamalaking lungsod ng Pilipinas?

And si Miriam naman, kahit palaban, mukhang nahihirapan. Signs of sickness yata.

Kaya siguro parang hangin lang din tuloy ang mga nalista kong obserbasyon sa post na ito. Pambihira.


REFERENCES:

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Friday, 18 March 2016

From Puns to Fun

3/18/2016 9:50:07 PM

On an ordinary Friday where a lot of us are expecting weekend to come -- plus the fact that we got tangled in the middle of summer heat due to a fire drill, let me tell you a story.

Well, that crashed my momentum so much that I ended up browsing a lot of feeds on Twitter by lunch time. And presto... ended up browsing a series of funny posts made by one of my friends at the independent music scene.


Meet Carlo Lava, one of the guitarists of the rocker group called Lions and Acrobats. On top of that, he is also a member of other bands around this culture, and a chief engineer of one of a popular recording studio.

Interesting enough, I approached the fella; knowing he could make his array of witty posts a worthy discussion. I initially put a hashtag called #BandPuns, but it was better when Ling decided to put on #LocalBandPuns as it gives a much-needed specification and identity on which to tackle. And obviously, it’s all about our own.

This #localbandpuns thing turned out so well it gave a lot of music listeners -- and artists themselves -- some time to take a chill pill on a scorching hot afternoon.

Here are some of the responses we just gathered.

As we hit midway on Friday afternoon, this topic reached the fourth spot of the Philippine trending list on the popular micro-blogging site. And just when you thought people will slow down, #localbandpuns served like a hot freaking merienda as fans and bands like MilesExperience, Autotelic, Jensen and The Flips also joining the party!

Man, I had a mentally exhausted day, but checking upon the feed, it was an overwhelming response. To think this became the second most discussed talk on Twitter by 5:30 PM? Wow, this shows how music is a can make everyone relate, especially at the indies. So better think twice if the music scene is dying as fuck, because the locals may have been just punning around, but they already proved the argument otherwise.




Isn’t that great? I bet Ling was feeling a lot, lot, lot better! This hashtag was made by him and for him. And I'm honored that at some point, I managed to help someone's voice be heard... and big time!

Say, I might consider a career in social media, eh?

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twentty-eight productions

Thursday, 17 March 2016

Magic Madness

03/17/2016 04:15:35 PM

Magic 89.9 logo, obtained at yvesarellano.wordpress.com
 First heard this station on my old-but-digital PIONEER component player. It was a Friday afternoon, and they were playing music from the 1980s; one of my old favorite decades, thanks to my cousin and his collection of tapes as well as Grand Theft Auto Vice City.

The next time around I tuned in, it was a Sunday night fill of slow jams I used to hear from my sister's 'burned' CDs. Late 90s to present; 112 to Boyz II Men. Suddenly, that made my interest shift from masa to the cliché ones. 

Yes, that was the time I made the BIG SWITCH to Magic 89.9.

Curiously enough, I still manage to catch the times where The Morning Zoo crew were still waking people up (though it was only the first 10-15 minutes since I was rushing my way to school). And by mid-mornings, there's Slick Rick and TonyToni, the duo who will became part of the hottest trio on Philippine radio later on. Believe it or not, it was at this program where the Fil-foreign band called The Speaks made its debut on the music scene!

By noontime, Bennii (Benny Obana) and Crystal (Sheryll Louise Crysal) takes centerstage; with the former knowing for having that kind of rockstar swagger on the mic, and the latter having these paranormal segments, which lasted upon her tenure with the Magic.

Afternoon hits midway and there's the phonemically duo of Joey Agutin and Mylene Garcia—Joey and Miles in the ears of their listeners. And they were counting down the best songs of the day, with reviewing albums held on Wednesdays.

From one duo to another. It's the Big Daddy and his always sweetie partner named Kelly providing tunes as the city lights went on. Formerly known as The JAM, it was renamed as The Jake and Kelly Show. But years after, another duo takes over with one of them named as CJ the DJ.

After jamming on the jam, it was a listener's choice program with James Bang. Yes, the guy whom we used to know as the station guy was manning the deck for three hours as he tries to satisfies your listening pleasure by your requests.

By Fridays, they will crank up the volume and playing hits from the past. And I think since then, Friday Madness really lived to their expectations. Literally, yesterday hits today more than those #throwbackthrusday posts on social media. Heck, even the mixes, too! Right before Jon Tupaz dopes his scratching on the disks and turntables, James Bang used to dish out the 80s hits—12 inch style!

Their weekends were as similar to NU107's Remote Control Weekend. It was an all-request show, where you can phone-in the station or text them the song you wanted to hear. So if you can't get enough of those 9-12MN, that was the show for you. Some guys like Andrei Felix, Dash Calzado, Matt, and even Mighty Mike were keeping everyone company for majority fo those two days.

By 6PM, Max Speed (Alexander Gotinga) does the unplugging as Nightlive rolls. Three hours of “live” music. A refreshing from those canned recordings we always been hearing. And just when you thought the party was just it, heck, things are turning on one side as Party on Weekends makes everyone pumped up from 9PM to the wee hours of Sunday morning.

And if there's Early Returns, the Final Countdown serves as their weekly counterpart. Tabulated, not fabricated. To be followed by all Filipino hits Tunog Kalye—later named as Local Vocal, with a guest band performing live 6PM. And to cap them all, five hours of slowdown hits known as Slow Flow (previous name: Sunday Slowdown).

When I first listened to the Magic by around 2003, I rarely would hear Midnight High and there wasn't even a program slotted at the pre-sunrise hours. Though of course, things are changing overtime when Crystal takes over Daybreak, as well as Scott hosts a Magic show by midnights. Heck, I would even remember at one point that I even called their station only to know what is the first song he aired at the top of the 2am hour (only to realized it was my all-time punk fave called Pretty Fly For The White Guy).

And by 6AM then, after Crystal's era, it was Patirck Jamlang's Daybreak time. Make no mistake for his signature low-toned speaking voice, but it seems quite enough to hype everyone. Especially when he makes several contests.


Well yeah, I used to be one of call the station during The Final Countdown. There was even a time where I won a contest sponsored by PETRON (but it was during the time where Kelly was already in the mid-day shift).

Over the course of time, these programs have taken twists and turns. Guys came in and went away. Gone were (some) savvy vets and taking over where the younger (and young at heart) bunch. For a few years, they even operated a small studio in Eastwood City during weekends and their special events.

I kinda missed the time where they even put on a concert intended for APO Hiking Society Tribute album in 2006, and even aired them live on radio. Fuck, that's a perfect celebration for their 20th anniversary!

At one point, Joey and Miles even rocked mornings. And even before Boys Night Out took a full speed flight, they subbed on the morning during Mo's suspension.

Heck, CJ's evening show featured a lot of female personalities such as Faith Amigo. Now, he's taking over the midday program and serving hot tunes with Riki Flores and Suzy (Tin Gamboa) called The Meal.

Boom Gonzalez shifted from RX to Magic and even paired with Asia Agcaoili at one point. Now, even if Mia Bayuga and Carla D weren't there anymore, he still roll on the morning like a fastbreak analyst, spinning toilet mixes and those on demand tracks.

Speaking of Asia, this lady was even dishing hot stories at the wee hours way back then; making midnights a literally high time.

Though I haven't managed to catch Mo Twister's first DJ career with the Magic, his resurface back in 2005 made him a household name in the evening slot, and an even controversial figure by the morning. It's like comparing radio business to boxing where he's a moneymaker like Floyd Mayweather. Yes, amidst series of controversies from Maui Taylor at Forbidden Questions, to those remarks against Charics, and even on-air confrontations with co-hosts. Now, seems Good Times are still stream-rolling as hotting fuck with Mikey Bustos and Sam Oh as his on-air confidantes.

But before Boys Night Out rose to supremacy, it was King DJ Logan (Carlo Del Carmen) who was at the spot where Sam YG (Samir Gogna) is right now. But his mouth spits a lot of senses. I mean, literally,—with substance and sometimes, controversial. And upon his departure for other radio opportunity, Sam was the bumbayin hottie; but his brutal frank earned high-eye brows from the authorities as he was handed a suspension order, and it almost cost him not just his individual stock, but the entire show as well. There were even lot of drama held as an online petition was even made just to save Boys Night Out from getting axed.

And from 9-12PM, they were moved at 6-10PM. Word is that the boys flourish from there. Boys Nioght Out wasn't just a generic activity nor a radio name. It was their brand.

Over the course of time, Magic 89.9 adapted and withstood over the course of time. At times where some popular radio stations succumbed to corporate greed and massification, WTM remained at the same sane. And even if the present course of foreign mainstream sucks (well, for me), it did not made listeners to lure away as it was still the today's bets music tagline we once heard before.




And we're still hearing them again.

Things had changed a lot. Lot of names became part of the history sheet (though not at blogs, forums and Wikipedia), but certainly, 89.9 was the Philippine radio in magical form. Who would've thought of this station will be one of the witnesses of EDSA Revolution? Along the way, they became the home of Joe D'Mango's Love Notes. They also housed BigFish Radio and American Top40. Guested numerous big-time stars, local and international! And from a very well-received feedback on playing rewinds, they just expanded their playlists! (As of now, Friday Madness also plays early 90s; while Saturday Slam is now ranging from 1995-2005.)

Now that's not just today's best music in literal form. But contemporary it is. Cheers for your 30th anniversary!

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Tuesday, 15 March 2016

The Biking Samaritan

03/15/2016 02:10:05 PM

Masyadong marahas ang mundo, lalo na kung ikaw ay nasa kalsada. Maraming nag-uunahan. Maraming ayaw magbigay-daan. Maraming arogante. Epitome ito ng machismo at ego ng karamihan sa mga kalalakihang nagmamaneho, dalawa man ang gulong mo o apat. At higit sa lahat, ayaw ng batas; ang irony lamang sa isang lipunang sa sobrang laya ay naghahanap sila ng mga batas na dapat sundin. Oo, lalo na kung maraming problemang nagaganap.

At ang isang biskileta, sa mata ng mga tipikal, ay minamaliit. Hindi ka ba nagtataka kung bakit minsan may namatay sa siklista kahit nasa “bike lane” siya? Hindi ka ba magtataka kung bakit ultimo ang isang kilalang reporter sa telebisyon

Bihira lang ang mga gaya ng Good Samaritan gaya ng lalakeng ito na tinaguriang Bike Man. Well, superhero ba kasi siya, o dahil sa mga nauusong trend gaya nila Carrot Man?

Ewan ko. Pero sino nga naman ang hindi hahanga sa gaya nito? Buti pa nga siya e. May ganang maghabol sa mga abusadong motorista. Hindi biro pa naman ang ganyang pangyayari, ika nga ni Annabelle Montiadora. Lalo na sa kasalukuyan na kung saan ay baka masamain ka pa ng ibang tao pag gumawa ka ng mabuti. At lalo na kamo kung ikaw—sa mata ng mga mahilig mang-mata—ay hindi pa kagandahan.

Dahil ganun ang lipunan. Gusto maging suplado, maging masungit. Pero sa kabilang banda, dahil rin ito sa mga kapwa nila na maging mapagsamantala.

Kaya ang mga magagandang balitang gaya nito ay hindi napapansin ng tao nang basta-basta. Gaya nito.

Pero anyare kaya sa mga hinabol nitong si Warren Ramos? Sana pagkatapos siyang naawat nila Jecenth Mateo at ng mga empleyado ng Petron nun ay kinastigo siya ng mga mga tao, no. Pero of course, napakasadista naman ng ganun.

Subalit, patunay lamang yan na pag may karma. Sinasagasaan mo ang isang tagapag-patupad ng batas, hindi lang tao mismo ang hahatol sa 'yo. Pati na rin ang otoridad na hinamon mo.

May sampung libo naman pala ang pamahalaan ng Cainta eh. May lupain rin pala na maaring gawing pabahay! Bakit siya lamang ang nabigyan ng ganitong kabait na ganti?

Kasi siya lang naman ang naging mangahas na gumawa ng kabutihan habang kayo ay nagbubulag-bulagan sa kamaliang nakikita niyo sa kalsada. Habang may nakikita kayong nagpapaka-arogante sa kalsada at may sinasagasaan, kayo naman ay hindi hahabol sa kaniya para pigilan dahil sa takot na baka kayo ay balikan.

At yan ang dahilan kung bakit parang endangered species ang datingan ng mga good sammaritan sa ating mundo.

At kahit sa totoo lang ay hindi lahat ng mga mababait ay nabibiyayaan ng magagarang bagay, hindi ibig sabihin nun ay titigil ka na lamang sa pagiging good guy mo.

Kaya mabuhay ka, Jecenth!

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Sunday, 13 March 2016

Clash of the Bigwigs (and Their Egos)

3/12/2016 1:29:56 PM

I know; we have seen superheroes having a rival with their fellow superheroes. Of course, there’s always room for the so-called clashing of the egos. Besides, even if they look very supernatural at one side, they are human too. They have weaknesses just like every single one of us.

And since a few years ago, we are already being teased to see Superman vs. Batman at the wide screen. That would definitely sell a lot, cause even if it’s visual, the reality is only few people have interest on comics.



Now talk about a potential blockbuster hit worldwide! We could only hope it delivers really well. I mean, the motion picture will make the story sensible the same way as it was shown on the other products.

Then this... came.


Perhaps, we have seen it coming. Remember their verbal tussle at the first Avengers movie (2012) where Capt. America was always trading barbs with Iron Man? With one of their differences failed to notice the attack of their enemy -- and them saving Loki in the process (obviously)?

Now, looks like they’re on. It’s a civil war unfolding right before their eyes.

And... Hey, is that Spider Man? Like seriously, he appeared there for two seconds? Does it looks like the Spider Man series will jump from Columbia Pictures to Disney? Considering both studios manning the Marvel movie series at will. And at present, the so-called “Phase 2” where more characters will be glaring the movie spotlight for the succeeding years, looks like it’s gonna be a helluva-ride not-to-miss (and shouldn’t be at all).

Some comic geeks should correct me on this; but someone even actually told me Spider Man made his presence out there -- even for two long/short seconds -- that he might actually kill Thanos, the ultimate antagonist of the Guardians of the Galaxy series.

Hmmm... Now that sounds more interesting. Maybe I should start read comics again. 

Yes, even sparingly. 

Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Friday, 11 March 2016

PlayBack: The Strangeness - Easy Boys and Easy Girls

2/29/2016 7:54:29 PM

I first heard them as part of that indie music program established and sponsored by a popular whiskey brand. They were listed track number 4 at the CD of Jack Daniel’s On Stage released on 2015.

The Strangeness is something I have never seen live; but one thing that impressed me most about them is they can make old school music sounded like new. The first thing I heard about them was a cover of my favorite Eagles song on YouTube.

But covers aside, Paolo Arcega and his crew was splendid in creating an Jose Mari Chan-inspired video for Easy boys and Easy Girls. Though this 3.5-minute length track had shades of that old Christmas In Our Hearts-quality image, The Strangeness shied away from being the obvious copycat. Like, their song is something you’d like to hear on when you drove out of the metro, be it on a breezy morning or a hot afternoon (well, as long as the rays are complimenting the auditory part well).

As much as the pop scene (specifically, the mainstream) winds back to its retrospect, the alt-rock scene can do so in their own way, to say the least. As tito music as it sounds, this is sometimes, what we need; we might have been missing them from those iconic groups we once heralded before.

Kinda strange, but right.


Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Thursday, 10 March 2016

Upcoming: Farewell Fair Weather SAKALI Music Video Launch

3/11/2016 11:09:52 AM


Farewell Fair Weather, one of the top bands in the current music scene, is up for a big night as they will formally launch a music video for one of their notable songs Sakali.

The soul-fusion band, now on their fourth year of existence, has made waves through their previously released singles “Rough Skies,” “What Lies Behind” and “Beyond,” with the latter once rocked the charts of Jam 88.3’s Fresh Filter last year.

They also clinched the title distinction of being “The Chosen One” at the recent Jack Daniel’s Philippines On Stage Indie Music Awards held April 2015 at Makati City. From there, they had a chance to perform in front of a worldwide crowd at Music Matters in Singapore.

While Rough Skies signaled their first entering step via their signature, and Beyond told their journey since then, Sakali, once known as their only Filipino-written song, will tell a story of not just being an emotional force, but also a collaborating effort through director Mr. Melvin Dantes and its visual concepts; something that Mic Manalo describes as a fun-filled one.

As for the auditory part, Manalo and her company also got help from Josh Villena on making its new version, as reported by IndieManila.

The music portal also featured the event as the Gig Of The Month for March, with Autotelic, SUD, and Tom’s Story also performing during the evening. Farewell Fair Weather will also see their merchandise there.

Sakali Music Video Launch will be happening on Saturday, 12 March 2016, at 70s Bistro, Anonas Ave., Quezon City. Show starts at 8:00 PM. Entrance is priced Php200 which comes with one free shot of Jack Daniels. This event is made possible by Jack Daniel’s Philippines, eo+, Teamworks Studios,

See the official press release here.

RSVP on their official event page on Facebook.



Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions

Wednesday, 9 March 2016

Rewind: Voltes V

03/08/2016 05:54:57 PM

Photo credit: ghostlightning.wordpress.com
The year was 1999. Every Friday night (at around 7:30 or 8:00), I would sit at the couch in front of my TV and watch this cartoon series airing once again—after numerous times since its inception 22 years ago.

During those times, I had no idea how the story rolls (on a deeper aspect). All I know is that Choudenji Voltes V rolls on a structured stereotype plot: for like every episode you will notice the following: It was a bit of a happy scene, then conflict starts to come out. It arises to even more complicated structure that Price Zardoz and company are plotting on.

Then, these five characters namely Steve, Mark, Big Bert, Little John, and Jamie will ride vehicles (one that looks like an airplace while the other looks like a freakin' bulldozer, and the others? Much structural than those aircrafts and flying saucers, hahahaha!) and will volt altogether; and presto, a robot is born and was doing a bit of stretching. Then came the battle between gigantic giants. Villain will strike the second blood and eventually falls and Voltes V will be victorious, thanks to that laser sword who pierces through his opponent. (Though I quite wonder, is it really laser at all, or does it only have a very bright shade?) 

And...yes, that reversed angle cone will ignite a light (much brighter than a lightning) and explodes to out of nowhere (but hey, if you noticed, it's always the same banana, err, explosion caricatured scene). Thus, a resolution will be shown regardless if it's a happy ending or a tragical one.

Well, that's how I used to see Voltes V way back then. It was such a good thing they hadn't romanticized romance on this.

Thirteen years later, its closing theme song is something I could described as the most melodramatic soundtrack anyone has ever made. It's not about being romantic; but rather a quest for a long-lost love—the “father.”

It was 25 March 1978 when this phenomenal anime series reached its end at TV Asahi. After forty episodes and nine months of having their exposure on Japanese national television, Voltes V is not just an ordinary robot-versus-alien/beast story. It wasn't just the tale of the Bozanians and Armstrong brothers.

It was in fact, a war for the loving—and protecting the sake of humanity, as well as the quest for the seeking family; thus seeing a bunch of revelations, twist, and counter-twists unravelling right before every Anime viewer's eyes.

More than that, this Super-electromagnetic anime program wasn't also an Anime program whose extraordinary-drawn figures used to fascinate every generation (or for instance, serving like a scapegoat from reality). It was tells the accounts depicting tyranny, warfare, conspiracy theories; and even left an impact on both political and popular cultures in the Philippines. Indeed, a product of those Super Robot shows where they convey subliminally political and philosophical messages to the world.

Even if I wasn't born on the era where Martial Law was portrayed like a cassette tape, it surely left a two-sided image in the eyes of the Filipino. Good for the youngsters who watches TV as their past time, while at the other side, a total bad taste in their mouth. Legacy and controversy at its finest. Youngsters who found VV and comprehended its sublimity ignited a revolt in their minds; in contrast to the parents who complained about the medium as President Ferdinand's son would say.

In case you guys don't know, Voltes V was nearing its culmination when the Marcos Administration directed a ban against them, as well as the other programs for portraying excessive violence. Upon stating the effect, it must be either the clash of the values (which violence became more evident), or just being plain, selective judgment on the society's fourth estate.

After the regime was finally brunt into pieces in 1986, such storified programs came back to life; thus, sending back the Voltes V legacy back to life thanks to the TV networks; having numerous re-runs around the channels PTV-4, IBC-13 and ABS-CBN. And when GMA-7 picked up the series at the late 90s, it was the same vibrant of 1978. More than hearing the Motown Pop of Michael Jackson and seeing foreign programs and those crafts made by the rebellious filmmakers of Manila.

In fact, in 1993, a band called The Eraserheads had named an album inspired by the popular TV series. And true enough, Ultraelectromagnetic Pop spawned three massive hit singles. Thus, signalling the first of the numerous achievements during the so-called "second wave of Manila band invasions."

In the world of Philippine television, Voltes V became a stellar part of comedy and the venture of turning popular TV actors in doing character voices. First, it became part of one of the popular segments in Bubble Gang titled Ang Dating Doon. In addition, the installment produced two versions of Filipino dubbed series featuring stellar actors like Dennis Trillo, Michael De Mesa, Jett Pangan, Sandara Park, Joonee Gamboa and even Kim Atienza.

Heck, there were even speculations that GMA Films will do a remake of the said robot series. Sans complaints about having a potential "romanticized" Voltes V flick, the film-making firm already denied of creating such project.

And by this year, there's a possibility that millennials will get a taste of Voltes V (together with other similar Anime series), the way it happened—and at the same time, on Filipino language. There were even reports that Alden Richards will be voicing Richard Hartford, the lead character for Daimos; only to be denied at the end.

You can argue what you think about Voltes V about being “excessively violent” to the people of the Bagong Lipunan. You can side on Bongbong Marcos who defended his father's decision of its ban. You can take part on how you the E-heads used the U word for its popularity, and even how Isko Salvador (popularly known as Brod Pete), took advantage for the Ang Dating Daan parody.

But even for the 90s kid—and part of the fifth generation fanbase (well, technically), Voltes V will leave a very colorful taste in everyone's mouth.

REFERENCES: 

Re-Qualified!

3/9/2016 8:26:16 PM

Photo credits: Rappler
So matapos ang limang buwang kalbaryo, tuloy na tuloy na nga ang pagtakbo ni Grace Poe. Yan ay matapos umanong hatulan ng Korte Suprema ang disqualification case na naunang inapela ng kanyang kampo laban sa Commission of Elections. Sa botong 9-6, napatunayang unconstitutional ang paghatol ng COMELEC na kanselahin ang kanyang certificate of candidacy.

Maaring ibig sabihin nito ay taliwas sa sinasabing hindi natural-born ang naturang presidentiable. Ganun ba? At naatim ba niya ang residency requirement para lumahok sa halalan? Parang ganun nga. Pero hindi ba kung ang isyu lamang dito ay citizenship ay sana noon pa ito natuldukan? As in noong tumatakbo pa siya bilang senador?

Ngunit hindi naman payag ang mga pumabor sa COMELEC nito. Aniya, mahina raw ang Supreme Court. Ganun ba? Sa tatlong sangay ng pamahalaan, mahina ba ang judiciary? Sa totoo nga lang, pantay-pantay lamang sila ng mga taga-Kongreso’t Senado at ng Malakanyang eh. Hindi kaya binu-bully na naman ng dalawang sangay nito (partikular ng ehekutibo) ang hudisyal? Kung mapapansin kasi, panay kontrapelo na lamang sila mula noong umupo ang kasalukuyang administrasyon.

And pustahan: mukhang may aapela pa rito. Ganun naman lagi ang kalakaran sa Pilipinas e. Ang pulitika rito ay sumasalamin sa ego ng mga tao. Gusto lahat maging nasa itaas. At walang magpapatalo. Oo, kahit hanggang huling hininga pa kamo.

Sa isang banda naman, maaring isang laro lamang ang lahat. Kung susumamuhin, sino ba ang mas pinapanigan ng paritdo ng PNoy? Ang manok ba talaga nila? Hindi ba nagsisilbi rin yata siyang “scapegoat” dahil sino ba ang bina-backup-an ng mga oligarkiya sa puntong ito?

Ngunit para guluhin ang konseptong ito, patunay lamang yan na halos lahat sila ay mga “underdog” at nagpapaka-underdog. Bakit kanyo? Dahil ang mga inaapi na mga pulitikong tumatakbo sa social media, nakakakuha ng simpatiya mula sa ibang hanay; patunay lamang na kahit maraming may mga utak sa internet ay hindi sasapat para sakupin at maging “mayorya” ng mga botante. Tignan mo ang mga nangyari noong 2013. 

And ironically, lumabas ang desisyong ito sa International Women’s Day, Marso 8, 2016. Hoy, tangina, huwag niyong haluan ng usapang seksismo ang isyung ito ha? Umayos kayo.

Lakas maka-teleserye ng mga pangyayaring ito no? Parang napanood ko na ‘to. Pramis. Tangina, ginawa niyo na namang isang malaking sirko ang pulitika sa Pilipinas.

Punyeta.


REFERENCES:



Author: slickmaster | (c) 2016 september twenty-eight productions